We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveller rating
394
92
17
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
92
17
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis sonfamily run hotelel cocoswimming poolthe nicest beachgreat included breakfastcosta ricatwo blocksvery nice hotelmini suiteshort walk to the beachnice and clean roomsbus servicelovely poolclose to the hotelhermosa beachdefinitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 516 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2015

Hermosa beach was one of the favorites for the kids and us too, mangaby is just a few steps away from the main beach.
large rooms equipped with everything you should need, good restaurant and bar, nice pools too

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Freddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmangaby H, Gerente at Hotel ManGaby, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2016

thank you so much for your comment, we always take all comments in consideration in order to provide with a better service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Having just returned to Nicaragua from a stay at Hotel Mangaby in Playa Hermosa, all we can say is, "Please, don't change a thing." And while I have high hopes for this lovely hotel, I fear that Playa Hermosa's days of charm may be short-lived given its proximity to the international airport in Liberia, a mere 30 minutes away by car.
For now, however, this charming, family-run and affordable hotel is a gem: incredible customer service, walking distance to the laid-back, low-key and lovely beach, great amenities, lush landscaping and tropical serenity. English-speaking owner and patriarch Alberto Salas Cordero can generally be found manning the front desk, as he has for the past 13 years, along with son Alberto. The senior Alberto is a long-time resident and he and the family know Playa Hermosa inside-out. Whatever, you need, they are there to help. You couldn't ask for more accommodating and gracious hosts.
As you walk toward your room, your eyes will be drawn to the beautiful, if not huge, handicapped-accessible pool and waterfall, and the open-air restaurant that faces it. Cast your eyes around and you may spot, as we did, a huge iguana-like beast in a nearby tree. You'll hear bird song and perhaps spot hummingbirds in the tranquil, beautifully landscaped setting. Our party of four has some definite ideas about what we want in a hotel: peace and quiet, A/C, a pool and a place to cook. We don't like stairs or all-inclusive stays where you're cut off from what local culture remains. We got what we we sought in spades at Hotel Mangaby, along with warm and welcoming hospitality.
When we booked, I assumed we were in for some fairly tight quarters in an efficiency. What we got was a two-bedroom, two-bath apartment with a really well furnished kitchen, a dining area that would easily accommodate six and lovely veranda, made private by the landscaping. A/C units in both bedrooms, along with a fan in the main room, kept the entire space quite comfortable. Bathrooms were spacious and the cable and internet served us well. Both bedrooms featured a double and a twin bed. Original and no doubt indigenous art graced the walls (in fact, there's a touch of whimsy to the entire establishment that bespeaks inspired private ownership--never kitschy or over the top). Being chief cook of the group, I was quite happy to see a good-sized fridge and compact gas oven with four burners--and then there was the coffee-maker, blender, slow cooker and convection countertop oven. Impressive. Cookware was surprisingly good quality, as were the glassware, plates, glasses and the like. I really can't think of much of anything I lacked but I try to travel with a good knife and cutting board and they stood me in good stead. And if I had chosen to cook outside, there's a great-looking covered barbecue area, complete with Central America's answer to charcoal, "carbon."
So we loved our accommodations, the pool, the landscaping, the customer service and our location--walking distance to the beach. The beach itself is lovingly maintained by the local beach association, and spotlessly clean. It's grey sand and very gentle, perfect for families and swimmers. Clumps of trees dot the high-water mark, perfect for a bit of shade. Restaurants, from funky to chic, along with low-rise hotels and homes, are nestled beneath large trees, which also provide a shady path to stroll past shacks serving ceviche and masseuses plying their trade. It's an absolute stress-free zone and quite lovely, surrounded by the green ridges around the bay and prominent rock outcroppings within said bay.
Snorkeling was one of our priorities and we enjoyed it, although I must now issue my official disclaimer: This Is Not the Caribbean of Sugary Beaches and Crystal Clear Waters and Colorful Corals." That said, it ain't too shabby. I went to the beach, as advised, from the hotel and turned right and headed for the rocky outcropping. Water clarity was passable and there were fish to be seen among the rocky reefs. Better opportunities await offshore and are easily arranged and pretty affordable. Just walk to beach with your gear and you'll have offers--in English--for a boat trip in no time. We did a two-hour trip that included a very nice white sand beach with very gentle, very clear water--perfect for swimmers, sunbathers and beginning snorkelers. The sea life around these rocky reefs was more numerous than the beach at Playa Hermosa proper and the water was clearer and easier to manage. Our next stop was around a rocky reef near the rock outcropping named Bald Head in English that dominates the bay. Visibility was a good 50-60 feet in blue, blue water and we saw large schools of good-sized fish, a beautiful zebra eel and numerous tiny, irridescent tropical fish. The captain joined us in the water at this stop and it was impressive to watch him dive down 30-40 feet and spend an impressive amount of time down there probing for octopus beneath the rocks. He would have made a proper pearl diver in another life.
If you want to make more formal arrangements for snorkeling, diving or fishing--and it's not a bad idea, really--Alberto at Hotel Mangaby will surely accommodate you or die trying--graciously, of course. Or you could contact Lisa at North Pacific Tours in nearby Playa Coco--the reviews on TripAdvisor will show you why you should. Although we weren't able to get together for a trip this time with Lisa, she very graciously gave us some great tips in our e-mail exchanges. I'll share one with you--walk to the beach from the hotel, turn left and listen for reggae and before you know it you'll be at the funky and affordable establishment Aqua Sport. Service is excellent, cleanliness is spot on and the vibe is welcoming, laid back and local. Tables under trees beyond the restaurant proper are the perfect spot to watch one of the legendary sunsets with a cold beer. Since there was a light rain, we sat inside the open-air facility and feasted. Three of us had the "plato tipico" with grilled fish--lightly seasoned and cooked to flaky perfection--accompanied by rice, excellent black beans, a simple salad and fried plantains. The black beans and rice were a nice change from one of Nicaragua's national dishes, "gallo tinto," which combines red beans and rice and accompanies seemingly every meal. And I would be remiss in the extreme if I didn't mention my wife's burger bomb--ground beef stuffed with bacon, cooked to her request and topped with guacamole and a huge mound of caramelized onions, accompanied by great French fries. We all went with the good national beer Imperial, thoroughly enjoyed our meals and the ambiance and left wanting to hang a banner announcing "Mission Accomplished."
If, however, you want to cook, you'll have to shop. There's a barebones pulperia within easy walking distance of the hotel and a nice little supermarket just a bit farther, both on the main drag. We recommend driving or taking one of the beautiful, modern local buses to Playa Coco, where you'll find as nice a mega-mart as I've ever shopped in the US, although you won't hear much Spanish being spoken. You will, however, find everything you could possibly need to to cook whatever you fancy. It was amazing, actually, and our joke now is that when we're missing the US, we'll just go to Playa Coco and save the air fare. That said, a Hard Rock Cafe just opened there, so as far as we're concerned, it's curtains for Coco and we fear the same for Playa Hermosa--high-rise condos and fortified gated communities are sprouting like mushrooms in the hills as we speak. But if nightlife, gambling, lots of gringos and that sort of thing is what you seek, Playa Coco may well be your cup of tea. If, however, you're looking for peace and quiet and a little slice of welcoming tropical paradise with very comfortable accommodations, I don't think you can go wrong with Hotel Mangaby.

Room Tip: Ground floor efficiencies are private, quiet & convenient.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmangaby H, Gerente at Hotel ManGaby, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Hi
thank you for your comment
we actually have changed a few things
new flat screen tv
new bed covers
and other new amenities
thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile

this is for sure my favorite place in costa rica, the hotel is nice and quite, very friendly staff, great included breakfast.
the beach at playa hermosa is very clean and nice, we stay for a week and we love it
is we come back again we will make sure to visit hermosa beach

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmangaby H, Gerente at Hotel ManGaby, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Hi
Great to hear from you
We are glad to be the hotel you choose to stay in playa hermosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015

I am not much into writing comments, however on this visit to costa rica we wnet to hermosa beach in guanacaste and it was a very nice experience.
the staff at hotel mangaby was more than friendly the beach is nice and clean.
pool,restaurant, wifi everything was just perfect at the hotel

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lau18756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmangaby H, Propietario at Hotel ManGaby, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Hello
Hotel Mangaby thank you for your comment
and hope to have you back with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2015

we came to costa rica for 3 weeks to see the mst we can, we have visit monteverde, Arenal Volcano in La Fortuna and other areas.
but the best place was Hermosa beach, very nice clean and quite beach,
the hotel mangaby was the highlight of the trip, very friendly people , nice cozy hotel

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frederick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmangaby H, Gerente at Hotel ManGaby, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2016

Hello
Hotel Mangaby thank you for your comment
and hope to have you back with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews