We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Dining area with view to the pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining area with view to the pool
Open feel.... Casa Colonial at night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Dining area with view to the pool
Open feel....
Casa Colonial at night
Entrance to the dining and kitchen/bar area
Private Pool
Master bedroom on the second floor with balcony and view over the pool / courtyard
Master Bathroom
Secondary bedroom on ground level
View from dining area
TV/Living area
View from living and kitchen area
Access stairway to second floor / master bedroom
Each bedroom downstairs has private bath with teak floors
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dmlouns
Sudbury, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Great house in a great location”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Stayed at Casa Colonial in Langosta for 10 days over new years with my wife and three children ages 20 to 16. The house had everything you could wish for to relax in and cook your own meals. It is located between the two main beaches in the area. Langosta is a 5 minute walk to where we went every night to watch the sun set with a few drinks. The main beach is Tamarindo and it is about a 15 minute walk to the main section.

The house comes equipped with bicycles, beach chairs and umbrella, cooler on wheels, beach towels. The house even provided entertainment in the troop of howler monkeys that would show up in the trees and on our roof.

The owner Joost went out of his way to ensure we had everything we needed and arranged for pick up to and from the airport. I requested a gas BBQ and he dropped one off later that day.

We are already planning a return trip with some friends in the future and will definitely rent this house again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2017
Thank you David! Hope to see you back soon, pura vida
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrlilirat
Gallup, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Home in Tamarindo”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We were a family group of six, my older in-laws, my wife and I and our two young adult sons, so the 3 bedrooms (one king, one queen, and two twins) and 3 full baths (one within each bedroom) was just right for us. The pool in the center of the home is fabulous, refreshing in the early morning or after a long day at a nearby beach. The open air, open floor plan for the dining, living, and kitchen area works very well. Joost (our host) was helpful and available for questions or in the event that some need arose, and his property manager was equally helpful, especially in meeting us on arrival and orienting us to the home and the area. Far enough out of town to avoid the bustle and noise yet close enough to enjoy local restaurants, stores, and the beaches. Overall, a great value!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Upstairs master bedroom was private and spacious
Liked least: The two twin beds in the one bedroom are quite squeaky with movement
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyung C
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The BEST Rental House Ever!!”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The house owner is extremely friendly and nice. We had a maid service every other day. She even does laundry for the guest.This house has everything what you need. Very safe location and so close to Langosta beach and Tamarindo beach. All the rooms are big and have own bathroom. swimming pool is well maintained.
Neighbor Benito lives across of the street . He is a retired man from Italy . You will meet him when you stay this house and He will babysit your kids. lol He took my 10 years old son to the beach all the time and surf together. We had an amazing 10 days in this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2015
Thanks Kyung, I am glad you had an awesome stay. I look forward hosting you again in the future! All the best, Joost
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HulaPris
Pasadena, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best part of Tamarindo was here!”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay here was the best part of Visiting Tamarindo! We were a group of 6 travelling together and loved everything about the house. The house is about a 20 minute te walk to Tamarindo and after spending a long day on the beach it was nice to come back to the house and jump in the pool and hang out all night. Joost provided us with beach chairs, a cooler, umbrella and boogie board which was awesome. The beds are basic beds but the rooms are very spacious with bathrooms in each room. The house is very spacious groups. Joost was very responsive with our questions and it was nice to have him within a few minutes from the house in case we had any questions.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCK78209
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Casa Colonial is even more beautiful than in the pictures.”
Reviewed 1 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Casa Colonial. The owner, Joost, was so accommodating and helpful to us, and he made some great recommendations for restaurants and tours. He also arranged a shuttle from the airport for us with Ivan who was very friendly, and took us to the grocery store. For swimming, we preferred the beach in Tamarindo which is a bit of a walk (about one mile). But it was nice to have a little space from the crowds and night life when we went home at night. Our family of four with two adult children really enjoyed relaxing, cooking and playing games there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open air living areas.
Liked least: A few ants because of the open air living areas.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 210
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing