We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (557)
Filter reviews
557 results
Traveller rating
441
99
5
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
441
99
5
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palm trees boogie boards small pool cinnamon rolls ceviche fruit truck costa rica lounge chairs the owner fresh fish deluxe room corner store ocean waves fish market other guests in town separate bedroom
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 557 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2017

My family spent 5 lovely days at Fenix Hotel. I loved the location: right on a beautiful beach that is wonderful for swimming. The waves are exciting but not too big. We spent hours in the ocean with our children. Our children even learned to surf at Samara. We did not swim much in the hotel pool as it is very small. But the families with small children were clearly delighted to have access to the pool.

Phyllis, the owner, had previously communicated with me to describe the room. We stayed in the AC room. It was exactly like she had described it: small at night when we pulled the trundle. Otherwise, the room was just fine. We cooked almost all our meals in our room, ate on the table outside the room by the pool and had good conversations with our neighbours.

The hotel is located in a calm neighbourhood with a small grocery store and a fantastic fishmonger. Every other day a truck loaded with fresh fruit and vegetables came to the hotel and we never had to go to the centre of town to shop. Once a local woman came to offer us the best ceviche i've ever bought in Costa Rica. I wish she had shown up at the hotel every day!

I thoroughly enjoyed the comfortable long chairs and hammocks in the partly sheltered beach front of Hotel Fenix--a wonderful place to read a book or take a nap when it's too hot to be in the sun.

One late afternoon, we experienced a medical emergency at the beach and found out that the doctor on call was unavailable. Luckily for us, Phyllis phoned a doctor in town and saved us a long trip to Nicoya at night. We are very grateful for all her help.

Hotel Fenix is a great hotel for families.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dalaco2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Our hassle-free stay at this beachside villa was exactly what we needed this March. Phyllis arranged everything for us - taxis to and from airport; a wonderful trek; and a 4-hour cruise to see dolphins and tortugas in the Pacific. The waves were the highlight - body surfing and warm waves with no strong current. The beach walk to Samara was our evening outing to visit the many VERY good restaurants on the beach or in the small town. It was fun to meet travellers from around the world in this very chill villa with only six units. Hammocks or beds on the beach were plentiful and well designed. We hope to be back in the near future. Cheers!

Room Tip: You don't need to rent the one a/c room as the fans are great and will keep you cool all night long!
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carla181734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

This 2 room appartment is very nice, functional, kitchen is all equipped, fan in the room.there is not really a bathroom but rather a toilet and a simple shower but it was enough for us travelling as a couple with a 4 year old little girl. The place is very relaxing with sounds of the oceans waves and humming birds around. It is not the most quiet and intimate place ever but it is really nice to have a chat with other travellers as well. Location is really on the beach which is beautiful, you hardly need a car here as you can walk to town along the beach during the day and at night as well.all facilities such as pool are very clean. very friendly owner and personnel. we recommend this place to couples or families with young children.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Casper v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

The Fetching Mrs. Rat and I headed north to Samara for our last two days in Costa Rica. We were told by a couple in Sierpe that the Fenix Hotel was the place to stay in Playa Samara. They were correctomundo! A nice little place, our room was clean, cool, and comfortable. All TFMR and I did was relax, walk the beach to Samara, ride horses, stargaze, watch the sunset (beautiful, but again you can't beat the sunset atop Sleeping Bear Dunes, something about that clean northern air), eat and did I say relax?
There is a fish market where the local cats bring their catch. TFMR wanted some lobster. We bought a few and threw them on the grill along with some fresh local produce from one of the vegetable trucks. Breakfast on the beach both days consisted of coffee, pastries and quiche. A 10-15 minute walk on the beach gets you to Samara for lunch and dinner. Walking back from town on the beach in the dark was fantastic. As elsewhere or should I say as everywhere, the howler monkeys are loud and freaky. If I never hear, see another monkey as long as I live, I will be happy. The waves do seem to lull you to sleep. The fan just enhances the natural breeze and you will sleep peacefully through the night.
The Roots (owners) rock! Props to Phyllis and Bill.
We decided to return to Costa Rica, we will stay here first as it is only a couple of hours away from Liberia and the airport.

Room Tip: A.C and microwave in the Deluxe suite. We stayed in a standard.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Johnnyrat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

My wife and I stayed 6 nights at the Fenix Hotel in Samara and absolutely loved it!
They are just steps from the beach, and a ten minute walk into town (along the beach.)
The rooms are spacious and clean, and the small pool is right out your door. The hotel is set up so everyone hangs out under the palms in the beach chairs, hammocks or under the covered patio later in the day where you can connect with all the other vacationers. There is no A/C, but the ceiling fans are MORE than sufficient to keep us very comfortable. We loved it, and will bring our kids with us next time!

Also there is what they call a Bodega with a microwave, washer/dryer, shelves of books, and a cooler with cerveza and many different kinds of soda set up on the honor system. Came in very handy for us! Oh, and the use of the boogie boards are FREE!:)

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ojeffo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews