We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good service and the friendliest smile”

ATEC - Talamancan Association of Ecotourism and Conservation Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: ATEC The Talamancan Association of Ecotourism and Conservation,is Talamanca’s original ecotourism provider. Since 1989, ATEC— a non-profit, grassroots organization—has been providing fun, unique, ecologically and socially responsible activities for visitors to our area. We also offer a communication center with internet and select local items useful for your travels. From our website and our shop in the center of Puerto Viejo, ATEC represents over 100 local tour guides in 16 communities in the South Caribbean. Whether it’s your first time leaving your home country or you’re an experienced traveler, we encourage you to stop into our busy little shop and let our 20 year’s of experience provide you with a special and exciting experience you’ll never forget. ATEC also works actively with many local conservation and community organizations.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“good service and the friendliest smile”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Booking a trip at A.T.E.C is nice,; Sharon helped out really friendly and her cheerfull advice on what to see made me smile all day: so friendly.

I booked a half-day trek to Manzanillo. Try to get Tino as a guide: he is the best! Even the short walk in his homegarden was an adventure as he made it like a quiz to question what was growing there... He doesn´t overwhelm you with his knowledge, but knows how to point the things you want to remember and he makes sure you´ll do that. And you get to taste the best fruit in the area!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank LiveLikeTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    6
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Machias, Maine
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ATEC provided us with such wonderful experiences with well-educated and fun-loving guides”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

As a university professor, I used ATEC for a study abroad course focused on ecotourism
and sustainable development. The staff at ATEC were incredibly helpful and flexible in
working with me to create a series of fun and educational experiences for students. ATEC is a true leader in community-based tourism initiatives and is dedicated to ensuring that tourism is a positive force for local individuals and communities. They offer a wide variety of affordable tours to choose from and work with wonderful, knowledgeable local guides. Students all loved their experiences and rated ATEC very highly. I'm looking forward to working with ATEC on my next course to Costa Rica!!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Tours from a wonderful community-based non-profit”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This is the best place to book tours in Puerto Viejo. Surrounded by a green chain link fence on the main street across from the two story shopping center it can be easy to miss.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank KingRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mount, Virginia
1 review
“ATEC provided the ultimate fun-filled trip while still helping to promote the conservation of local culture and culture!”
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I am a college ecotourism professor and I have used ATEC twice as my tour provided for two study abroad courses. Out of all the tour provided througout the world, ATEC has earn top points for integrity, safety, flexiblity, and for utilzing local guides, hotels, and food, Students agree that ATEC is awesome and consistently have ranked the courses through ATEC as their favorite. ATEC also provides the best prices and are able to customize day trips as well as two-week intensive itineraries. Other companies should use ATEC as an example and travelers should use ATEC if they want an authentic experience as a fair price. I can't wait to go back!!! Thank you ATEC!!!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Goodnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ATEC - Talamancan Association of Ecotourism and Conservation Day Tours also viewed

Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Province of Limon
 

Been to ATEC - Talamancan Association of Ecotourism and Conservation Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing