We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Place with Awesome Friends!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mamiri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mamiri
Ranked #23 of 49 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awesome Place with Awesome Friends!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2010

I have been to Costa Rica several times and Tamarindo was by far my favorite town. I did some searching and found Mamiri highly recommended so I thought I would give it a try. I'm glad I did. The guys that run the place are awesome laid back surfer types that are very easy to get along with and we instantly clicked. The hotel also has a large common area with grill that encourages guests to meet an interact (similar to a hostel) which made meeting people fun and less awkward then I'm used to.

I stayed a month and I'm planning on coming back for a few more later in the year. 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plaboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    53
    9
    11
    8
See reviews for
17
93
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

Stayed here with friends for the New Year, therefore the (relatively) expensive rates they charge ($120/night for appartment sleeping 5). The hotel has a lot of potential (it was apparently much nicer with the previous owner). However, now the rooms are dusty, very basic service (had to ask for towels, toilet paper, to clean the room, etc...) The staff was friendly when talking to them, but not proactive (i.e. a hotel should provide you with towels from the beginning, not wait until you ask them for!). It's ok maybe at $50 a night, but not worth more. The adjacent restaurant (separate from the hotel) was pretty good though, great breakfasts. I'm sure there are better value hotels in Tamarindo!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ocp100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMamiriTamarindo, Propietario at Hotel Mamiri, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
We regret that your stay at the hotel has not been pleasant.
We are a new administration, we started working the hotel in July 2011.
We are a family who run it and We are focused toward a calm and familiar audience.
We want our guests to feel at home. Breakfast time is a good moment to meet other guests and arrange tours
We hope to see you some day and be able to give you a new opportunity to have a lovely holiday in Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

We booked this after reading positive reviews here on Tripadvisor and because it had a nice write up in the Lonely Planet. I have to say that all of those comments are woefully out of date. The restaurant next door which was also recommended has changed hands and I suspect the hotel has too. There was a vile smell of raw sewage that apparently overflowed from the restaurant every single day. No one was able to help when our lights didnt work. The bed was uncomfortable and the curtains in adequate (e.g. no privacy) and there were mosquitoes everywhere. We immediately found another hotel and left. I would urge you to avoid this place as there are far nicer accommodations in Tamarindo.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nono-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMamiriTamarindo, Propietario at Hotel Mamiri, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
We regret that your stay at the hotel has not been pleasant.
We are a new administration, we started working the hotel in July 2011.
We are a family who run it and are focused toward a calm and familiar audience.
We want our guests to feel at home.
We hope to see you some day and be able to give you a new opportunity to have a lovely holiday in Costa Rica!
Best Regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2009

I chose Mamiri because of the good reviews and the cheap price, and was definitely not disappointed. The owners were really nice and the place was clean.

I stayed a month in a single room (they also have dorms and doublerooms) with a small fridge, my own bathroom with hot water and a small desk. Perfect for studying. There is a kitchen that you share, a couch and a TV, a computer and free wireless internet. And there are always people playing guitar by the tables outside, so if you`re feeling lonely people are right outside your door.

Six thumbs up.

Pura vida!

Magdi (Norway)

  • Liked — Nice location, friendly staff, clean and inexpensive
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TuanisPuraVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2009

Very nice budget hotel in Tamarindo.
We had a private double bedroom, which was very nice and clean. The owners are friendly and helpfull.
The hostel offers free coffee.
The restaruant next to the hotel is recommended.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M0sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.5 km away
El Mono Loco
El Mono Loco
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Mahayana
Hotel Mahayana
#13 of 49 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
7.7 km away
Hacienda JJ
Hacienda JJ
#3 of 49 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Flores
Hotel Flores
#15 of 49 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.1 km away
In the Shade
In the Shade
#16 of 49 in Tamarindo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Luamey
Hotel Luamey
#6 of 49 in Tamarindo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mamiri? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mamiri

Property: Hotel Mamiri
Address: Mts Este Tower Pacific Park 150 | Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,601 - ₹ 8,446
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mamiri 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Rica`s North Pacific Coast, Hotel Mamiri in Tamarindo Beach offers comfortable accomodations, in private rooms and apartments. A quiet escape in harmony with nature. Just 300 mts. From the white sands this warm hotel in Tamarindo, Costa Rica, with helpful and friendly staff prides itself on making your vacations as enjoyable and pleasant as possible.Hotel Amenities:Cable TV - A/C & Ceiling fan - Wireless internet & PC - Free breakfast - Safety box - Hot Water - Kitchen FacilitiesA short walk down the beach will take you to the town of Tamarindo where you may wish to enjoy lunch or dinner at one of the many outstanding restaurantsWe can provide sailing tours from our family sail boat and arrange surf classes or rent boards for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mamiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing