We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true costa rican stay!”
Review of Hotel Luna Llena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Luna Llena
Ranked #10 of 49 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Lovely bungalow style cottages - A/C and wireless and TV were no problem. The staff was friendly and onctsantly keeping the pool area clean. Delciious home style breakfast included with friendly service each morning. This is a truely beautiful way to experience the costa rican culture with a level of intimacy that isn't resort like. A 5 minute walk to the beach and supermercado and all the great restaurants and activities in town!

Room Tip: People with families should use the bungalows, not the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Wonderful people run this charming collection of cheery bungalows and rooms. We stayed for two weeks while taking Spanish classes and LOVED it. The gardens are lush and peaceful, the morning breakfast a lovely place to relax, the bungalows roomy enough for a long stay. I traveled with two boys, ages 9 and 6, and this place was perfect for them. They got to pet the friendly dogs and cats that live there, saw monkey from our windows and crept up on the local iguana. Plenty of room for them to safely roam and explore, but not so much that I ever lost them. The owners, Simona and Pino, did so much to make our stay fun, including buying a beach ball for my kids to play with when we expressed interest in water toys. We felt very welcomed, comfortable and like we were enjoying an authentic local
Mom and Pop experience. This isn't the Ritz -- the shower water temperature is difficult to get exactly right, for example -- but it was in many ways a more special and wonderful experience for us than if we'd stayed at a 5 star luxury resort.

Incidentally, Simona works to help save the local monkey population, she's just a very cool woman.

While you're in Tamarindo, I also recommend you try the Green Papaya, local restaurant that has swings the kids can sit on while eating.

Have fun!

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank Allison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights and we were very pleased with our stay. It is only about a 5 minute walk to the beach and the downtown shopping area. The owners were very accommodating. They fixed the shower head for us and even lent us their own personal cooler for the duration of our stay (there was no fridge in our room). The grounds are kept clean and you can even hear the calls of howler monkeys at night. We visited in the off season, so the poolside bar was closed. The only complaint I have is that the bed we had was much too hard for our liking, but that was offset by how much we enjoyed being at the hotel. There was also a modest, but filling breakfast provided, which we enjoyed very much. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who isn't looking for a "fancy" place to stay.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cole6087777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

Excellent place for families. Bungalows are huge and clean with A/C. 500M walk to beach. Host is very friendly and helpful. Italian chef at on-site restaraunt makes excellent pizzas for a poolside meal.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016

This place was so sub-standard that we only spent one hour there while we searched for something better. I have no idea how it got so many good reviews. I normally depend on tripadvisor for recommendations, but this time I got fooled. The photos look pretty good, however the rooms are run down and OLD. The entire area smelled of sewer. The bed was an old foam mattress, the windows were high on the wall, it was much like standing in a tube. The TV was smaller than the screen on my computer and the room was filled with mosquitos and flies. This was more in the style of a hostel, not a nice hotel for adults. There are wonderful hotels in the area, and not so much more money. Spend a bit more and don't sleep in such a bungalow.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
1.2 km away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.6 km away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,576 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Seis Playas Hotel
Seis Playas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Huacas
252 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#6 of 24 in Tamarindo
575 reviews
0.7 km away
Jardin del Eden boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luna Llena? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luna Llena

Address: Calle Real | Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo 5150, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range: ₹ 4,340 - ₹ 10,721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luna Llena 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Luna Llena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Llena Hotel
Luna Llena Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing