We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
19
18
13
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
18
13
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free breakfast rooms are clean nice pool howler monkeys pura vida witch pharmacy sleep surfing bugs beach
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

The rooms are very clean. The beds are comfortable and the stuff is nice. The pool is also really nice. The best thing is, that the included breakfast is in the witch’s rock restaurant. The breakfast is so good there and your view is the ocean.
Nice hotel ☀️

Stayed: February 2018
Thank DanaIpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

We came here as a group of friends and where so happy with the stay, the dude at the front desk is amazing ... the breakfast is huge and can get you through to dinns, there's bikes you can use for free, and the beach and town is right there !

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Kirby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

As a solo female traveler I had no hesitation booking Pueblo Dorado Hotel because I had stayed at their sister hotel, Witch’s Rock in the past. Here’s the deal, if you’re looking for a quieter, quaint and attentive staff hotel that gives you more than you pay for...this is your place.

Let’s start with the front desk. Marciano is the bomb. This guy is amazing, knows you by name and when you see him in town greets you by name. Seriously, you don’t get that type of customer service in the states at this price.

The rooms are ridiculously clean- all day, everyday. The staff really cleans up after you (and your days of sand filled swimsuits after surfing).

I’ve read some negative reviews and here’s what I have to say. Bring the following: shampoo and conditioner. Soap if you don’t want to use what they give you and lotion. It’s minimally supplied and that’s why you pay what you pay. There is a pharmacy a stone’s throw away if you need anything or just don’t care to pack it.

Also, as a 40 year old who needs sleep- bring earplugs. In town it’s traffic, etc. Here it’s crazy bugs and howler monkeys. Cute but if you need sleep, bring earplugs.

Oh, and their AC units WORK! You will never go hot at Pueblo Dorado.

Final notes- clean pool, off the beaten path but by no means a walk, as a single female, I ever felt uncomfortable making.

I can’t wait to return!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
3  Thank CarieLeighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

We just spent a week in this hotel. If you're looking for a quiet beautiful place, surrounded by nature, out of the "city" fuss but close to the surf, then this is the perfect place for you. It is not fency and new but that's the beauty of it. The building is beautiful and well-maintained, the surounding is beautiful as well, the staff is awsome (no words to describe Mariano and the assistance he gave us with all we needed), the coffee is great, as well as the wi-fi and small common kitchen and the rooms are clean. After taking a walk all across Tamarindo, we realized we chose the best place for us in town. Thanks

Room Tip: During busy time, I guess the rooms in the upper floor will be more quiet since far from the pool.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and it was great! The room had wifi and air conditioning with a safe. The free breakfast was a short walk away at Eat at Joe's. It was a nice place a bit down the road so you're not in the busy area of tamarindo. Mariano, the front desk clerk, is super cool! We ran in to him on the beach and chatted for half an hour the next day on his day off, and he is truly a wonderful example of the awesome kind of folk you will meet in Tamarindo. I'd stay here again!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mckenzie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews