We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
71
9
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
9
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan josecosta ricaminutes from the airportpura vidamiriamcountrydecktours
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018

I stayed with my sisters and a friend in the biggest room. The breakfast were always wonderful and Laurie always provided a lovely conversation to our morning breakfast. She has extensive knowledge of the beautiful sights all over Costa Rica and she truly knows everyone in any place. It is such a treat to stay at such a close location to the airport, cariari country club, and they even have a perfect 5k loop to run on in the mornings. Very comfortable home and the staff is just as wonderful. Would defiantly come again!

Room Tip: Ask Laurie about any sites you want to see. She provides full service and custom tours!
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sophia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

Having arrived early we nevertheless were greeted with genuine warmth and had drinks and snacks in hand within minutes. The B & B is full of personal photos and effects that draw you into Laurie's home making you feel part of the family. Adding to the welcome are the wonderful staff, Miriam (who's banana bread is delicious!), Victor, and the dogs, cat and parrot which complete the household. The vaulted ceiling room was spacious and comfortable and included a mini fridge. A carafe of cold water for drinking was replenished daily. Laurie is very generous with her time and energy and was knowledgeable about the area. She provided us with a fine recommendation for dinner at a nearby restaurant, in addition to arranging for our ride back to the airport. The delicious and hearty breakfast was served in the covered, open air patio and was an excellent send off for the last leg of our holiday. We are looking forward to staying with her again the next time we visit Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCDude1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Our flight had been cancelled and there was no room available (at the rewards rate) at the chain hotel we were staying at so we searched for an alternative. Our friends, who had left a day earlier, recommended a B & B that they had stayed at, but, when we inquired there it also was full. The nice lady, however, recommended Cariari B & B and we couldn't have been more delighted with this "find"! It's a beautiful, spacious, Spanish villa located in an upscale neighborhood of San Jose. Laurie sent a cab to our chain hotel to pick us up and we spent a glorious, peaceful day and night before our flight, the next day. She greeted us with wine and wonderful conversation and invited my wife to accompany her to the local farmers market (which my wife loved). My wife was able to see firsthand the fresh, delicious fare that we would have for breakfast the next day ( which was prepared for us about 2 hours earlier than normal because of our early flight). The room was beautiful, the atmosphere very relaxing, and the whole, short stay was a wonderful, unplanned, delightful culmination of our vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGB12, General Manager at Cariari Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, so glad we were able to have you as our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

The Cariari is comparable to the nearby Marriott, which is much reviewed and clearly a bargain. Wonderful food, nice leisure areas and super rooms. Ha e made the switch. Closer to the downtown area and easy airport access. Everything was good!

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank charlesbm2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGB12, General Manager at Cariari Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

So glad you appreciate our hospitality and good food! Thank you fellow foodie !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

My plan was to spend a few days on a Caribbean beach. My daughter had other ideas. So we wound up in Costa Rica. The options for locations and things to do had my head spinning! Until I found Cariari.

We planned a weeklong stay, and found Cariari to be a great base for exploring Costa Rica. Laurie, our expat host, did literally EVERYTHING for us. Airport transfers, trip bookings, supermarket runs, etc. Miriam, who works for Laurie, is a wonder. All the breakfast you could possibly want, room like new each day. We threw our dirty clothes on the floor of the closet, and Miriam scooped it up, washed, dried, folded, and returned it to our room. Plus, she’s got a great personality, as does Laurie.

We felt truly at home and welcomed at Cariari. And we got plenty for our $$!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Brooklynative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGB12, Manager at Cariari Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thanks Diane & Tara, it was our pleasure to help you to enjoy just a touch of what C.R. has to offer. Hope your next trip is longer & you will see lots more!! We'd love to help you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews