We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay!”

Review of Balcones, #8

Photo 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Photo 1
Photo 2 Photo 3
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Photo 1
Photo 2
Photo 3
Photo 4
Photo 5
Photo 6
Photo 7
Photo 8
Photo 9
Photo 10
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CanadaAda...
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“OK But Not Great”
Reviewed 11 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We are going to give an honest review of this condo so any future renters have an idea of what to expect. This was our first trip to Costa Rica and think we made an OK choice in choosing Tamarindo as our first visit. This is a small complex made up of only 21 units which is nice. There is a mixture of owners and renters. All the pictures and items offered in the condo where accurate. They only thing they don't tell you is this is a corner unit which has the hot sun all day and the only way to cool it down is leaving the air conditioning running almost all the time. We could feel the heat radiating off the walls that's how hot this unit gets. Also being a corner suite the bedrooms are on the side of the road with the security guy right below your window slamming the gate all night long along with other guests. In the reviews other guests stated it was quiet, which could be when the units aren't full but we heard loud discos music all night and into the early morning with the windows closed.
Another things that needs attention is the shower heads you could hardly even wash your hair there was no water flow or pressure. We did call down to the manager and they attempted to fix it. Which brings me to the water issue!!! Never in all the reviews did anyone mention that the water could be turned off for periods of time. We had two days that the water had been turned off for many hours one day 9 hours total.We are well traveled and I realize we are in a country which could have issues but I think if you are at least notified this could happen one would be prepared. Also I kind of take offence to a water ration when the maintenance/pool man is watering plants and flowers all day! Hmm
We need to mention the bed also; unless you like a very very hard bed it was difficult for us to sleep. Both of us needed to see a chiropractor when we got home. There's hard and then there's hard!
As for being close to the beach this complex certainly is and the grocery stores and restaurants are all in walking distance. Would be nice to have access to beach chairs but these condos are large and spacious with a nice balcony to have your morning coffee before it's too hot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seeing the wildlife
Liked least: The Beds
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport beach
Reviewed 31 August 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
prettyinp...
Hollsopple, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Vacation. EVER!”
Reviewed 26 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

As a lover of tropical places, Costa Rica has been my favorite thus far. It wasn’t any one thing, it was everything together. Ryan's condo was an awesome diversion from the sheltered atmosphere of a hotel and allowed us really enjoy Tamarindo. It is a quaint little town with a nice beach and delicious food. We never bothered to go grocery shopping because the restaurants were too tempting - and lived up to our expectations. The blender did see plenty of action though!
Now the property - the pictures posted are right on. The kitchen is well equipped with anything you'd need - pitcher, silverware, casserole dishes, dish towels, washer for clothes, etc. The property management company does well to keep things neat and in good condition, plus there is a mid-stay cleaning to refresh towels and bed linens. Balcones del Pacfifico #8 was a really, really great accommodation for us.
We wanted to do the zip lining and adventure stuff so we booked the Buena Vista Lodge trip through the local group Tamarindo Shuttles. Our guide, Rodolfo, had strategized the day tour so perfectly; our experience was like our own private experience despite 300 other people on site enjoying the same activities. I did some pricing and they were the cheapest place around for that trip, and they offered plenty of others. They were also our return shuttle provider at $20 per person ow for airport transportation. I recommend booking this yourself through their website. (The property management office booked us a private transfer for $40 ow pp which was a little too pricey.)
My interaction with Ryan, the owner, was always pleasant. He was very responsive through email, answering any questions I had, which made the decision to rent from him a comfortable one. The property management company was also very responsive via email, as I worked with Daniela to coordinate everything and ask any additional questions.
We were a party of 2 females, mid-20s. Overall, I can’t say enough great things about Tamarindo, Costa Rica, the atmosphere, and Ryan's condo that really allowed us to enjoy the true vibe of vacacion! GREAT experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the condo isnt right on the beach, but the short 100 yard walk is actually very nice
Liked least: no dishwasher, but we rarely ate at the condo anyway! and this is the ONLY thing i could think of :)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayacastle...
Orotina, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic value - a hidden gem.”
Reviewed 29 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011

This review relates to condo number 8 only. There are other flats with different decor and equipment. No 8 has a very good kitchen, all the equipment is of top quality and works! The rooms are comfortable and very nicely decorated, the A/C works well. The condo has a good pool and although it doesn't have sea views it is a genuine 100 yards to the main beachfront and all the restaurants and bars while avoiding the noise etc. There is a good supermarket 50 yards away and AutoMercado (Costa Rica's Waitrose) is 2 km away. 24 hour security. We paid $75 per night low season - sleeping 5. An absolute bargain and it didn't feel "cheap", but quality accomodation at a realistic price!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Reviewed 18 September 2009 for a stay in August 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No balcony chairs
Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing