We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,308)
Filter reviews
1,308 results
Traveller rating
1,032
195
56
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,032
195
56
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool bedroom villa sunset cocktails complimentary sunset howler monkeys free cocktail three bedroom costa rica main pool free bikes cocktail hour rocky beach minute walk tide pools volcanic rock welcome drink bottle of champagne
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,308 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2018

We got help in booking our Costa Rica vacation with a local travel agent and I'm happy we did otherwise we may never have found this hotel - one of two real quality boutique hotels we stayed in. Everything was just great from staff help, the facilities - pool, bar, breakfast, housekeeping, Yoga in the mornings, and sunset drinks at the beach . Tamarindo is close by, but a little way out of the center offering some seclusion from the town itself (which is busy and thrives on a surfing culture). You can easily get around taxi $5 each way, Cala Luna has a small number of bikes, which are OK but remember it is very hot and humid. We ended up renting a golf cart.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Cala Luna was a lovely surprise as an agent had booked for us. We had a lovely spacious two bedroom villa with its own private pool. Set in luscious gardens with Howler monkeys and Costa Rican raccoons wandering around happily! Staff were both attentive but discreet and were very helpful when we needed to contact local agents to change accommodation for the next leg of our trip. All the food was delicious & Cala Luna being only a shortish ( 15 mins) from the centre of Tamarindo was the perfect location for us. Plenty to do - we surfed, took kayaks out, rode horses on the beach and used the hotels free bikes. The complimentary cocktails on the hotels beach each evening a nice touch. A wonderful stay in a hotel that works with its environment in harmony!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

We trays in that Hotel for 5 days all i plans in USA and i talk over email with Dixie Segura Alfaro from the Reservation and she take wonderful take care on me my wife and Shanelle . We got a very nice Suite all was very great stuff supper friendly and so only thing they have to work more on the morning Buffet but we know for sure we coming back to u guys !!!
Thanks for all

Sashy Stephie and a big French Kiss from Shanelle

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

We got help in booking our Costa Rica vacation and I'm pleased we did otherwise we may never have found or chosen this gem - one of two real quality boutique hotels we stayed (from 6) on our travels.
Everything was just great from staff help, the villa, the facilities - pool, bar, breakfast, housekeeping (best towel art for sure).
Cala Luna is close to, but a little way out of Tamarindo offering some seclusion from the town itself (which is busy and thrives on a surfing culture). You can easily get around taxi $5 each way, Cala Luna has a small number of bikes.. which are OK or you can walk along the beach (30min to Tamarindo, round the headland at low tide).
My recommendation.. if you want a beach walk, when you get to the Cala Luna beach from the hotel - turn left. Quiet unspoilt it stretches down to the next estuary (which, with care you can cross at low tide and keep going....). That spot also throws up some good waves for surfing (I imagine for more experienced surfers). Oh.. and the sunsets.. oh and the complimentary sunset cocktail...
One more tip, whilst the resturant in the hotel is very good - if you are a "foodie" take a 5 minute walk to Fish and Cheese (which I'll review separately) - superb food (check whether they are open they are not open every day).
Our spacious villa, with its own pool made for a really relaxing stay to finish our vacation. Fabulous.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

My husband and I loved this resort! For our honeymoon destination, we could have not picked a better place to stay in Tamarindo. Since Cala Luna is right next to the Langosta beach, we were able to experience the breath taking beach weather and scenery. The entire staff were all amazing and the food was delicious. We highly recommend this place to anyone that would like to relax in a beach setting and experience the wild live.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank kallyfi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews