We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see in Costa Rica”
Review of Britt Coffee Tour

Britt Coffee Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 57.00*
and up
Britt Coffee Tour and Chocolate Tasting from San Jose
Ranked #1 of 15 Tours in Heredia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Britt Coffee Tour has educated and entertained nearly 1 million friends and coffee lovers from around the world since 1991. We use humor and insight to show you the secrets behind an exquisite cup of coffee. Our experts lead the way on an enjoyable journey through the world of coffee. Discover coffee´s colorful history and the process that transforms the red coffee cherry into the delicious morning brew.Located in Heredia, 25 minutes away from Internacional Airport. Daily tours at 9am, 11am, 1:15pm and 3:15pm. Advanced reservation required. Our roastery campus and facilities include:•Lush green areas and colorful gardens. •Restrooms and pathways suitable to people of all ages and physical abilities. •On-site restaurant. •Plenty of secure parking. •Factory store with coffee, chocolates, cookies & more.•Door-to-door international coffee delivery service via courier.
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This was the first tour we took during our two weeks in Costa Rica in late April. We opted for the basic tour with travel included. It was the perfect option for us as we had other commitments that afternoon. We were also hesitant to try driving so the pick-up option was great.

We went on a Monday morning and had only one other family in our tour group. The small group size made the "cupping" very enjoyable. I don't think I would have enjoyed the tour with 50+ people. As other reviewers have said the prices in the gift shop are the best you'll find in the country for Cafe Britt products. We chose to ship some items home directly from the gift shop and they were waiting for us in America when we got back.

At the end of our vacation we had gotten over our driving anxiety and rented a car. We stopped by Cafe Britt in the morning before our flight for a cup of coffee. The prices in the cafe are great and the coffee is fantastic. Getting to and from the tour site is easy as they have placed signs on the main roads in Heredia.

I will definitely visit the gift shop and cafe again if I ever return to Costa Rica. I'd do the tour again too if my group has people who haven't seen it.

Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrittCoffeeTour, Marketing and Sales Coordinator at Britt Coffee Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear visitor,

Thanks for sharing your comments with us; we're glad to hear that one of our tour options including transportation was suitable for your family. It is a fact that our prices are the best in the country; since we have factory prices and we are glad you used our shipping service, so our gourmet coffee could be waiting for you upon your arrival!

We are glad you enjoy our tour; we love to share with our visitors the secrets behind a gourmet cup of coffee, from the plantation to your cup. We have been entertaining and educating nearly 1 million friends and coffee lovers from around the world by immersing them in a colorful journey through our working plantation and roastery.

Thank you for visiting and letting us share with you our passion for gourmet coffee!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 301 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Spent several hours on a tour of the Britt coffee plantation. The two guides were great. It was very informative, fun, and educational. Free sampling of the coffee and chocolates at the end.

Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrittCoffeeTour, Marketing and Sales Coordinator at Britt Coffee Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Greetings,

Thank you for choosing our tour, we are delighted to have had you here and know that you enjoyed our tour and gourmet products, which are made with the highest quality standards, so you can take home the best of Costa Rica. During our tour, we teach in an entertaining and educational way all the secrets behind an exquisite cup of coffee so our visitors can learn and enjoy from our experts.

Hope to see you back here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was a pretty good tour. The owners give you a tour of the place along with a theatrical look at how coffee is made and exported. They also give the audiance a chance to participate in tastings. At the end of the tour, you do end up at the gift shop but you can taste test all of their coffees and candies. Well worth the price.

Thank sjsanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrittCoffeeTour, Marketing and Sales Coordinator at Britt Coffee Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Greetings!

Thank you for choosing our tour, we make the difference by offering a more sensorial tour where our visitors can experience a real idea of how gourmet coffee is processed, from its arrival to the coffee brokerage until it is packed and shipped to the rest of the world. We want that every visitor can learn how a gourmet coffee looks and tastes and be able to taste all our different kinds of roasting, candies, and chocolates in our factory shop La Casita.

Pura Vida from Britt CoffeeTour team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

They cover everything about coffee and do it well. Their food and coffee are great!

1  Thank ElCaracolAzul89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrittCoffeeTour, Marketing and Sales Coordinator at Britt Coffee Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Greetings from Britt Coffeetour!

Thank you very much for your comments. Since our foundation we have worked hard to specialize in gourmet coffee and through our coffee tour, teach all our secrets from the plantation to your cup! Our tour is presented in an educative and entertaining way so you can enjoy learning and put in to practice what you learned.

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I live in Costa Rica and when friends or family visit I take them to the Britt Coffee Tour. The tour takes guests through an area of coffee plants and professional actors make an informative presentation about coffee. The actors have fun and engage the guests in the conversation using humor. The actors presentation and then the indoor stage presentation includes guests in the fun. Some may find the tour a bit staged but I watch both the crowd and my children/grandchildren enjoy the entire experience. Plus, the gift shop and coffee bar are great places to find souvenirs at reasonable prices.

Thank gojaincr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrittCoffeeTour, Marketing and Sales Coordinator at Britt Coffee Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Thank you very much for all your positive comments about our tour, we have been making small changes in a certain period of time, following the suggestions and comments from our own customers, to get to the format we have today. Our goal is to ensure that all our customers leave satisfied with everything offered by our tour as it is suitable for all group ages. We will love to have you and your guests back so you can spend an enjoyable and entertaining time with us.

Pura Vida from Britt CoffeeTour team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Britt Coffee Tour also viewed

 
Heredia, Province of Heredia
Heredia, Province of Heredia
 

Been to Britt Coffee Tour? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing