We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
141
29
10
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
29
10
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor kitchencentral courtyardprivate entranceair conditioningan extra nighthot waterfive minute walk to the beachquiet at nightdefinitely stay here againper nightthe main dragpanshostelnecessitiesparadise
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2015

A great place, off the beaten path. Quiet, clean and friendly! Stayed for nearly a week. Inexpensive laundry service, pleasant host, communal outdoor kitchen. Overall a fun experience. The only thing that got to me was the spotty wifi - while free, it sometimes didn't work or was very poor signal.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qidara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2015 via mobile

I was lucky enough to find Hotel Mahayana before starting my trip to Costa Rica and to Tamarindo! From the very first mail Carine, the owner, was greatly helpfull. She even organized the very efficient shuttle service to collect me from the airport and bring me to her Hotel. The rooms are great. 6 rooms with a bathroom each, full aircon, fans, small fridge, TV and good WIFI. The bathrooms are large and tastefully done. What I like about the rooms most is the high ceilings. This means that even on the hotest days, the rooms stay cool. The small swimming pool in the central courtyard is a great relief in the hot afternoons. The communial kitchen is perfect for people like me who stay for long and want to cook their own meals. Rooms and the kitchen and outside are cleaned every day and the whole place is very neat. The hotel is also just far enough away from the main road to not be bombarded with the noise that comes out of the bars and clubs every night. From the hotel, the eating places and shops, including a nice little supermarket, is only 3 minutes walk and it is only 5 minutes walk to the main beach.
The Hotel has a very friendly "family" feeling to it and I would recomend anyone to come and stay here! Thank you so much for the great service Carine.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
Thank Santone L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahayana T, Propriétaire at Hotel Mahayana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2015

Thank you for your sympathy, and shared coffees. I have some fish which waits for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2015 via mobile

Friendly, welcoming atmosphere in a beautiful location. Clean rooms opening onto communal area complete with pool/hammocks to cool off or simply ponder the day away. The owner, Cecile, was extremely helpful and helped make my first trip to Costa Rica a truely enjoyable experience.

Thank you Cecile!

À bientôt

Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
Thank DublinManDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2015 via mobile

Located about 5 minutes walk from the beach, this small hotel is very clean and comfortable. The owner of the place Cecile, is really nice and helpful. This is definitely a place I would recommend in Tamarindo, probably one of the best hotel we got in Costa Rica for that price.

Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2015

I'll definetely recommend this place to stay at. It is really clean, bedrooms are quite small but therefore not that expensive compared to many other places in Tamarindo. Cecile, the owner, is very friendly and helpful with all questions to ask. Furthermore, we could experience wildlife just outside our room as there were some howler monkeys in trees opposite the hotel. I'd certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews