We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Special Place and Magical Experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome!
Garden path Giant Bromeliad garden vied from porch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Welcome!
Garden path
Giant Bromeliad garden vied from porch
Red Eyed Green leaf by the frog pond
Kayak to the beach from the property
Three toed sloth out the bedroom window
White Faced Capuchin Monkey
Female Howler in the garden
Spider Monkeys
Visiting the baby howler monkeys at nearby Jaguar Animal Rescue
Toucan in The garden
Two Toed Sloth and baby
Gorgeous giant Blue Morpho Butterflies
Exotic Flora
Green and Black Dart Frog
Punta Uva Beach
Upstairs deck, great for bird and monkey watching!
Downstairs deck.
Front of Casa Tres Monos
Nightly frog walks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Professor...
SC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Special Place and Magical Experience”
Reviewed 22 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We traveled with our three young children (12, 8, and 6) and our niece (17) to the wonderful Casa Tres Monos in the lovely area of Punta Uva. What a truly spectacular setting! The grounds are phenomenal with tropical gardens and a river setting. I never tired of the lovely view from the spacious porch and its hammocks. We awoke most mornings to the unique and magical sound of the howlers (I don't think I would ever tire of this sound) and often saw the monkeys playing in the trees near the house. The blue morph butterfly (the large one) made daily appearances to the porch!! We heard the melodic calls of many birds as well.

We did not have a car and found the Costa Rican bus system (to/from San Jose as well as to/from Puerto Viejo) to be very economical and efficient for a family of 6. The Pulperia had most every grocery item we needed and was just around the corner off the jungle lane the house is on. The 3 provided bikes were new and very nice and provided us nice access to get dinners on a couple of nights. Everything was thought of and provided here! We had nicely appointed beds with very soft sheets and fans to keep us cool. We even used the 2 very nice boogie boards several days at the ultra-amazing Punta Uva beach (which was a very easy walk down two jungle lanes)!! The kitchen was very well stocked (including food staples like spices, mayonnaise, ketchup, maple syrup and honey).

We loved this house! It was very clean and provided everything we needed (bug spray for the porch, binoculars, books to look up the many birds, mammals, or reptiles that frequent the area). The owners were amazing to work with and very gracious....we only had the opportunity to meet David, but he immediately became part of our family and he was such a delight during our entire trip.

Like the owners advertise, this house is for nature lovers only. You are definitely part of the jungle here amidst all its many splendors. But, just know this....and go! I am not necessarily the most comfortable with nature and I would go back again in a heartbeat!!!!!! It's just plain that amazing!!

Liked best: The gardens!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge_Agu...
New York
1 review
“Perfect location, beatiful property, and excellent people”
Reviewed 7 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

I had the lovely pleasure of staying at Casa Tres Monos for 5 nights with 3 of my friends, and we could not have been more delighted. The property was accurately depicted by the website, and it was the perfect combination of proximity to our favorite strip of beach, Punta Uva, and the sights and sounds of the jungle. Everyday we were able to enjoy the sounds of toucans, the sights of monkeys, and the excitement of searching for neat looking frogs and insects during night walks around the property. The house had a FULLY equipped kitchen, wireless internet, tons of bottled water, fruits to pick, and even coffee! Finally, Tracy and Dave were most pleasant and helpful. They make themselves as visible or invisible as you want, and were always available to answer our questions. I’ve stayed in 4 different places in Punta Uva, and Casa Tres Monos is so far my favorite. I can’t wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Only one bathroom
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaAndB...
Longmont, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pure Vida”
Reviewed 9 April 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our two week stay at Casa Tres Monos in February/March. Peaceful, tranquil, and the solitude of Casa Tres Monos, looking out into the yard relaxing from the deck was more educational than watching National Geographic. Just about every morning we’d be visited by howler monkeys, waking us like nature’s alarm clock, spider monkeys, daily visits by agoutis chasing other critters around, sweeping visits of various beautiful butterflies and songs of the many birds perched on the branches snacking and singing with such delight. In the evening, the sounds of the frogs, sometimes visiting us on the deck, were just enchanting; couldn’t remember how delightful it was watching and trying to count the lightning bugs (just a memory of my childhood days).
We were especially appreciative of the bikes provided by Tracy and Dave! Daily rides either to Puerto Viejo or Manzanillo, the Pulperias for grocery items, the farmers market on Saturday (cornucopia) or a ride to the beach was just what was in order. Great exercise! Many visitors and Ticos alike use bikes as a mode of transportation; we did not see an issue with bikes sharing the road with vehicles (except on Sunday, family day). In all practicality, we opted not to rent a car, and found that the Turismo or Interbus provided us the transportation to our main destinations.
We would like to thank our hosts Tracy & David, along with their furry children, for their great hospitality, care and attention to detail that made our stay at Casa Tres Monos a truly memorable experience. We look forward to your vision for Casa Tres Monos and will definitely be visiting again. Pura Vida

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location was quiet and peaceful
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KYANEZ
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 125
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing