We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing”
Review of Hotel Blue Conga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Blue Conga
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa Ontario
2 reviews
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I stayed at Hotel Blue Conga form May 6 to the May 11/2012. I can say hands down as being well travelled person, that this hotel truly added to my overall experience. The rooms and the hotel itself were beautiful and aided in the overall "TICA" experience. It was built and adorned in such a natural way that you felt in touch with nature while enjoying. The rooms were adorned with fresh flowers- looked out onto the awesome garden, and came with a hammock on your private patio. The lounge area is designed in such an artistic way that I would spend most of my mornings enjoying the scenery. “Best spot to enjoy your breakfast” I was lucky enough to be able to meet Pierre and Marie and spend some stellar quality time with them. They were so giving with their time, making sure that I had the ability to see allot while I was there. Pierre took me more than once to beautiful Punta Uva, as well to the Bri Bri and a trek to a gorgeous waterfall. Quality conversation was had which is a plus because I was travelling solo and it’s always a pleasure to meet people of like mind and those who are just genuine good quality. Pierre and Marie were watching the hotel while the owner was away but I was lucky enough to meet Eric for the last few days of my trip and was once again impressed with how kind and intuitive they were. He completed my trip with amazing service- breakfast to write home about, and more than a few laughs along the way. He was also more than helpful with getting me to a bank and also booking my interbus back to San Jose. Overall I give this hotel and the people who run it a double thumbs up. I travel quite a bit, usually solo and can say outside of Costa Rica being an amazing area to visit, Hotel Blue Conga contributed to the amazing experience I had in Puerto Viejo. I will definitely be visiting again and will always choose this as the place to stay!! They are also in the middle of building a natural pool in the garden which will add to the already amazing settings!

Room Tip: room # 10 is amazinnnng
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawnny-Darko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    137
    22
    18
    6
See reviews for
102
288
44
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Being from Costa Rica, we new we wanted to celebrate our honeymoon in Puerto Viejo, which is my favorite place in the country. We looked at many options and went throught different reviews and I´m glad we picked Blue Conga. Since we made the reservation, Eric was very helpful in making the arrangements for different activities and while we were there, we felt like part of his family. We had a romantic dinner arranged at the beach and even had a small serenade from Eric while drinking some champagne. There are many hotels in Puerto Viejo, but the service they give is the best. The rooms are clean and neither too close or too far from the busy streets, I definetely recommend it for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The most welcoming experience I've had at a hotel. I'm a big fan of couchsurfing and work-away programs where you feel like you know the people who host you. Eric made me feel like we were part of his family. Ideally located just outside of Puerto Viejo proper, you can easily walk in or rent a bike just down the street. Eric made some stellar beach recommendations and invited us to dinner. His Step-Brother was in town, he and I had hours of conversation of rum and coke and some wine about travel, ethics, and post-colonial western mentalities.
This is a fantastic place to stay. My only piece of advice is to bring some wine to drink with the owners and know what you're getting with your room. Waking up to the jungle atmosphere was great.

Room Tip: Remember that you wont have AC, that's it. Rooms were stellar otherwise, I happen to like sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, ON, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We travelled to Puerto Viejo the week leading up to Easter and stayed at Blue Conga. Since we knew it was going to be a busy time of year, we made our reservations in advance and it worked out perfectly! Manon and Eric were very helpful and friendly from the beginning, even in email exchanges. Since we were arriving late in the evening, they even offered to pick us up where the bus dropped us off - what service!! And after a 20-hour travel day, needless to say, we slept like babies. It's a far enough distance from all the commotion of town, that it's incredibly quiet too, which is nice.

We woke the next morning to a lovely breakfast in the Rancho dining area - great spot to start your day. Colorful birds and blue butterflies entertaining us as we sipped our coffee and decided on the day's activities.

Location of Blue Conga is great too because it's only a 10-minute walk (at most), to "town" and is on the right side of Puerto Viejo if you want to also head South and visit Cocles Beach, Playa Chiquita and Punta Uva (great spots worth checking out too). There is a bike-rental place and mini supermarket about 3 minutes away, for easy access.

We had only one challenge during our stay - there was no hot water in the shower and when we brought it to Eric's attention, it was fixed within minutes - thank you Eric!! The rooms were spotless and cleaned every day. The hammock outside each room is also a nice touch, great way to wind down. I even saw a toucan perched in the trees just outside my room one morning as I lay quietly in the hammock - so cool!

When we were researching where to stay, we were not really impressed with the website (and shared that comment with them). Don't be mislead by their website - it does not do the property justice at all. In fact, I understand the website to be part of their plans to remodel. Based on the comments we read on Trip Advisor and in Lonely Planet, we went ahead and you should too. The website is not at all indicative of the quality of this place. Great value for money, would definitely stay here again!

Un gros merci Manon et Eric!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arroyo Grande, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Blue Conga. The European breakfasts were very tasty and the company was fun. Our host Guy was very charming and talked to everyone which I think made everyone else at the hotel comfortable and friendly. The shower was nice and hot, which is a luxury outside the city in Costa Rica. The hotel was kept neat and clean and all our questions were answers immediately. It rained very hard for a few days, which caused a tree's large branch to break, falling in front of our room entrance way. Guy immediately began to saw and hack away at the branch removing it withing the hour so we could have accesses to our room. What an adventure!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buffy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
2.7 km away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,466 reviews
2.8 km away
Le Cameleon Boutique Hotel
1.6 km away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#3 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
Cariblue Beach & Jungle Resort
#8 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,030 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Yare
Hotel Yare
#2 of 3 in Cocles
35 reviews
18.0 km away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cahuita
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue Conga? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue Conga

Property: Hotel Blue Conga
Address: Puerto Viejo de Limon | 800 m south of dawntown, Cocles road, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,108 - ₹ 7,960
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Blue Conga 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Caribbean style boutique hotel situated between Puerto Viejo center and the beach of Cocles. Without claiming to luxury,its comfort is appreciated in this area where it is sometimes difficult to find a quality / fair value.The welcome is personal and organization activities and discoveries upon request.Its philosophy is based on the environment, serenity and openness to the world. Place for sharing and good waves, it is like the a delicious exuberant garden that welcomes it.You will feel in a cocoon of paradise close to hectic activities of Puerto Viejo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Blue Conga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Conga Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing