We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,296)
Filter reviews
1,296 results
Traveller rating
1,024
192
55
15
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,024
192
55
15
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolbedroom villasunset cocktailscomplimentary sunsethowler monkeysfree cocktailthree bedroomcosta ricamain poolcocktail hourfree bikesrocky beachminute walkvolcanic rocktide poolswelcome drinkwatch the sunset
Filter
Updating list...
599 - 604 of 1,296 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2016

Had a wonderful romantic getaway to the Cala Luna resort back before Thanksgiving. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating and the food was fantastic! We saw monkeys everyday down by the pool and was in very close proximity to the beach. This resort is a little off the beaten path, so would recommend either renting a car or taking advantage of the front desk to help order taxis to get around. The road leading up to the hotel tends to get muddy and difficult to navigate when it rains so harder to walk or travel by bike. I would definitely recommend this resort to others!

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank knowlesmela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
federico p, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

Dear knowlesmela
We thanking you for taking part of your time to share this nice review
We are happy to know about this romantic experience you lives at cala Luna.
All the complements you need to pass a great vacations is write here.
Watching to the monkey ones you are swimming in the pool or seating for lunch, is something you will always keep in your memories
Ones again we thank you for this comment.
Will be great to see you soon.
Follow in Facebook calalunaluxuryhotel or contacts sales@calaluna.com
for repeat guest deal.
Miriam Morales
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

We booked our trip through Costa Rican Vacations and they booked us at this amazing hotel. Since the moment we arrived the service was excellent. They received us with a nice refreshing drink and very polite. Our rooms were very comfortable and private. They had a special drink every night to enjoy the sunset with and all waiters were very friendly. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
federico p, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2016

Dear Patty G
We thanking you for this nice review
you makes our day.
The experience you lives at Cala Luna staying at the villa in the comfortable rooms with your private pool, going to the beach for a nice cocktail and watching the amazing sunset, sharing with us Is a good reason to come back and visit us one your next trip to Tamarindo.
Ones again thank for this review.
We invite you to follow us in Facebook calalunaluxuryhotel or contact sales@calaluna.com for repeat guest deals.
Miriam Morales
Guest Service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016 via mobile

Spent the last 5 days of a 2 week trip to Costa Rica at this very quiet and cosy hotel. About a 15-20 minute walk to the heart of
Tamarindo or a short bike ride, which they have available for use. The beach is just a short stroll through the jungle, not for swimming, but beautiful sunsets and free cocktails daily from 5pm. Swimming beaches 15-20 minutes in either direction. Best would be Tamarindo, which has a long stretch of beautiful sandy swimming spots, depending on tides of course. Grounds of hotel are amazing, lush tropical gardens, monkeys swinging through the trees. Pool area is very nice, could use a few more loungers. Some people seemed to place their towels and stuff early and then disappear, especially the two cabana areas. Ended up hanging close to the bar area most times, which had it's own advantages. Staff where really great, front desk people exceptional. We speak very limited Spanish and had no real issues. Loved our room, super clean, spacious and everything worked. King sized bed very comfy. Wifi worked pretty much everywhere on the property. Ate at the restaurant a few times as it was right there. Not a huge menu but for the most part everything was delicious. ( Mediterranean chicken was tough, not sure what part of the chicken it was.) Seafood was always good. Trout was quite amazing, Sea bass always nice. The included breakfast was the best of any place we stayed. French press coffee, eggs cooked to order, fresh juice, fruit and bacon. Had burgers for lunch, seemed a little undercooked, but tasty and no ill effects. Staff were somewhat puzzled when we asked for one burger without the bun due to a gluten intolerance, could have been our very poor attempt at Spanish, but was not a big deal, lots of gluten free options. Live music at dinner was nice, we lay on the loungers by the pool afterwards, enjoying the amazing stars and listening to the mellow tunes. If you're want to be near Tamarindo but not right on the strip, this place was perfect. Can't really comment on value for price because our trip was packaged with tours, multiple destinations and transportation, but from my limited experience with Costa Rica, things are pricey. You could find cheaper accomodation, but I doubt you'll find too many that are better.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Softball_nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
federico p, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2016

Dear Softball_nut
We thanking you for taking part of your time to share this review
You makes our day.
This nice adventure you and your family lives at calalulna is something you will always keep in your mine.
The combination between the nature and all what it offer, the great service location and good atmosphere, will invite you to visit us one your next trip.
Ones again thank you for this review.
Follow us in Facebook calalunaluxuryhotel or contact sales@calaluna.com for repeat guest deals.
Miriam Morales
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016

We had a wonderful 4 day weekend at Cala Luna. The staff was incredibly welcoming and helpful. The staff and chef at the restaurant were great. We brought home fresh catch and the chef prepared it for us perfectly! The front desk cheerfully arranged a couple of outings for us. Everything, including our villa, was perfect. Can't wait to return.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
federico p, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2016

Dear skraham
We thanking you for tacking part of your valuable time to share this nice review
You makes our day.
Our executive Italian chef prepared all the different type off dishes with fresh organics products from the area.
At the weekend he prepares a special tasting menu with different option is unique in the town.
The good atmosphere you experience at Cala Luna invites you and your family to comeback.
Ones again thank you for this review,
Follow us in Facebook calalulna luxury hotels or contacts sales@calaluna.com for repeat guest deal.
Miriam Morales
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Cala Luna was our first place we stayed in Costa Rica - and the best. We were totally amazed by all the many details, the very friendly staff and the peaceful atmosphere. The dinner at Griet's house is an absolut highlight. Worth every dollar.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kuhniris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
federico p, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2016

Dear kuhniris
We thanking you for taking part off your time to share this review
Is nice to know about the adventure you lives at cala Luna
enjoying all the beauty off the nature and sharing with us is something you have to talk about
The experience going to the labyrinths and tasting the nice dinner prepared with fresh herbs and organics products grown in the our farms will be part of your great memories.
Ones again we thanking you for this review.
Will be nice to see you and your family soon.
Follow us in Facebook calalunaluxuryhotel or contact sales@calaluna.com for best repeat guest deals.
Miriam Morales
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews