We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (555)
Filter reviews
555 results
Traveller rating
439
99
5
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
439
99
5
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalm treesboogie boardssmall poolcinnamon rollscevichefruit truckcosta ricalounge chairsthe ownerfresh fishdeluxe roomhonor systemcorner storeocean wavesfish marketother guestsin town
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 555 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2018

Paradisical. Make your home on the Most Beautiful Beach in the Known Universe. Phyllis and Bill are the friendliest hosts. So cool, you have to meet them. You have a comfortable pad with a shower and a kitchen, utensils, etc., a pool in the courtyard to make friends with the other guests, hammocks in Phyllis's sublime palm tree grove and garden, and then La Playa, warm and refreshing and inviting, mysteriously divine, just steps from your room. A leisurely walk along the sand to town with fun bars and restaurants, vendors, bakery, etc. The staff are attentive and unobtrusive. (They really seem to enjoy what they do. Who the hell wouldn't?) Friendly fruit sellers and fishermen dropping by at indeterminate intervals with fresh, delicious food, cheap. The resident monkey. The iguanas, birds, a toad from some exotic fairy land. Stars. Moonlight. Milky Way. Total sensory experience: the colors, beauty, sounds, smells, warmth (for a guy from Buffalo) envelop you in a tropical fantasia. And your neighbors in Costa Rica are beautiful and kind and soooooooo very mellow. Here you will learn the true meaning of "pura vida." Honestly, there is no reason to stay anywhere else, ever.

Being there changed me forever, for the better. So stay away. I want it all to myself. Go to Disneyland instead, ok? Thanks.

Room Tip: Wander the reefs at low tide (if you'e unafraid of a Pre-Columbian, Pre-Cambrian, pure Costa Rican immersion).
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

We just returned from our second visit to Fenix Hotel in Samara. We had stayed there for 18 days in January 2017 and enjoyed it so very much that we just completed 22 days at that same hotel. The location and the amenities at the Fenix allow us to be as "tourist" or "local" as we want -- which is exactly our plan. The hotel is situated close enough to Samara to allow easy walking to enjoy all of the restaurants and shops in the town proper. The kitchen facilities in the room and the fish market and grocery just a block away allow us to be shop and cook as we like. The staff is very friendly and attentive to all of our needs. The staff and owner work diligently to maintain the facilities. The rooms and grounds are always very clean. Phyllis, the owner, is a great hostess and is always willing to offer suggestions of things to do -- if asked. She is a wealth of local information. The greatest draw, for us, of the Fenix is being able to step out of our room onto the beach -- we are literally just steps away from the water. The grounds are very well maintained and lounging on the beach chaises and enjoying the water are wonderful ways to spend the days. Being lulled to sleep by the sound of the surf is truly amazing. We are making plans to return to the Fenix again next year. Pura Vida!!

Room Tip: 6 room hotel, each with its own sleeping configuration
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vrkarosel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

We stayed at the Fenix a few weeks ago for the 19th time! If you want to be right ON an absolutely gorgeous beach to relax, watch incredible sunsets, boogie board or enjoy a hammock in the shade of the palm trees, this is the place for you! Thanks, again Phyllis and Bill for a wonderful stay!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Putney2821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

We stayed three nights at the Fenix a year go and had such a wonderful experience, we went back again a couple weeks ago. This time we stayed six nights and after another fine stay, we're thinking even more nights than that would be appropriate. It's perfect for us. Small (six apartment style units), beach (safe swimming but enough surf to boogie board), shade (beautiful palms and landscaping), pool (refreshing), kitchen (preparing our own food), Samara village nearby (a 15 minute walk on the beach), very clean (rooms, grounds and beach), and a very friendly and helpful host (Phyllis). Can you tell that we like the place?

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BobfromOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

We just left the Fenix and a good number of new friends. I am writing this from a 5 star resort in Playa Hermosa and wishing I was back in Samara at the Fenix. Is that strange. Not at all. Right on the beach, plenty of shade, a pool, comfortable rooms with kitchen. Great people. Not stuffy like where I'm at now. Walk to town via the beach. Just chill. Phyllis(owner) is the best. 2 hour drive back.....hmmm

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews