We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Getaway in Costa Rica's Carribean Coast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Hill Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coral Hill Bungalows
Ranked #4 of 21 Cahuita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful Getaway in Costa Rica's Carribean Coast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This place was the last hotel of several accommodations we used during or 10 day trip to Costa Rica, which started in San Jose and brought us to several different regions in this beautiful country. This Boutique hotel, where you get to sleep in independent high end "bungalows", is a paradise immersed in nature, yet really close to the beach (.2 miles walk) and the little town of Cahuita, which offers various restaurants and attractions, including it national park and preserved habitat, where the "hiking" trail, mostly on the beach and flat, can be done in flip-flops. Corall Hill features wondefully furnished spacious bungalows, immersed in a luscious forest like environment, completely made of wonderrful wood, with state of the art bathroom, stone built huge showers and even a walk-in closet with a safe for your valuables. The breakfast, home made but the owners, is really rich and good.
The only things you should note, depending on what you are looking for:
- This is no immersion in the local culture, as the couple is from the US; She can be abrupt at times, but once you get to know her, she is very nice and helpful.
- The breakfast is just amazing and you can have as much as you want, just beware of the "focaccia/quiche" as it was always undercooked and eggs are part of the ingredients: stick to cooked eggs and the wonderful different types of bread and croissants presented to you.
- The beaches nearby are not so beautiful: try and organize a trip to Puerto Viejo and its beach, only reachable by bycicle ride (this I am told).

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    21
    0
    6
    0
See reviews for
11
211
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

I would like to recommend the Coral Hill Bungalows to travellers planning a journey to Costa Rica, Caribbean coast. The small boutique hotel has the intimate touch of a bed and breakfast with added space. The hosts were always ready to answer questions and give helpful advice. Breakfasts were both beautiful to look at and delicious. I found them to be better than the other hotels where we stayed. Cauhita is very small and quite. A perfect place to read in your hammock or walk on the beach. There are only 2 restaurants around the corner but the nearest town is in easy walking distance. Great place to bike or sip on a beer at the local Raggae bar. There are quite a few interesting activities nearby and many nice guides who came with a recommendation. Our rooms were very clean and spacious. The garden was beautiful, filled with flowers and fragrant trees. We saw some frogs, howler monkeys and even a few sloths right in the garden.It rained while we were there, but the warm tropical rain could not stop the beauty of the place from shining through.

Room Tip: They are all good. We had hoped for the top floor of the bungalow, but the ground floor was just as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We just spent a one week RETURN visit to Chris & Joe's Coral Hill Bungalows in Cahuita and like last year had a lovely time again. Breakfast is always very special. Their bungalows are a traveller's treat as they are sparkling clean and oh so quaint. Lovely linens, beautiful huge double sinked ceramic tiled bathroom with a large walk in shower area, quality bamboo furnishings with a netted bed and nicely decorated. A great front porch with two lovely rockers for reading and a hammock to laze away the day if you chose to do so. From your porch and the breakfast area you will see lots of beautiful birds and other wildlife as well. There is a great new Italian restaurant in town called El Girasol that is amazing offering great service, a beautiful decor, wonderful food and wine and extremely reasonable. Ask Chris or Joe to tell you about the restaurant/bar/pool at the far end of the national park and if you can, plan a walk through the park (starting on the Cahuita side...took us 4 hours but lovely) and then finish up by spending a few hours at this restaurant/bar/pool and then you can cab it or take the local bus home...a great adventure. All in all, Coral Hill Bungalows and it's owners are very special.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeiselManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

we had a great stay loved the room the only thing that would have been nice would have been an offer with our bags to our room as we had to carry them down a gravel walk way then up a lot of stairs as our room was on the second floor .other than that it was great if you can get a bungalow and this would not be a problem .the breakfast was excellent .we met some very nice people there also even if they were from edmonton lol .

Room Tip: get a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rich101Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
københavn
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed at Corall Hill 6 dayes, It was 25 min. from the city and 10 from the beach and 2 lovely bars. The owner liked it very clean and silent.They cleaned in front of our doorsteep (noisy) before 7 in the mornings.We had to pay the whole rent before we saw the room and even before we payed the taxi driver who took us from San Jose.
That is the clossed we have to a monastery, I am 64 years old and it to ascetic to me.
We can not recomment to stay there.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathe077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JunglelifeCostaRica, Owner at Coral Hill Bungalows, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
We are very sorry to hear that the couple was not pleased with the facility and accommodations.
We regret they felt put out. We are totally confused about their monastery comment, we wish they had elaborated. Sweeping a walkway littered with orchids from the two trees surrounding their Bungalow is a must for their safety. They tend to be very slippery. We take safety seriously. They were the only clients we have made an exception for in booking by not requiring a deposit to make a reservation, After seeing them to their room of which the taxi driver delivered their bags to their Bungalow, we asked that they come to our reception area to be checked in by providing their passport information and method of payment. Which we feel is normal. The taxi driver had to stay in the reception area waiting for his payment for a full half hour before he could depart.
As to any and all of their complaints we can only say that the previous 130 reviews tend to contradict their thoughts, feelings and observations.They never said a thing to us about any of their feelings or complaints as we do ask at breakfast about their stay and they indicated upon departure how much they enjoyed their stay. We never mentioned to them that we had to dispose of their towels as we were unable to remove their hair dye and make up stains from them . We can only guess that their low rating and negative comments derive from the confrontation that occurred when they tried to leave without paying bar bill of which they paid a lesser amount than actually due.
We try to excel in the accommodation and service we provide for our guests. We can only hope that in the future anyone who is not satisfied with anything at our facility let us know in advance so we can correct any problems real or perceived.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
1.7 km away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 13 in Cahuita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
3.9 km away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.3 km away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cahuita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
12.2 km away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
1.6 km away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Hill Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Hill Bungalows

Property: Coral Hill Bungalows
Address: Calle Humphrey | Playa Negra, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cahuita
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,436 - ₹ 10,202
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coral Hill Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our little piece of Paradise in the jungle. We are a deluxe luxury accommodation offering impeccably clean rooms in a beautiful garden environment just steps to Playa Negra, with a gourmet breakfast included. You are surrounded by the animals, birds, butterflies, flowers, trees and sea. Come see us and enjoy the unique place we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Coral Hill Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Hill Bungalows Hotel Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing