We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast! Fantastic staff!”
Review of La Bodega

La Bodega
Ranked #12 of 234 Restaurants in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 10
Cuisines: International, Healthy, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: La Bodega is an organic cafe/store located in Tamarindo, Guanacaste. We carry foods and specialty items made 100% in Costa Rica. Fresh homemade sandwiches, salads, baked goods, coffee and drinks are available daily! We provide organic, sustainable and local foods as much as possible. We are a small locally owned business with a passion for eating and living well. Pura Vida!
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Great restaurant with free wifi to relax and hangout for a while. I had the eggs, Jamaican style rice & peas, bacon, tortilla with a black iced coffee.

My meal was good, and tasty. The server Bucki or Buki (I'm sure I'm spelling it incorrectly) was very friendly! He is originally from Chicago, but moved to CR a while back.

Restaurant has free wifi that allows you to chill and they offered free coffee refills all day! That was an added bonus for me. I had three cups :)

Restaurant is in the city centre and is very close to taxi/bus stand as well.

There is one bathroom in the restaurant, and you have to walk inside - it's right next to the cashier or where they have the food. Not ideal!

Overall, I would definitely recommend! It was a chill place to have breakfast and rest for a moment after being at the beach early morning.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank jaemar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buki-CR, Owner at La Bodega, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

Hi jaemar01,
Thank you so much for the great review!
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your visit!
Hope we see you again soon!
Pura Vida!
Buki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (686)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 155 of 687 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

My husband and I ate brunch here on three occasions, unfortunately the service and the attitude of one member of staff on the 3rd occasion stopped us going back again. Had to ask three times for the juice I ordered and when it eventually arrived at the end of our meal, I was glared at and had it slammed down in front of me.
Now we all have our off days, and being from the UK I'm quite use to not having the friendliest customer service in the world, but this was dam right rude, for something that was their mistake.
So no 5 stars from me.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank lisalew2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buki-CR, Owner at La Bodega, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Hi lisalew2015,
Thank you for the review.
We are very sorry that you had a bad experience on your last visit.
I clearly remember you, because your husband explained to us that it was your third visit and there were problems with the service.
I spoke with the staff member afterwards, and he explained what happened:
1. You ordered a fresh squeezed orange juice as you were receiving your breakfast... and we make our food and drinks in the order that the order is placed. they made the orange juice as soon as possible, but because the OJ is fresh squeezed after we receive the order, that also added to the delay. When we receive the drink order together with the food order, we make sure to serve the drinks before any food is served.
2. As far as the 'slamming down' of your drink, he told me that he didn't slam anything down, the glass happened to hit one of your plates as he was placing it on your table, because you were seated at our smallest table and there was not much room because of the food and drinks that had already been served... that being said, i apologize on behalf of the staff member if he did not apologize for the glass hitting your plate.

I completely understand your frustration, (and as such I gave you a discount on your meal), however please understand that it was a combination of factors that led to your dissatisfaction, and we really do pride ourselves in offering truly great service... and I believe that in general you would agree, because you came back twice after your first visit.

Again, thank you for the review, and for giving us a chance to improve our service in the future with your criticism.

Safe travels,
Pura Vida!
Buki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

This is a quaint little place, so unsuspecting. We were just looking for a light lunch and shared the sesame chicken sandwich. The flavor was bold and delicious. It was just perfect! We were in and out in about 30 minutes. Looking at other patrons meals around us, everything looked amazing!!

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Jekela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buki-CR, Owner at La Bodega, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Hi Jekela,
Thank you so much for the amazing review!
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your visit, and we hope to see you again soon!
Pura Vida,
Buki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Outstanding coffee, food and service! So fun sitting on their front deck. One time my husband's credit card got stuck in his zippered short's pocket. Three staff members helped and laughed with us through this interesting endeavor. One cute woman was trying to get us to go to the tailor next door so that we could retrieve it without cutting his shorts. Enjoyed watching the occasional iguana on the rooftop.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 616jen68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buki-CR, Owner at La Bodega, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Hi 616jen68,
Thank you for the excellent review!
We totally remember you from the 'zipper incident', it's things like that which makes our every day extra interesting and fun :) We truly do love what we do and it's just an added bonus when we can try to help someone too!
We hope you were able to sew up that pocket later, cuz those were some really nice shorts! :)
We hope to see you again soon,
Pura Vida!
Buki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

This place is great. Super good coffee and food, an awesome patio on which to eat, and super friendly.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank nickgieschen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buki-CR, Owner at La Bodega, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Hi nickgieschen,
Thank you for the review!
We are really happy to hear you enjoyed your visit, and we hope to see you again soon!
Pura Vida!
Buki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Bodega also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to La Bodega? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing