We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pool is awesome!”
Review of Hotel Luna Llena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Luna Llena
Ranked #11 of 49 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2017

We stayed on one of the little cabanas on the edge of the pool for a week in July with our two kids. We loved walking out the front door and into the pool. The little restaurant was decent and the staff were really nice. Our cabana was clean and had a nice layout with a loft upstairs for the kids. Unfortunately, the air conditioner didn't really work upstairs, so our kids couldn't sleep up there. The plumbing was annoying and made a lot of noise. One night, the plumbing made a noise that sounded like an alarm that started sounding at about 2 in the morning. After two nights, the staff finally fixed it. I was surprised they didn't discount the room after that. One thing to be ready for is all the cats. There were half a dozen cats wandering all over the property and in and out of the cabanas. And the cats had fleas, so we all ended up covered in flea bites. We expected to be bitten by mosquitos, but not fleas. On the plus side, the hotel is well-located, near downtown and the beach, breakfast is good, and it's affordable.

Stayed: July 2016
Thank Molly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

Hotel Luna Llena was a great find! This small hotel has all you need when when staying in Tamarindo.
Our room was cool and comfortable, with both a/c and a ceiling fan. The hotel itself is in a quiet location and so all you hear is the natural sounds of nature around.
Friendly staff, leave you to your own devices.
The pool is ideal also for cooling off.
We will definitely stay here again!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank FrediAra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

I was excited about the beautiful looking pool and poolside bar, however it was really underwhelming and we could never find any staff whenever we were at the hotel. Not really worth what I paid and the breakfast service was really limited too.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Ruby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

This is a very friendly and clean place. It is a typical economy style...ok beds and warm water for showers. There is a little pool and sun deck. If you need a place to stay that is quite and clean, this is it

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Carlsperformancr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We really enjoyed the wide variety of people who stayed at Luna Llena...from all over the world...made breakfasts very interesting. The owners, Simone and Pinot were absolutely wonderful...helped us with every request we had...v patient! We loved their love for animals ... cats and dogs would follow Simone around the place all day and they lived with other animals...was like living in a safe sanctuary...was delightful...genuine kindness. They have a restaurant there and Araceli was a wonderful cook...she made it difficult to go out and eat elsewhere. Very clean...you will want for nothing!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nlapakko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,583 reviews
1.2 km away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
1.3 km away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#6 of 24 in Tamarindo
576 reviews
8.5 km away
Seis Playas Hotel
Seis Playas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Huacas
253 reviews
1.3 km away
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
#1 of 1 in Playa Langosta
2,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Llena? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Llena

Address: Calle Real | Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo 5150, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range: ₹ 4,209 - ₹ 10,651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luna Llena 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Luna Llena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Llena Hotel
Luna Llena Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing