We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This condo is clean, modern, and convenient with a perfect beach view.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Samara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alta Vista Condominium
Woodbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“This condo is clean, modern, and convenient with a perfect beach view.”
Reviewed 2 April 2011

We stayed in the Begonia unit for 4 nights, and were very pleased with the accomodations. The home is clean, well appointed, and quiet. On 95 degree days, the air conditioning kept us cool, even with the large picture window walls that look out over the horse pasture and beach. The balcony and 3rd floor decks were an added bonus, and the inground pool was a welcome retreat at the end of the day. We felt very safe knowing that our cars were parked inside the main gate and that someone always appeared to be on staff when we needed something. This property is on the edge of town, so there is no traffic or crowd noise, but it is close enough to town to be convenient and only a short walk to the beach. Well done Alta Vista! We would gladly recommend this place to anyone vacationing in Playa Samara.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKB876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Parsippany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We stayed here for 9 nights and had a very comfortable and relaxing time after 3 weeks of hectic travel in Costa Rica. We stayed in Amapola, a 2 Bed, 2 Bath 1st floor unit. The pool was very nice but most importantly the staff was extremely helpful. The caretaker, Randal, is a gem...He is there for anything you might need. This location is at the northern end of the beach, and provides peace and quiet, yet is near enough to the town for shops and restaurants. I would recommend AltaVista to anyone considering a stay in Playa Samara.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigJ070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

The 4 of us (2 couples in our 60's) stayed for 6 nights in Begonia (the largest of the 3 apartments). The apartment is stunning and beautifully located steps from the beach, the bus stop and a small supermarket and soda. Walk along the beach (or the road) to the main Samara beach for other shops and restaurants (the best of which are accessed from the beach). You don't need a car. This is(much needed) air conditioned luxury with local colour and probably the best beach we have ever visited; just enough surf to keep you busy, just the right number of people to watch and a few horses and birds and monkey thrown in! The sea was the warmest I have ever swam in.
Only drawback is that the second bedroom and bathroom in the apartment are rather small, the former having twin beds that we pushed together and the later nowhere to put stuff. Ideal for a couple with kids.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieandDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia. USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2011

My husband and I stayed in the 'Begonia' for 5 nights in mid Dec. while visiting our son and his girlfriend in Samara. The condo is well situated,clean,spacious and very comfortable. There is a great open concept,affording lovely views from all of the living spaces. It's just far enough removed from the center of town to be very quiet and peaceful.
Cooking was actually a delight. Look one way and see lovely foliage- look the other and see pasture,palm trees and ocean. The kitchen is very user friendly; 3 cooks,no squabbles,just great meals. We all loved the poured concrete counters and deep sink.
The master bedroom-ahh..the sunrises..they defy description. And, the balcony - quite ample for 4 people to watch the world go by...horses,chickens,people, all with the ocean as a back drop. And,yes, there are howler monkeys. We counted 16 one afternoon.
While there is secure parking, a car is really not necessary. 'Downtown' is a very leisurely 10 minute stroll away. We did rent bikes for 3 days which made for easier trips to the grocery store,as well as the beach at the other end of Samara (which,for swiming is a little nicer than the one by the condo.)
If you are looking for an 'escape' Samara itself is a great destination-an hour and a half drive from Liberia (and not a bad drive). The people are friendly,the beaches are lovely,and the views are awesome. There are plenty of good restaurants-many right on the beach. Eating a good meal with our feet in the sand was a treat. It's also a good place for beginner surfers. My husband, who had never put his hands on a surf board before, 'caught' quite a few waves. (Thank you C and C surf school.)
All in all, a great town,a great rental and a great owner. Patrick is prompt, professional and personable.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sankofa0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2010

We loved our stay in Samara and we felt that Alta Vista was the perfect place to stay. We loved waking up and watching the sun rise over the beach and ocean from our bed. It is a short walk down to the beach. We would get up in the morning walk down to the beach and play in the ocean, walk back and eat breakfast on the balcony. We watched howler monkeys in the trees behind the condo one morning. We would take another walk, play in the ocean some more. Take a nap. Walk down to the ocean, swim some more. Samara is the perfect place to relax and unwind.

The accommodations are great. We always felt safe and secure. Randall is there much of the time if you need help with something. Zorro, the chihuahua, would greet us as we came and went. The kitchen is well stocked with dishes, pots and pans. The bedroom is great. We rented some movies from the little video store down the road and watch them on the flat panel tv. The shower is great.

Beatriz is a great help if you want to plan activities. She arranged a short snorkeling trip for us that was a lot of fun. Even though the water was not the clearest because of some heavy rains the previous week, we still had fun. It is a short walk to the market, the video store, and a nice Soda if you want lunch. The walk into town is a little farther but not unpleasant. We walked into town a few times and didn't feel like it was too far at all.

Out of all the places that we stayed in Costa Rica, Alta Vista is at the top of the list and we would return to it in a heart beat. Just writing this review makes me want to plan another trip to CR in order to stay in Samara again at Alta Vista.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRJonesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa Samara hotels
3.4 km away
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
The Hideaway Hotel Playa Samara
#1 of 16 in Playa Samara
833 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
Hotel Villas Playa Samara
#8 of 16 in Playa Samara
857 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge
#3 of 16 in Playa Samara
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Hotel Sol Samara
Hotel Sol Samara
#11 of 16 in Playa Samara
216 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
Hotel Belvedere - Playa Samara
#2 of 16 in Playa Samara
388 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Samara Inn
Hotel Samara Inn
#10 of 16 in Playa Samara
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta Vista Condominium? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Vista Condominium

Property: Alta Vista Condominium
Address: Meters (Yards) From the Beach in Playa Samara 150, Playa Samara 50205, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Samara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Playa Samara
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,485 - ₹ 6,452
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unobstructed ocean & beach views, steps from the sand and town, 1st world comfort with the jungle behind you and beach in front! Pool, A/C, wifi, hot & purified water, 1st world plumbing, full white line kitchens, modern design, secure on-site parking, full time caretaker, BBQ, Brand New! Unbeatable value + top notch service = we exceed your expectations. Our goal isn't one time business like the other guys, we want you to love us the first time and keep coming back! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing