We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alta Vista Condominium
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Playa Samara
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Samara Inn(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iguana Inn(Playa Hermosa)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Samara Beach(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Giada(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lodge Las Ranas(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho De La Playa(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirador de Samara(Playa Samara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
75
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfloor to ceiling windowsrooftop decklevel condofourth floorthe ownerpura vidahowler monkeysrent a bikesmall storeentire staycosta ricabeach townthe air conditioningpatrickamapolapasturezorro
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We stayed here for 9 nights and had a very comfortable and relaxing time after 3 weeks of hectic travel in Costa Rica. We stayed in Amapola, a 2 Bed, 2 Bath 1st floor unit. The pool was very nice but most importantly the staff was extremely helpful. The caretaker, Randal, is a gem...He is there for anything you might need. This location is at the northern end of the beach, and provides peace and quiet, yet is near enough to the town for shops and restaurants. I would recommend AltaVista to anyone considering a stay in Playa Samara.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigJ070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2011

The 4 of us (2 couples in our 60's) stayed for 6 nights in Begonia (the largest of the 3 apartments). The apartment is stunning and beautifully located steps from the beach, the bus stop and a small supermarket and soda. Walk along the beach (or the road) to the main Samara beach for other shops and restaurants (the best of which are accessed from the beach). You don't need a car. This is(much needed) air conditioned luxury with local colour and probably the best beach we have ever visited; just enough surf to keep you busy, just the right number of people to watch and a few horses and birds and monkey thrown in! The sea was the warmest I have ever swam in.
Only drawback is that the second bedroom and bathroom in the apartment are rather small, the former having twin beds that we pushed together and the later nowhere to put stuff. Ideal for a couple with kids.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

My husband and I stayed in the 'Begonia' for 5 nights in mid Dec. while visiting our son and his girlfriend in Samara. The condo is well situated,clean,spacious and very comfortable. There is a great open concept,affording lovely views from all of the living spaces. It's just far enough removed from the center of town to be very quiet and peaceful.
Cooking was actually a delight. Look one way and see lovely foliage- look the other and see pasture,palm trees and ocean. The kitchen is very user friendly; 3 cooks,no squabbles,just great meals. We all loved the poured concrete counters and deep sink.
The master bedroom-ahh..the sunrises..they defy description. And, the balcony - quite ample for 4 people to watch the world go by...horses,chickens,people, all with the ocean as a back drop. And,yes, there are howler monkeys. We counted 16 one afternoon.
While there is secure parking, a car is really not necessary. 'Downtown' is a very leisurely 10 minute stroll away. We did rent bikes for 3 days which made for easier trips to the grocery store,as well as the beach at the other end of Samara (which,for swiming is a little nicer than the one by the condo.)
If you are looking for an 'escape' Samara itself is a great destination-an hour and a half drive from Liberia (and not a bad drive). The people are friendly,the beaches are lovely,and the views are awesome. There are plenty of good restaurants-many right on the beach. Eating a good meal with our feet in the sand was a treat. It's also a good place for beginner surfers. My husband, who had never put his hands on a surf board before, 'caught' quite a few waves. (Thank you C and C surf school.)
All in all, a great town,a great rental and a great owner. Patrick is prompt, professional and personable.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sankofa0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We loved our stay in Samara and we felt that Alta Vista was the perfect place to stay. We loved waking up and watching the sun rise over the beach and ocean from our bed. It is a short walk down to the beach. We would get up in the morning walk down to the beach and play in the ocean, walk back and eat breakfast on the balcony. We watched howler monkeys in the trees behind the condo one morning. We would take another walk, play in the ocean some more. Take a nap. Walk down to the ocean, swim some more. Samara is the perfect place to relax and unwind.

The accommodations are great. We always felt safe and secure. Randall is there much of the time if you need help with something. Zorro, the chihuahua, would greet us as we came and went. The kitchen is well stocked with dishes, pots and pans. The bedroom is great. We rented some movies from the little video store down the road and watch them on the flat panel tv. The shower is great.

Beatriz is a great help if you want to plan activities. She arranged a short snorkeling trip for us that was a lot of fun. Even though the water was not the clearest because of some heavy rains the previous week, we still had fun. It is a short walk to the market, the video store, and a nice Soda if you want lunch. The walk into town is a little farther but not unpleasant. We walked into town a few times and didn't feel like it was too far at all.

Out of all the places that we stayed in Costa Rica, Alta Vista is at the top of the list and we would return to it in a heart beat. Just writing this review makes me want to plan another trip to CR in order to stay in Samara again at Alta Vista.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRJonesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We checked all of the options in Samara and Carillo and kept coming back to Alta Vista. I contacted Patrick, the owner, and he quickly replied with the availability and rate. We booked it! When we arrived, we had the pleasure of meeting Patrick and he made us feel at home. We were introduced to Randal the guard/caretaker and Beatriz who is Patrick's ambassador. I wish I could clone both of them and take them with me wherever I travel. They are the epitome of Tico friendliness, kindness and charm. We stayed in the Catalina condo, one bedroom, and it was perfect for us. The view was fantastic from the front balconies and the back balcony and roof top were great for the howler monkey visits. The condo was clean, modern and fully air conditioned. It was located away from town and offered a very relaxing atmosphere. The beach was only a couple of minutes walk and the town of Samara was about 15 minutes. I would recommend a vehicle and would get a 4WD if you go in the green season. The 4WD may come in handy if you choose to travel around the area off the main roads. Traveling other than the main roads is a wonderful Tico experience. The town of Samara is small but offers a number of good restaurants. I recommend Pizza and Pasta A Go Go, Il Vino, Lagarta and of course the sodas. The food was great and you can drink the water if you choose. If you want a relaxing vacation in a beautiful country, I highly recommend Alta Vista in Samara.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eyedent113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews