We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A mountain paradise!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
'The Den' with flat screen tv which acts as the second bedroom with double bed.
Open planned kitchen and dining area
The Chirriposa office with  views to the garden and to the river
Open planned downstairs out to terrace
Bathroom with sunken shower and view out to tropical orchid garden and cascade
View out the bathroom window of the tropical orchid garden and cascade
Terrace with a view of primary rainforest
Front of house
View of house at night from the garden under the full moon
Cascade and lilly pond by front entrance
View of front of house across the bridge and garden path
Red squirell caught in evening sunlight eating an orange infront of the house
Sunset over the orchard
Sunset over the coffee plantation
Garden and fruit orchard
Rio chirripó in front of house
The Tallari River
Jungle TV
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chirripo National Park, Province of San Jose

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
greencoco...
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A mountain paradise!”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Our stay at Kubla Khan was fabulous. Ditto to all the previous exaltations regarding this house: it is beautiful, the grounds are magnificent, Angus and Tania are great, and the setting is perfect! We walked everywhere-- the back roads are perfect for exploring and bird watching... lunch at the trout farm (where you catch your dinner) is not to be missed. Great hiking in Talamanca (be sure to get to the furthest waterfall, well worth the effort!) and Cloud Forest. The garden at the house is great with tropical fruits including oranges, guava, carambola, red hog plums, sour sop, water apples and mulberries, and a great veggie garden with cherry tomatoes, kale, broccoli, cabbage, basil etc! We loved everthing about this house and our trip.... except perhaps the steep driveway to the parking area (we kind of fell off the driveway first time, but after that, Angus backed the car down so we only had to drive up!) Kubla Khan is highly recommended. We were also interested to learn that Angus and Tania also manage a house in Osa (Sublime House on trip advisor) and we plan to visit that next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!
Liked least: nothing not to like!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2016
Thanks Pam
It was lovely to host you and Jack and we look forward to seeing you again next year in the Osa.
All the best
Angus and Tania (and the girls!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seanbM540...
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best possible ending to our trip to Costa Rica”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

While the pictures give you the right impression of the beauty and serenity of Kubla Khan, they still can't quite capture what a special place this is. It was a perfect ending to our 17 day trip through Costa Rica. The entire property is gorgeous; we enjoyed wandering around the river area and the garden, and spent lots of time on the porch looking out over the cloud forests. Angus and Tania were incredibly welcoming and gracious and made our stay a delight.
The kitchen is well-equipped including basics for cooking (olive oil, seasoning, etc.), which is nice as there are minimal options for eating out in the area...definitely stock up on ingredients in San Isidro if you plan to cook. The owners were nice enough to offer access to their organic gardens for fresh fruits, vegetables, and herbs.
When I think about going back to Costa Rica, this place is what I picture.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenRode
Concord, California
2 reviews
“YOU want to stay HERE!”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Kubla Khan is absolutely heavenly! The view from the deck is spectacular beyond words, and the photos don't do it justice. Breathtaking really. This area is the most biodiverse place in CR. You'll see tons of colorful birds, variety of butterflies, fireflies at night, and maybe even some monkeys. The swimming hole was amazing too. The attention to detail at this place is impossible to describe. We were there for 2 weeks, still noticing things we hadn't yet seen.

At first we wanted to be somewhere closer to the airport, but we are SO glad our intuition told us to stay here. The drive was just gorgeous. Straight out of a travel magazine. Everything we needed was within a 30 minute drive, and would have been impossible to find somewhere more magical.

The home and the grounds are impeccable. The weather was perfect everyday, and we loved the rainstorms mid day. Angus and Tania were extremely helpful, accommodating, and welcoming. They even went shopping for us because we were there on a holiday and all the stores were going to be closed! We loved the chocolate lady and the delicious cheese place! I think we went to both places 7 times during our two week stay... Don't miss the hiking in the rainforest at Talamanca, the hot springs, the fish shop, and the incredible Monte Azul restaurant which are all very close by. We also loved the gorgeous Dominical beach, which is about a 2 hour drive but totally worth it... The water is crystal clear and very warm! This was the best vacation of our lives! We had a truly magical experience and didn't want to leave! We will definitely be coming back soon!

It was the perfect altitude, the perfect temperature, the perfect people, and the perfect everything else. Oh, and let me tell you a little secret............. If you invite Angus and Tania over for dinner (and cook them something nice), you get to pick their brains and learn all kinds of amazing things about Costa Rica that you'll be glad you learned. Not only did we have an amazing stay, but we made new friends for life.

Enjoy your stay. You made the right choice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The perfection of the entire experience.
Liked least: That I had to leave...
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dreamchaz...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I absolutely loved this place! I was worried it wouldn't be as pretty as the pictures. It was even more beautiful. My one and only complaint would be the roads leading to the house and other local destinations. They are very scary. We left our car parked and used a driver that the owners put us in touch with. Angus & Tania were the best host. We spoke no Spanish and Angus did a lot of extra things as far as translation with locals for us. The views were amazing!! I can not tell you enough how much I enjoyed it. It was the rainy season and it rained a lot!!! I'm planning another trip already for December and I just got home yesterday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Reviewed 15 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing