We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice cabina by the sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jenny's Cabinas

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cahuita
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jenny's Cabinas
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Cahuita
Erlangen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice cabina by the sea”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed three nights at Jenny's Cabinas in Cahuita. The rooms are right by the sea and you have a very nice view from the upstairs rooms. The upstairs rooms have their own private balcony with hammock and chairs, which is very nice to relax. The rooms downstairs are a lot cheaper but I think it is worth spending a bit more for the upstairs ones. The shower was the best I had in Costa Rica. The room was made up each day and we got fresh towels. On the down side there were termites or woodworms in my bed and the mosquito net smelled a bit old.
The entrance to the national park with the nice beaches can be reached in a few minutes walking. The cabinas provide free beach mats.

Room Tip: stay in the upstairs rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    16
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
22
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

In early May we stayed in the suite above the owner's apartment which had a large deck with a great view. Large bathroom, coffee maker and fridge in room. Terrific value. It was a short walk to Cahuita National Park which has a beautiful large beach. The hike through the Park is absolutely worthwhile - lots to see. Cahuita is a wonderful place.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livingbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We had been busing around the Pacific Coast of CR for 2 weeks and decided it was time for a "Caribbean vacation" during our 3rd and final week - i.e. head for Cahuita, check out the trails, beaches, Puerto Viejo, Manzanillo and more or less just hang out.

We were lucky that when we arrived at Jenny's in Cahuita the large, separate cabina was available We rented it for a 3 nights, went to Manzanillo for a night, then returned for 2. It was a great place to stay and to come back to (we didn't stay in the main "hotel" unit, so we cannot comment on the quality of that experience).

The bedroom is spacious and the bathroom is even bigger - tile floors, 2 sinks, large, walk-in shower, all the hot water you could want. Came equipped with a mosquito net (had to be washed) fridge, drinking water (nice not to have to keep buying plastic bottles!), coffee maker, good Costa Rican coffee! and cups, plates, etc.

The veranda is large & open on 3 sides and has a hammock, air chair, table & chairs, etc. - a perfect place for bird watching or just watching the waves and sunrise over morning coffee. The rocky shoreline is just yards away and, while not suited for swimming, Playa Negro isn't too far a walk. Downtown Cahuita is 2 blocks away, the bus station/ cajera automatico 4 or 5, so it's a great location to access restaurants, cash and future travel.

The bed linen was a bit rough & "pilly", so we really appreciated the smooth, lightweight cotton bag liners we picked up at REI for $20.

We loved the sound of the ocean every night - great to fall asleep by - and it drowned out voices, roosters, Jenny's TV, etc.

Jenny, Marcellino & Sabina were accommodating and easy to get along with.

Room Tip: Suggest the separate, larger cabina, if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bozeman_MontanaLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2011

This place is great for the price, maybe unbeatable! The rooms were spacious, though the bathroom was a bit cramped, and the ceiling fan looked as if it might fall on us if turned up to the fastest setting. The bug nets were great, and the sound of the ocean pounding the natural sea wall in front of the hotel made for great sleeping. The owner was a bit mercurial, and the fact that she lives in one of the rooms is kinda' off-putting for some reason. I should add that the parking was wonderful and safe, which is always a concern in CR, especially the Caribbean coast.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoahJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We got really lucky and got to stay in the suite (the separate room) for only $50. It was an absolute palace - huge bed and living room with fridge, free water, coffee maker, and kitchen utensils.

The bathroom and balcony were the same size as the bedroom - amazing luxurious space.

The linen smelt so lovely that I would literally go back just for the smell of the sheets and towels.

The bathroom is huge with a massive walk in shower - like a whole unit in itself.

There were hammocks on the verandah and the sound of the ocean was so loud it was amazing.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahuita
4.2 km away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
147 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 13 in Cahuita
135 reviews
1.1 km away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cahuita
205 reviews
2.1 km away
Suizo Loco Lodge Hotel & Resort
11.9 km away
Hotel Banana Azul
Hotel Banana Azul
#1 of 12 in Puerto Viejo de Talamanca
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jenny's Cabinas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jenny's Cabinas

Property: Jenny's Cabinas
Address: Este Central Park 250m, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cahuita
Price range (per night): ₹ 972 - ₹ 3,239
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located right in front of the ocean. all our rooms have and ocean view. The upstairs rooms and suite have a private balcony with hammock. All rooms have hot water, cealing fan, mosquitoe net, a small fridge, coffee maker, toaster oven, and bottel water dispenser. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jenny`s Cabinas Hotel Cahuita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing