We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
270
61
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
61
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews howler monkeys in town the owner costa rica samara beach each morning watch the sunset pollo pura vida an oasis breakfast was included short drive fruit platter cody shelly balcony jungle
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2017

We recently went to Costa Rica for a friends wedding and the whole bridal party stayed at Lodge Las Ranas. For our first experience outside of North America, this place was AMAZING! The lodgings are very clean and well kept, the pool is clean and so refreshing in the heat and the food served for breakfast was delicious!

Shelly and her team at the hotel are amazing people! They were so welcoming and friendly and Shelly especially made us feel right at home. The hot breakfast was delicious (did I say that already) and the freedom she gave to lounge around and do whatever we wanted to while being respectful of her home made it feel like being at mom's house for the week.

Both me and my husband would strongly recommend staying at Lodge Las Ranas if you're in the Samara area. Aside from the ridiculously steep hill to get up to the hotel (which, just so everyone knows, is totally passable in a car but i might not try to walk up it lol) this place was amazing. I cannot say enough wonderful things about Shelly, Kika, Brian and the whole crew at the hotel.

For being in the jungle especially, but honestly just in general too, this location was amazing! I would definitely go back to this hotel and would be so happy to see the team there again.

Room Tip: Wonderful views, room 5 definitely has the best, rooms 9/10 are away from the pool and other activity.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Definitely off the beaten path, but a nice restaurant in a tranquil setting. We stopped for breakfast and had the restaurant to ourselves. The menu was simple, a bit on the pricey side - 3,500 colones for gallo pinto. All in all it was a good meal, the fruit plate was large, the pancake fluffy, the veggies fresh.

Beware, no credit cards accepted!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank 303Shan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

My daughter just got married in Samara and the entire wedding party stayed at Los Ranas. The wedding reception was there as well. Shelly the owner went above and beyond with all her help in organizing and being available for anything to make it go smoothly, which it did. The reception was beautiful and the wedding week was very memorable for all who stayed there. Many thanks to Shelly for making our daughter and son in laws dream wedding come true.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lorraine979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

I was blessed to be the first to have a wedding hosted by the people at lodge Las Ranas..

I honestly don’t have the words to capture how perfect the day was. The venue, the staff specifically the owner Shelly, who literally went out of her way to accommodate us.. simply amazing.

The hotel itself is nestled up on a hilltop overlooking the bay of Samara on one side, and Bonevista beach on the other. You’re welcomed by a beautiful sea breeze in the morning while you enjoy your morning cup of coffee on the patio.

It’s in the jungle, so baby coati’s and a howler monkey family make this area home.. you’re immersed in a boutique tropical paradise

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Chad Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

We stayed at Lodge Las Ranas for a week as part of a wedding party. The hotel is located a little outside of Samara but is on a hill that gives it an amazing view of the jungle and the ocean. You can see plenty of life from the balcony. We saw howler monkeys, iguanas and coatis (very cute).

The staff is very friendly and super helpful, especially the owner Shelly. We went out of her way to help everyone in the wedding party to make it the best day for the bride and groom.

We would definitely stay here again when we come back to Samara.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 5 have the best view
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AaronAndMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews