We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't book through Expedia or believe the owner.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cabinas Caribe Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cabinas Caribe Luna
Certificate of Excellence
Readsboro, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't book through Expedia or believe the owner.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

we booked after seeing the listing on Expedia: "On the beach. Situated on a stretch of beach in Cahuita". We needed a 3 night stay, but were concerned that it may not be as nice as listed (most places rarely are). I asked Expedia about cancellation policy and if it's not a good place, can I cancel the third night. He said as long as it's 24 hours in advance (now, according to Expedia, that means 24 hours in advance of the FIRST night...BEFORE you see the place). When we got there, it was 1/4 mile from the Beach and certainly no view. At check-in we told the owner that we won't be staying the 3rd night, just 2 nights. She said that's no problem. (of course it's no problem, she planned to charge us anyway!). The place was not too bad, except for the tiny little TV in the entryway and scary looking kitchen. We've stayed at many places in the area and there are much better for less money. Our third night was at the National Park Hotel. A bit smaller, much nicer, great view and much less expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaribeLuna2014, Manager at Cabinas Caribe Luna, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Hi Bob.

Sad to read that your stay in our place wasn´t pleasant for you, but your kind feedback help us improve, we are always doing our best to give the best we can give.

About the view, our hotel leans more towards a stay in the middle of nature, near the sea, where you can be lulled by the sound of the ocean but not directly on the waves.

Thanks a lot for your comment. Glad that at the end you found a place were you enjoyed our Paradise.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    28
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
22
36
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I am a 43 year old professor and my wife is a 31 year old lawyer. We are from Canada. We stayed in a single room (not the 2 bdrm) cabin for 1 night. We were happy with the experience.

First of all, the place was very clean including the bathroom. The room was very spacious and included excellent cable TV, but especially, a beautiful porch with hammock. The other cabins (4 total) were larger, and had 2 bedrooms + a kitchen. Our shower water was not hot, but lukewarm.

The place is very secluded and located across from the beach, though I never found the access point. We could hear the waves at night, and howler monkeys and other wildlife early in the morning.

Cahuita is a tiny one-street town, and this hotel (no breakfast included) is an easy 5-minute walk away. If you do stay here, one tip is to eat at the very nearby Cha-Cha-Cha Italian restaurant (superb, amazing dinner). The entrance to Cahuita National Park is a 10 minute walk (at most) down the main street...and it is an amazing place for the beach but especially the wildlife (spiker monkeys, howler monkeys, etc.).

Cahuita had a wonderful, peaceful, romantic and rustic vibe to it. It is not for the Sheraton Hotel set however so be warned.

We only paid $60 USD for our little cabin which was excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNRJSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We got to Cahuita with huge suitcase after a long & boiling hot drive from Panama, so were weren't pleased to see loads of hotels right in the center of town with lots of availability, and then discovering that our hotel was a 10 minute walk down the road. Oh well, Cahuita is a tiny village so it' doesn't matter that much.

Rooms were cheap and cheerful, clean enough with our own little sitting area outside. The rooms were a bit noisy tho, we could hear everything our neighbors did and said.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeynl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaribeLuna2014, Manager at Cabinas Caribe Luna, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Hi Mikeynl

Thanks for your feedback, it definitely help us improve.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Clean rooms, friendly people. Close to town but far enough away at night things are quiet. Loved the 2 dogs that live there, they were excellent guides and at night, made me feel safe. Such sweeties! The cabins were quaint and cozy, the front porches a great place to sip coffee and relax, and if you needed anything, someone was there to help. Will be back absolutely.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaribeLuna2014, Manager at Cabinas Caribe Luna, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hi Rin R.

Thanks for your nice comments, glad to hear that Luna and Negra (our dogs) made you feel safe.

We are happy to know that you will come back.

See you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarnia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Wonderful location, beautiful grounds and very helpful, friendly owner. We stayed for two weeks and it made our trip. It was inexpensive, close to everything, located close to black beach and a walk through town to white beach and the National Park. The cabinas were well kept, spacious, clean and secluded. You could enjoy your breakfast on the patio and relax in the hammock in the aftenoon after a nice swim in the warm carribean sea. The kitchen is well equipped and cooking meals was no problem. Large full size fridge very adequate for holding a few days of food and drinks. A supermarket is a short walk away in the town and there is a market every Saturday. We had howler monkeys serenade us in the morning and a bat would visit every night as we sat on the patio enjoying our evening. It was quite entertaining. We felt completely at home and very safe. The owner was beyond compare, she was helpful in addressing all our needs from arranging tours to inviting us to a private choir and arts event. She even provided the transportation. We will be back and would recommend it to any one and already have many times to friends and family. Definitely a gem.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aamjiwnaang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CaribeLuna2014, Manager at Cabinas Caribe Luna, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hi aamjiwnaang!

Glad to read that you had a good time in Caribe Luna. Thanks for the nice comments. Hope you come back someday.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cahuita hotels
2.1 km away
Hotel La Diosa
Hotel La Diosa
#6 of 13 in Cahuita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.5 km away
La Casa de las Flores Hotel
4.5 km away
Passion Fruit Lodge
Passion Fruit Lodge
#1 of 13 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Atlantida Lodge
Atlantida Lodge
#7 of 13 in Cahuita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.0 km away
El Encanto Inn
El Encanto Inn
#2 of 21 in Cahuita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
3.5 km away
Le Colibri Rouge - El Colibri Rojo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas Caribe Luna? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas Caribe Luna

Property: Cabinas Caribe Luna
Address: M. West From Police Station 200, Cahuita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Cahuita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Cahuita
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,552 - ₹ 5,497
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas Caribe Luna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find us in a quite and relaxing garden, with birds, little frogs and monkeys, 300m from Playa Negra, 300m from Cahuita village and 800m from Cahuita national park. You can choose between different solutions: bedrooms, apartments or suite (the last 2 with kitchen). All of them has private bathroom and terrace with hammock, tv, wifi, daily maid service and mosquito nets. Staff will be ready to help you, booking or giving tour information and giving you advices. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cabinas Caribe Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing