We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place with Awesome Friends!”
Review of Hotel Mamiri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mamiri
Ranked #32 of 51 Tamarindo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 January 2010

I have been to Costa Rica several times and Tamarindo was by far my favorite town. I did some searching and found Mamiri highly recommended so I thought I would give it a try. I'm glad I did. The guys that run the place are awesome laid back surfer types that are very easy to get along with and we instantly clicked. The hotel also has a large common area with grill that encourages guests to meet an interact (similar to a hostel) which made meeting people fun and less awkward then I'm used to.

I stayed a month and I'm planning on coming back for a few more later in the year. 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plaboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 103 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2010

Stayed here with friends for the New Year, therefore the (relatively) expensive rates they charge ($120/night for appartment sleeping 5). The hotel has a lot of potential (it was apparently much nicer with the previous owner). However, now the rooms are dusty, very basic service (had to ask for towels, toilet paper, to clean the room, etc...) The staff was friendly when talking to them, but not proactive (i.e. a hotel should provide you with towels from the beginning, not wait until you ask them for!). It's ok maybe at $50 a night, but not worth more. The adjacent restaurant (separate from the hotel) was pretty good though, great breakfasts. I'm sure there are better value hotels in Tamarindo!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ocp100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMamiriTamarindo, Propietario at Hotel Mamiri, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

We regret that your stay at the hotel has not been pleasant.
We are a new administration, we started working the hotel in July 2011.
We are a family who run it and We are focused toward a calm and familiar audience.
We want our guests to feel at home. Breakfast time is a good moment to meet other guests and arrange tours
We hope to see you some day and be able to give you a new opportunity to have a lovely holiday in Costa Rica!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We booked this after reading positive reviews here on Tripadvisor and because it had a nice write up in the Lonely Planet. I have to say that all of those comments are woefully out of date. The restaurant next door which was also recommended has changed hands and I suspect the hotel has too. There was a vile smell of raw sewage that apparently overflowed from the restaurant every single day. No one was able to help when our lights didnt work. The bed was uncomfortable and the curtains in adequate (e.g. no privacy) and there were mosquitoes everywhere. We immediately found another hotel and left. I would urge you to avoid this place as there are far nicer accommodations in Tamarindo.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nono-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMamiriTamarindo, Propietario at Hotel Mamiri, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

We regret that your stay at the hotel has not been pleasant.
We are a new administration, we started working the hotel in July 2011.
We are a family who run it and are focused toward a calm and familiar audience.
We want our guests to feel at home.
We hope to see you some day and be able to give you a new opportunity to have a lovely holiday in Costa Rica!
Best Regards!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

I chose Mamiri because of the good reviews and the cheap price, and was definitely not disappointed. The owners were really nice and the place was clean.

I stayed a month in a single room (they also have dorms and doublerooms) with a small fridge, my own bathroom with hot water and a small desk. Perfect for studying. There is a kitchen that you share, a couch and a TV, a computer and free wireless internet. And there are always people playing guitar by the tables outside, so if you`re feeling lonely people are right outside your door.

Six thumbs up.

Pura vida!

Magdi (Norway)

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TuanisPuraVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Very nice budget hotel in Tamarindo.
We had a private double bedroom, which was very nice and clean. The owners are friendly and helpfull.
The hostel offers free coffee.
The restaruant next to the hotel is recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M0sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tamarindo hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Nahua
Hotel Nahua
#18 of 24 in Tamarindo
181 reviews
1.3 km away
Pueblo Dorado Surf Hotel
Pueblo Dorado Surf Hotel
#20 of 24 in Tamarindo
46 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel La Laguna del cocodrilo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Hotel Arco Iris
Hotel Arco Iris
#6 of 24 in Tamarindo
581 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Mahayana
Hotel Mahayana
#17 of 51 in Tamarindo
179 reviews
0 km away
Las Avellanas Villas
Las Avellanas Villas
#6 of 6 in Playa Avellanas
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mamiri? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mamiri

Address: Mts Este Tower Pacific Park 150 | Playa Tamarindo, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Tamarindo
Price Range: ₹ 3,694 - ₹ 11,471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mamiri 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Rica`s North Pacific Coast, Hotel Mamiri in Tamarindo Beach offers comfortable accomodations, in private rooms and apartments. A quiet escape in harmony with nature. Just 300 mts. From the white sands this warm hotel in Tamarindo, Costa Rica, with helpful and friendly staff prides itself on making your vacations as enjoyable and pleasant as possible.Hotel Amenities:Cable TV - A/C & Ceiling fan - Wireless internet & PC - Free breakfast - Safety box - Hot Water - Kitchen FacilitiesA short walk down the beach will take you to the town of Tamarindo where you may wish to enjoy lunch or dinner at one of the many outstanding restaurantsWe can provide sailing tours from our family sail boat and arrange surf classes or rent boards for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Mamiri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing