We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Best Sushi Restaurants”

Sakura Japanese Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 25 - US$ 50
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 13 July 2016

I tend to judge a good sushi restaurant by the quality and presentation of their sashimi, and this restaurant does that, but as expected, its pricey, about 20,000 Colones pp. I did not like their Ramen, preferring instead their Udon soup. There is no Japanese sushi chef, but a locally trained chef. This restaurant also provides customers with hibachi grills, but I have not eaten hibachi, preferring instead sashimi, udon, miso, and gyoza. Be careful if you order a Spicy Tuna Hand Roll, you have to explain what you want here. Not a lot of Sake variety in Sake, typically one offered, served either hot or at ambient temperature. Good sake!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank raefffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

Had phili roll snd fried rice and shrimp; excellent. We were in san jose on our last night in costa rica, before returning home. Rest is next to wyndham.

Thank lifeisgood1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2016

We waited a very long time for service. The restaurant was not full, appeared to be short staffed. My husband wanted fried rice with beef not onions, however, he got a bowl full of onions not beef. The food was very good. I would go again on a different night, it could have been an off day.

Thank yesenia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos Y, Director General at Sakura Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2016

We regret that your experience was not pleasant, we appreciate your time and your comments, they help us to improve every day.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

My dad loves this place

My wife and kids adore the waiters

The freshest fish in all Costa Rica

Taste is by far the best sushi in Central America!

Must give this place five stars & 5 forks!!!!

Always recommend for over 15 years

Thank UNOTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos Y, Director General at Sakura Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Thank you very much, for us it's really flattering that you have taken of your time to recognize our work, always welcome and we hope to see you soon

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

Just outstanding food. Staff outstanding. No words to explain. Just do it. Price is very worth it. Get the tuna! !

Thank Navysteve32211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos Y, Director General at Sakura Japanese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2016

Thank you very much, for us it's really flattering that you have taken of your time to recognize our work, always welcome and we hope to see you soon

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sakura Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Escazu, San Jose Metro
Heredia, Province of Heredia
 
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela
 
San Antonio De Belen, Province of Heredia
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Sakura Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing