We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
129
72
20
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
72
20
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoff the beaten pathpoolside bardefinitely stay here againceiling fanair conditioningsmall hotelbeautiful poolbungalowtrees
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2017

We stayed on one of the little cabanas on the edge of the pool for a week in July with our two kids. We loved walking out the front door and into the pool. The little restaurant was decent and the staff were really nice. Our cabana was clean and had a nice layout with a loft upstairs for the kids. Unfortunately, the air conditioner didn't really work upstairs, so our kids couldn't sleep up there. The plumbing was annoying and made a lot of noise. One night, the plumbing made a noise that sounded like an alarm that started sounding at about 2 in the morning. After two nights, the staff finally fixed it. I was surprised they didn't discount the room after that. One thing to be ready for is all the cats. There were half a dozen cats wandering all over the property and in and out of the cabanas. And the cats had fleas, so we all ended up covered in flea bites. We expected to be bitten by mosquitos, but not fleas. On the plus side, the hotel is well-located, near downtown and the beach, breakfast is good, and it's affordable.

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank Molly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

Hotel Luna Llena was a great find! This small hotel has all you need when when staying in Tamarindo.
Our room was cool and comfortable, with both a/c and a ceiling fan. The hotel itself is in a quiet location and so all you hear is the natural sounds of nature around.
Friendly staff, leave you to your own devices.
The pool is ideal also for cooling off.
We will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FrediAra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

I was excited about the beautiful looking pool and poolside bar, however it was really underwhelming and we could never find any staff whenever we were at the hotel. Not really worth what I paid and the breakfast service was really limited too.

Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank Ruby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

This is a very friendly and clean place. It is a typical economy style...ok beds and warm water for showers. There is a little pool and sun deck. If you need a place to stay that is quite and clean, this is it

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We really enjoyed the wide variety of people who stayed at Luna Llena...from all over the world...made breakfasts very interesting. The owners, Simone and Pinot were absolutely wonderful...helped us with every request we had...v patient! We loved their love for animals ... cats and dogs would follow Simone around the place all day and they lived with other animals...was like living in a safe sanctuary...was delightful...genuine kindness. They have a restaurant there and Araceli was a wonderful cook...she made it difficult to go out and eat elsewhere. Very clean...you will want for nothing!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nlapakko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews