We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent beachfront hotel at Playa Hermosa”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel El Velero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Velero
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Decent beachfront hotel at Playa Hermosa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed at the Hotel El Velero for 2 nights. Towards the end of our 10-day trip to Costa Rica, my husband and I decided to return to the coast for a our last few nights of vacation. We did not have any reservations. We picked Playa Hermosa just by looking at a map and randomly choosing. Now that we’ve seen Playa Panama (the beach just north of Playa Hermosa) and Playa Del Coco (the beach just south of Playa Hermosa), Playa Hermosa was the right choice. The beach is great for swimming and playing in the waves. We drove around town for a few minutes looking at the various hotels and rentals. We choose the Hotel El Velero because: they had availability, they were directly on the beach, they had a fairly secure parking lot, and they accepted credit cards. The cost per night (including taxes) based on double occupancy was $90. That price was higher than we would have liked, but we choose to stay there anyway. Most of our other accommodations in CR were in the $50 - $75 range. The style and decor was fresh and enjoyable. Our room was spacious and averagely clean. We were disappointed to find that we couldn’t open the windows. We had to use the air conditioner to cool the room. The bed was slightly lumpy, but we slept well in it both nights. I have to be honest, there was a dead cockroach in the corner of our room. I didn’t mind too much as we saw a few cockroaches in the cloud forest earlier that week. The bar and restaurant at the hotel was very convenient and we ate breakfast there both mornings and got drinks during the afternoons while we hung out on the beach. The view is beautiful. The staff at the bar/restaurant were pleasant and accommodating. We never used the pool since the ocean was right there. I would recommend this hotel. It’s a bit rough around the edges, but overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CC5krunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    136
    50
    17
    17
See reviews for
94
166
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

You could tell this place used to be a sight to see back in the day. The room decor is straight out of the 50s. Not in a cute vintage way either. Mirrors were dirty, phone was dirty, lampshades covered in thick layers of dust, windows were dirty, floor dirty, and sheets stained. There were bugs dead smashed on the walls, at least those were dead, there were hoards of flying ants streaming in the bathroom. So unbelievable it's was ALMOST comical. We informed crew of ants and they did come and spray. Now dead ants litter the floor, bathroom sink and yes, even our stained sheets. I've stayed in nicer hostels than this. Too bad this place is poorly kept, it's a great location by beach. Oh and our icing on cake? Our safe won't open. Our laptops and passports are stuck inside. Called front desk and they could not open it either. Thy offered to get someone out tomorrow to look at it. Seriously, don't stay here -> unless you are cool with dingy like camping conditions.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 007daphne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

I'm not sure how many employees must have written reviews of this place to give it such high marks, but here's the REAL scoop....

First of all, the beach is in a descent location, but the stray dogs and beach trash fires tend to take away from this otherwise descent location.

This hotel has seen better days....maybe back in the 80s this place must have been nice, but unfortunately the Hotel El Velero suffers from bad management, bad service and indifferent housekeeping.

The sheets had many visible and questionable stains, smashed bugs on the walls and a resident lizard for good measure.

I'm no hotel snob, but this place would better be described as a very nice hostel and should be marketed to drunk teens on vacation and the like.

If you stay, you may not be disappointed, but that depends on how many 2for1 drinks you consume during happy hour.

If this stay improves I will update this review. For now, I say stay away and consider El Bosque.

Be safe my fellow travelers!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Worldhopr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

My partner and I had dinner and lunch at the Hotel El Velero restaurant during our stay at another hotel, the Bosque Del Mar, in Playa Hermosa and immensely enjoyed it! The restaurant is a beach front and serves up fish, steak and shrimp from the bbq grill on Wednesday and Saturday nights. They also have the cheapest happy hour prices at less than $2 a drink from 4-7. Service was great and staff was very friendly! Highly recommend eating here!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingNovelty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We checked in around 2 pm and were told there was no reaervation under my name. I pulled out the printed confirmation and the front desk said they'd have to call the manager and they asked us to sit on a plantar and wait. We waited for about 30 minutes for the messily dressed manager an he said there had been a mistake and they were full. He drove us in his truck to a nearby hotel as a conciliation for their error. We ended up loving the other hotel, Villa del Sueno. The pool was much nicer than the one at El Velero and the grounds were much nicer.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynthia_TravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.2 km away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.2 km away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#5 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Condovac la Costa
Hotel Condovac la Costa
#4 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel & Villas Huetares
Hotel & Villas Huetares
#6 of 11 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.2 km away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Velero? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Velero

Property: Hotel El Velero
Address: #1 On the Beach, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,353 - ₹ 7,909
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel El Velero, a mediterranean-style, boutique beach hotel just paces from the Pacific blue waters of Costa Rica's pristine Playa Hermosa. Hear the waves crash and breathe the clean, salty air as you relax in our seaside tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel El Velero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Velero Hotel
El Velero Playa Hermosa
Hotel El Velero Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica - Guanacaste

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing