We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Legitimately a class above the rest”
Review of El Nido Cabinas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El Nido Cabinas
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Legitimately a class above the rest”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My family and I stayed at this newly developed cabina resort. I actually did a ton...I mean a ton of review searching before driving from the San Jose area to Puerto Viejo and booked actually booked a reservation at another neighbouring hotel before arrival. I am really glad that in Costa Rica you can get away with making reservations without providing a credit card. No comparison (at least upon visual contact) between the two hotels and let me forewarn those who have never been to Puerto Viejo...almost all the hotels in the area are extremely rustic and many over charge significantly. If you are paying more than $50-$80/night you are paying too much. I can't speak for every hotel but when I drove the strip I couldn't believe some of the prices being asked. You are better off on the Pacific beaches for the price being charged (sorry branching a little)

All that said, I naturally did pay more than what I quoted above at El Nido, but the price was at least accurate. The price is worth it and this is a very new development so the cabins have a nice new feel to them and are very spacious with awesome little kitchettes. Also great for kids. Really nice pool area and the surrounding lush gardens are beautiful and very well manicured. We were travelling with a 10 month old.

Paolo & Victoria are two very hospitable people who were meant to be in the hotel business. You couldn't find two nicer people. The stay came with a great COOKED breakfast.

I think my only criticism with this place was that there was no comp soap in the bathroom and I forgot to bring.

After reading other reviews on Puerto Viejo hotels, I am stumped as to how this hotel doesn't get rated amongst the top 3-5 hotels in the area. What a shame to have to build a long term reputation for such a great new hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domgargon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    23
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
44
46
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California Hot Springs, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed a couple of nights in the Caribbean Coast in mid July and were recommended to stay in El Nido. We were so happy with all the hospitality offered by our host Paolo and Vittoria that we would not think twice about returning. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and the decorations are in good taste. The beach is a very short walk and the on site salt water pool is refreshing. El Nido offers all the luxuries you want at an affordable price.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed9thg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We have stayed at El Nido on multiple occassions. We have referred friends there as well. The owner Gail is a fabulous hostes as are Paolo and Vittoria. They will take excellent care of you. The cabinas are close to surf and jungle. You will find there is lots to do, but you might just find yourself wanting to do nothing more than stroll along the beach, swing in the hammock on your porch and read and nap. The caribbean tends to do that to you....

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJonesTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We have cycled along all beaches around Puerto Viejo and El Nido is by far the best accomodation we have seen. A lush garden, great pool, huge suite style cottages with own terrace and hammock.

Our hosts Paolo and Vittoria were truly charming, always helpful, cooked the best Pizza on the coast. Their great mix of Italian charm and hospitality made my three daughters and me feel very much at home.
We planned many activities around our stay and Paolo and Vittoria supported us in every imaginable manner, providing an ice box with sandwiches, arranging rafting trips at discount prices, offering additional towls for the beach, mixing great fruit juices, etc, etc, etc...
the whole stay can be described as a big luxury of simple living in an unpretencious but beautiful setting with dream hosts.
Thank you Paolo and Vittoria!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georg171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2011

Absolutely beautiful resort. Short stroll to the beach which is equally gorgeous. the room was well kept and clean, and the staff were all delightfull and friendly. I have to give it full points. Thanks guys! Hope to come back one day!

Room Tip: all units are private and tucked away nicely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karinga29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Casitas Mar Y Luz
Hotel Casitas Mar Y Luz
#15 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
78 reviews
0.2 km away
Playa Chiquita Lodge
Playa Chiquita Lodge
#1 of 1 in Playa Chiquita
165 reviews
0.8 km away
Casa Moabi
Casa Moabi
#3 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Tierra de Suenos Lodge
Tierra de Suenos Lodge
#27 of 52 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
215 reviews
4.1 km away
La Perla del Caribe
La Perla del Caribe
#16 of 105 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
142 reviews
1.0 km away
Selvin's Cabinas
Selvin's Cabinas
#2 of 3 in Punta Uva
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Nido Cabinas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Nido Cabinas

Property: El Nido Cabinas
Address: Frente Elenas | Playa Chiquita, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 9355, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 105 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,061 - ₹ 8,217
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New! Beautiful craftsman bungalows set in tropical gardens with salt water pool and jacuzzi. Bright and Spacious bungalows with king size bed, 300+ cotton sheets, kitchen and eating bar, TV/DVD, sofa bed, hot water and AC. Warm hospitality and full service tour booking. 200 m to gorgeous Playa Chiquita beach, 3and a half miles from lively Puerto Viejo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Nido Cabinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Nido Cabinas Hotel Puerto Viejo
El Nido Cabinas Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing