We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“LOVE THIS PLACE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Island Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradise Island Lodge
Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS PLACE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

This was the best place in Puerto Viejo...I really did a lot of research on Trip Advisor and other sites. I can't understand why there are any negative reviews. Both Petra, Jose and their staff do everything to make sure you have a great time.
1. They never stop cleaning
2. The security guards are great
3. Coffee and free breakfast are the BEST
This was one of our very best vacations ever..our kids (19,17,20) did not want to leave. We can't wait to return...my daughter's miss the dogs and cat. The dogs will greet you and walk to the beach with you. The pool is perfect as is the showers to rinse off after the beach. We had the large apartment and it was awesome. They have cold beer waiting on you and great lunch next to the pool. We watched the world cup with Petra (GO GERMANY) and Jose. Petra was always ready to call a taxi or give us advice about local food. I really miss the breakfast and great company they provided each day. One day we bought lobsters from a vendor and Petra helped me pick them out and had her great cook get them ready for us for lunch. make sure you get with Andreas on the beach...great photographer. Surf lessons from "Togo" right in front of the hotel. Get a massage from the spa "Chocolate massge" heaven!! and you smell like chocolate all day. I bought a pineapple at the market and on our last day the staff cut it up and made a really cool presentation out of it for us to enjoy as a snack. Can't say enough good things!

You can't go wrong here....ENJOY and take me with you!!!

-Shayne

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilburn31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    17
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
21
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Positives: Great location across from the beach. Quiet and the people here are very nice. The breakfast was very good and they really take care of you. A lot of the positive reviews on this website are spot on.

Negatives: It just so happened that we came at the worst time. Someone flooded their toilet and used up all the water pressure. We didn't have water during our stay here consistently. Only in the mornings. This prevented us from being able to enjoy the beach because we couldn't take a shower afterwards.

Also, we thought that the walk into town was quite far. We highly recommend a taxi.

Conclusion: I think judging from the reviews that the lack of water was an anomaly. It's just unfortunate that this was our first impression of the place, otherwise, we'd probably give it 5 stars, but for no.. it's more like 3 1/2 stars.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spiderman123422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

We booked this thru Maythe at geckotrail.com (very helpful and recommended) after some other options were not right or available. Could not have made a better choice. Great location on Cocles Beach, though 20 mins walk from PV which was great. Beach was across street, and often the resident German Shepards walked across with you (luv dogs). The dogs are really nice and love to fetch and play.

Rooms are basic but nice. We were a couple who needed one bed, but had a room with three beds, and open shared balcony area looking out thru trees at beach. If you were traveling with many friends on a budget with friends, some of the rooms would be great because of all the beds (I saw another with four beds). They must be great for families. We did not opt for the a/c rooms. Our room was stuffy, but after a while with door open and fans it was fine. No problem sleeping. Beds were surprisingly comfortable, no complaints. Rooms are basic but perfectly fine for the price and CR.

Grounds are nice, with drinks available for purchase by day and nice complimentary breakfast each morning. The menu had a couple options and the food was good. The pool was the nicest thing. Large and open. We really wanted a pool and this was a deciding factor.

The owners, I think there is two, were there on different days. Petra was a delight and very funny and nice to talk to. She was present the second half of our stay. In fact our only complaint was Jose who was there the first half. In fact had he been there the whole time, or rather Petra not saved the day, my rating might be different. With him we felt like intruders. He couldn't smile or even acknowledge our presence. Total jerk really. We were so glad when Petra was there. She helped us with restaurants and taxis, and was just a delight. Just try and stay there on her watch.

Overall very pleased and would definitely stay again. Thank you Petra.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luckydog818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

The rich woodwork and style seem to blend into the lush tropical backgroud as you step in through the handmade gait. The staff welcomes you like family and if your Spanish is limited, they are also multilingual. The open air design of the lobby and of the dining area is an invitation to sit and relax, and let the sounds of the surf take your thoughts away. If your looking for quiet, comfort( great beds) and convencience, then this is your place. If you just want to absorb the sun and the cleansing Ocean breezes, grab a blanket and a drink and cross the street. Otherwise, a bike ride in one direction will take you to town and the other way, to the infamous Caribean beaches with the possibility of monkey sightings and other exotic wildlife along the way. Even for the short time I was there, I got a taste of the " Pura Vida". I hope to come back some day

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovn2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

Upon my first moment in this place, I realized I had stumbled upon a gem. I have traveled extensively, always for pleasure, and I have never experienced such amazing hospitality and genuine kindness in all my time away from home. This Inn is not only spotlessly clean, simply but gorgeously decorated, but also is run by the most welcoming people I have had the pleasure to meet. Jose and Yvette were so much more than accommodating...they literally catered to all of out needs, including many changes of plans. We were supposed to go to Panama, but there was a mix-up and they were right there ready to help us through all of our problems. The place is beautiful, it is directly across the street from the beach, and their lovely pool is a wonderful option. Food was delicious, especially breakfast, which is included in the more- than-fair price of the rooms. I can't say enough about this Oasis in Paradise...stay there...you won't regret it!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurechicknyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Viejo de Talamanca hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel La Costa de Papito
Hotel La Costa de Papito
#2 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel La Isla Inn
Hotel La Isla Inn
#37 of 51 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
1.5 km away
Caribe Town
Caribe Town
#2 of 7 in Cocles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Lanna Ban Hotel
Lanna Ban Hotel
#5 of 7 in Cocles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.7 km away
Los Continentes
Los Continentes
#60 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.3 km away
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
Mi Casa Hostel El Tesoro
#66 of 101 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Island Lodge

Property: Paradise Island Lodge
Address: Playa Cocles, Puerto Viejo de Talamanca 70403, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel La Isla Inn)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,616 - ₹ 9,293
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise Island hotel is in front of the beautiful Playa Cocles and near the forest, with capacity for 45 people in 11 fully equipped rooms as well as tours and restaurant service to make your stay in the Caribbean Paradise unforgettable. Paradise Island has room for all kinds of groups, 10 are standard rooms with A /C, satellite TV and amenities. We also have an apartment equipped with kitchen, refrigerator, sofa bed, a small balcony and table, special for families or groups of friends of more than 4 people. All rooms and the hotel includes: -WIFI -Terraces Or balconies -Hammocks or rocking chairs -Book exchange -The Rooms have air conditioning -the showers have hot water -Service Breakfast a la carte (or bed) -Parking -Security 24/7 -Towels And sheets -Information of tours in the area -Swimming pool Additional services: -Beach lifeguard in Cocles -Rent of bicycles and snorkeling equipment -We spoke English and Spanish -Restaurant service * Children under 7 years free lodging * Children under 12 pay half Reception is open from 7am to 9pm Restaurant is open from 7:30am to 2pm There is no restriction of age for children Pets are allowed in our hotel with previous request by mail or telephone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel La Isla Puerto Viejo
Paradise Island Lodge Costa Rica/Limon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing