We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation in Tamarindo, Costa Rica.”
Review of Hotel Nahua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Nahua
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2017

Had our family visit us from the UK and wanted them to see the beautiful Pacific Coast in Tamarindo, Costa Rica.. We stayed at the Hotel Nahua that is a little off the main track but only 1/4 mile from all the shops and restaurants..The Hotel is so clean and well kept with great surroundings and all the relaxing areas you need, pool, gazeebo, monkeys, etc., to make your stay a pleasant one, this Hotel also includes a great manager Gabriela and her staff who will go out of their way to make your visit in Tamarindo a memorable one.. Tamarindo is a great small beach town, well organized and maintained with a wide selection of great restaurants, bars and shops along with a beautiful beach area to see the wonderful surf ...

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool area, sleeps four, is the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelnahua, Owner at Hotel Nahua, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

It's all ways nice to have you here
Gabriela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2017

Stayed at Nahua for 8 days. Great location, close to everything including the beach. Gabriella and her staff are very friendly and helpful. Weren't really happy with our first room and she upgraded us foc. Our new room was sunny and bright, kitchen included which was great and the 'master bedroom' separated by a wall and stairs from the main room. Our little patio was wonderful, very private but we could still keep in touch with the activity on the street, including the "Tope" horse parade, music and watching the howler monkeys cross the street on their 'suspension bridge'. Quite a sight! The grounds are constantly maintained and the pool is perfect for early morning and late afternoon laps. Make sure to check with the staff when you arrive as they can give you lots of useful information and visit the Bodega right next door. Also made friends with 'the cat' who adopted us for our stay and even came down at 3:00 a.m. to say goodbye to us :) All in all our stay was really enjoyable and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Skipper2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Nahua T, reception at Hotel Nahua, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

Thank you so much for your stay here with us Mr. Fraser! We really apreciate your comentary. We were glad to upgrade the room, it is the most important that you were satisfied. And the monkeys and the cat are still happy around. If you could in the future, come to visit us again. Many regards from all Hotel Nahua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Rented the apartment there , amazing place worked with nature in its structure. Has an Outdoor garden pool, howling monkeys in the morning, cows walking down the street at night, a cat and a very quiet, peaceful atmosphere. Also has wonderful staff! Very close walk to tamarindo's main road/all amenities, Would love to stay again!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank pelodorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Nahua T, reception at Hotel Nahua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2017

Hello! Thank you very much for your comentary, we are so glad that you loved it here, that means all for us. Greetings from all Hotel Nahua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We were new to C R and had a lot of questions before and during our trip; staff at Nahua were attentive and prompt in looking after all our enquiries - they also arranged our airport pickup and transfer to Monteverde. I appreciated all staff including Lucy, Gabriela and the cleaning crew. One reviewer mentioned free breakfast - it isn't free but is discounted at the very good bakery located out front. Nice people there as well. Others had mentioned club noise, but i only heard thumping on one night. We stayed in one of the newer apartments and found it very good soundwise with no bleed-through noise from adjoining rooms. The paddle fan and air-con were quick and quiet as well. In fact we found the complex in general a quiet oasis, conveniently located on Tamarindo's southern edge. There were plenty of dining options nearby, the beach was close and could be accessed by a few different routes. At the corner was a small convenience store (2001) that provided all we needed and was one of the few in town. There was also a saturday craft and food market on the same street (first left) and it wasn't until I visited it that I realized I could access the beach and a good bar/restaurant at Tamarindo's less visited south end, right behind the market space. Just turn left from Nahua, past the mini mart and cross to the other side, accessed by a lane between market and a camping spot. Another short cut to the beach, if you want to avoid the busy main street, is just after the corner bar (opposite the yoga studio). This lane takes you to a roundabout at a road end with shops, bars and restaurants and the beach. Saw howler monkeys there at dusk (as well as at Nahua on about 3 mornings at first light). As far as ATM's go there is a big bank complex just a little further up the street from Nahua and at a plaza just a bit into town - the plaza bank has a machine that dispenses US or colonnes and the US buck seems to go a lot further than canadian dollars converted into colonnes. Back to Nahua, it was a quiet complex and we had the pool area to ourselves on most occasions. We didn't have a problem with mosquitoes, the only noticeable insects being ants. I am an avid birder, one of the reasons we went to Costa Rica. In retrospect some of my best birding was at the pool where eventually the birds flew into the varied canopy surrounding the complex or came to the pool for a drink. This included a beautiful, colourful trogon. Most common were the resident family of magpie jays, the rufous-naped wrens (that clean the gutters) and the colurful kiskadees that have a big nest on the hydro transformer across the street. All these birds are real characters. For me the highlight was the dusk migration of hundreds of scissor-tailed flycatchers divebombing there way back to the mangroves to roost for the night. Other creatures at the complex were the (first light) howler monkeys that use a net bridge to cross the street, chasing the red squirrels enroute and a black iguana who likes munching the red hibiscus flowers by the pool. My only caveat about the room would be the louvered bathroom door looks nice, but isn't great for privacy, but that's minor. We had a really enjoyable time at Nahua and Tamarindo.

Room Tip: we were glad to have ground floor apartment for the week. Private, behind a large tree, quick access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fisher_eye_lens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Nahua T, reception at Hotel Nahua, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2017

Good morning Mr. Fisher, thank you so much for your long and nice comentary. We really apreciate that! We are so glad that you like it here and around and hope to see you again soon! Thank you again! Many greeting from Hotel Nahua and all staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We booked fairly last-minute and stayed for one night in January. Looking back we were lucky because it was during high season and the Nahua was booked solid in the days after - to the extent that the 11:00am checkout had to be strict.

Wife was happy with the room - this is the most important test! Room was not too big but clean and with separate closet, bathroom with shower, safe, and small refrigerator.

The staff were friendly and the recommendation to eat at Patagonia Grill (see separate review) was spot on.

Only negative was the nightclub nearby which we could hear late into the night but it's only a slight negative since one does not really expect peace and quiet in Tamarindo. On the other hand, we didn't hear any howler monkeys either.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lostinhollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Nahua T, Reception at Hotel Nahua, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Thank you so much for your comment! We are glad that you enjoyed the night with us even it was only one.
And yes, check-out is strict, in high season it is difficult for us to clean all room, because check-in is at 1 o'clock in the afternoon. We try to do our best to not disturb you, but we need time also for the cleaning.
The nightclubs is our problem since a long time, we hope that in the future they allowed the music only till 10 pm, it is a long proccess.
It is a pity that you could not see or hear the monkeys, but it means maybe one day you come back in Tamarindo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.9 km away
Best Western Tamarindo Vista Villas
0.1 km away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#6 of 24 in Tamarindo
562 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 24 in Tamarindo
2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
0.1 km away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
8.2 km away
Seis Playas Hotel
Seis Playas Hotel
#1 of 1 in Huacas
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nahua? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nahua

Address: Calle Guanacaste | 125 Meters North of the Langosta Beach Crossing... From Hotel Pasatiempo, Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Tamarindo
Price Range: ₹ 3,973 - ₹ 6,838 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nahua 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments and hotel rooms around a lush garden with swimming pool, BBQ area and lazy corner. Only minutes from Tamarindo's beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Nahua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nahua Hotel Tamarindo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing