We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveller rating
238
39
5
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
39
5
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus luxury hotel the owner costa rica hotel is located rooms are nice black beach quiet place highly recommend this place minute walk stayed here for nights mosquito net yolanda sloths town garden hosts
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 292 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Our visit to this locally owned hotel was one of the best parts of our trip. I can't rave enough about the level of service and hospitality we received. My husband and I arrived at the Cahuita bus station without a clue as to where the hotel was- the owner was in the area and nice enough to pick us up and take us over to the hotel. Everything from the bike rental, maps, conversation, mini tour, restaurant recommendations, and free upgrade were appreciated. The family owners were veryfriendly, honest, thorough, and welcoming. The price point was beyond a bargain considering the amenities we received. The only one little complaint I have was that our bed was extremely firm but we only stayed one night so it wasn't a huge deal. The beach is a short 5 minute walk away and there are also 2 bars at the end of the road that you can enjoy a beer and beach view. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cahuita. You'll be so happy you did.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MileHighDubzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016

First of all: make sure to book the right accomodation because there are 2 places in Cahuita with a similar name but only one of them is the real Nirvana! We didn't had any issues because of that but we heard of other travellers being dissapointed when realising that they went to the wrong place. The Nirvana where we have been and can highly recommend is run by a Portuguese-German couple called Yolanda and Sepp.

We stayed at a 4 bed room which was well equipped, spacious and super clean. What we liked most about the room was our own open air kitchen and private dining area where we spent a lot of time. Everything for a very reasonable price! The Cabinas are within 3 minutes walking distance to the wonderful Playa Negra and some restaurants and bars. Also a little supermarket is nearby. The whole area of Playa Negra is nice and calm so you can feel safe and enjoy your time.

All together Cabinas Nirvana is a very good place to stay but what makes it really special is the service that you get from the owners Yolanda and Sepp! They answered to our first emails quickly and friendly, picked us up from the Bus Station and dropped us there in the end, served a delicious welcome drink and spent several (!) hours helping with our travel planning. And all this without any extra costs but just for beeing great hosts.

Thank you Yolanda and Sepp for the great time that we had at Cabinas Nirvana!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank NiklasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Cabinas Nirvana for 10 weeks, from sept 2014 until mid nov 2014.
Yolanda and Sepp are great hosts, the place is clean and colorful.Great restaurants and bar.
Became good friend with Yolanda. As being an elderly person Yolanda and Sepp made sure that every day i was OK and enjoying my stay.
Planning to be back in 2016.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
Thank Mireille N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2016 via mobile

I spent 4,5 wonderful days at Cabinas Nirvana with my friend. Originally we booked three nights - but luckily we could add two more nights because we fell in love with the place. Amazing ambiance!
We arrived with a hired car - it was important to have a safe parking area (in the garden).
Highly recommended for everyone searching for a clean and quiet accomodation (the only noise = 'music' of the nature), close to the beach, with maximal insect protection (mosquito nets on the windows and over the beds, electronic repellent) , with common and private outdoor chilling areas. Additionally: room cleaning & coffee refill every day. (sugar, coffee, sweetener in sealable containers). Refrigerator, fan, extra covers in the room, hangers and safe in the closet. Clean bathroom & shower, private outdoor place to dry our clothes.
The owners are The Best!! ^_^
Very nice and helpful, kind people. We received great tips and could get to fabulous beaches (I did not read about on the internet when planning the trip), they know the best spots for hiking, eating etc. This multilingual and lovely family added a lot to our experience, and we could turn to them with all our questions. They always helped with a smile - even with changing our flat tyre on a rainy sunday morning!
I feel happy we choose Cabinas Nirvana.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Anikó B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2016 via mobile

We have just had the most relaxing and beautiful stay at this place. The location is excellent, minutes from the beach with a few chilled out beach bars too. The National Park is 20 minutes walk away, but the walk is mainly along the sea front. The property itself is just perfect if you're looking to chill out for a few days, the rooms are extremely well kept, very clean and the patio area out front has a hammock that you can wind down in after a sun filled day on the beach. The owners are extremely helpful with local information, nothing was too much trouble and if anything their knowledge of the area made our stay that much more special as they suggested places to visit that wasn't even in the lonely planet. Local buses, times, bike rentals, beaches to visit and places to avoid... They just couldn't have made us feel any more at home. We have been here for 3 days and wished we would have had the time to stay longer. 100% highly recommended!!!! Thank you for a great stay! Paul, Matt and Jo

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews