We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A great day on the water!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours

Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours is a fully licensed and insured fishing company ready to take you out for a full day or half day of fishing. Snorkeling and Surfing to Witches and Ollie's Point is also available. We offer a wide variety of fishing options in the Papagayo Gulf: inshore, offshore, coastal, bottom, casting, fly and spear fishing. If you are looking to save money or prefer not to fish alone, Lisa can arrange a split-charter with other fisherman/woman looking for the same. Captain Daniel has over 40 years of fishing experience and his mate Mauricio, fluent in English, has over 20 years. These guys love to fish and are fishing professionals. We now have a GoPro camera to film your fishing adventure in which Lisa can cut/edit your video to be posted on Youtube. Snorkeling can be included at the end of your fishing trip at no additional cost. This is a great tour for the entire family to explore the beautiful Pacific Ocean. Costa Rica sport fishing is known worldwide as one of the greatest sport fishing/surfing destination plus the weather is great almost all year round. For the intermediate and experienced surfer, trips to Witches Rock and Ollie's are offered with a guide. We look forward to hearing from you. Pura Vida!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great day on the water!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Monday, March 26. Mauricio met us on the beach on time, & with the boat ready to go go. The boat was in excellent shape & equipped with all necessary fishing gear, as well as safety gear. We spent a superb full day, casting & trolling the Gulf of Papagayo, catching snook, almaco, & a few skip-jacks which we released. Mauricio & Johnathan really know the gulf's fishing spots, and what type of tackle to use in each spot. Spectacular scenery complemented the fishing. If you are a fisherman, a "must go" trip.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bengt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthPacificTours, Owner at Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you Bengt for your review of your day fishing with us on the Papagayo Gulf. We look forward to taking you out again. I have uploaded a photo of you out on the boat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    15
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
“Great start to our Costa Rica vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Lisa:

I finally had a moment to send you a note regarding our fishing trip with your company this past December. I wanted to let you know that our entire family (11 total) enjoyed themselves for our full day fishing trip. I want to personally thank you for how easy you made it to arrange the reservation and the details to get us to the boats. It was extremely easy to set this trip up from thousands of miles away, despite the complications of such a large group. Even with the wind and choppy water that day all our boats had great success. We caught lots of fish including Ambers, Roosters, Red Snapper and range of others I don't recall the names. Our boats landed a 70 plus pound Red Snapper to a 40 pound Rooster. Everyone landed fish from experienced anglers to first time ever novices. Your captains worked diligently to put us on fish the entire day and made sure we were enjoying ourselves. I believe they even were able to get my 19 year nieces time to do some snorkeling. It was a very good day of fishing and was an excellent start to an outstanding week for us in Costa Rica. I would and have recommend your boats to anyone wanting to add a fishing experience while they are in Costa Rica. I also want to commend you on your customer service. You were very responsive and prompt in addressing our questions and needs. That was evident from the start of our emailing and you continued to deliver on everything to the end of our trip.

We hope to make the trip to Costa Rica again in the future and we will be certain to charter another fishing trip with North Pacific Tours.

Thank you for making our experience such an excellent one!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthPacificTours, Owner at Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Hi Ron,

We appreciate you taking the time and writing a review of your groups fishing experience witih us. It would be our pleasure to take everyone out again when your back in the area. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
“Best services I've ever experienced.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Recently had 3 charters with North Pacific Charters. Have been fishing for over 50 years and had some of the best services I've ever experienced. Captain Daniel and son Danny worked very hard to give us great fishing days. Landed a couple of dozen roosters and many other fish. Gave us a great lunch topped with fresh pineapple. Lisa did a great job with all the arrangements and will be back next year.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthPacificTours, Owner at Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
John!
Thank you so much for writing a review for the trips you had with us. It is an honor that you think so highly of our business since you set the bar very high - you are "the Legend." You should really try to come down during the rainy season when the tuna is running, the waters much clamer and the mountains are green and lush. We look forward to seeing you again. Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome Fishing Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We were picked up right on our beach and taken out to where they know the fish are. Within 45 minutes we had our first big fish on.
The crew was fully equipped "with live bait" and had lots of cold drinks and snacks for us if we wanted. The crew worked extremely hard changing lures as conditions changed and worked
both the deep water and shoreline.
We arrived back on our beach tired and happy that the tour we chose was so awesome. A day filled with excitement, laughter and fish caught. What a great first time experience ocean fishing !!!Can't wait to go back.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank justtravelling_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthPacificTours, Owner at Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Thank you for your review and the photo you posted!
We know it takes time to do this but we want you to know that we are grateful for your opinion of our services because it does matters to us. We reallly strive to ensure you had a memorable fishing experience on your vacation in Costa Rica. I will pass on the good praises to Captain Daniel and Jose. Pura Vida! Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindenhurst, New York
2 reviews
“Extremely satisfied, A REEL class fishing charter operation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Just returned from CR, chartered 3 trips with North Pacific tours, the three of of us have over 100 years of fishing experience, the Capt. Daniel Sr. with 40 years fishing the surrounding areas showed us the spots and we did the rest. Food, fresh fruit ,snacks and beverages were served on board as promised. To find fish, the crew traveled as far as required to satisfy our request to catch rooster fish, we will be returning to Costa Rica soon and will charter North Pacific Tours again , I highly recommend travelers to this area do the same, you won"t be disappointed, I promise.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank crnskii44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthPacificTours, Owner at Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Hi Skii,
We are so glad that everyone had such a great time fishing with our crew. The captain really enjoyed having all of you out on the water with him and he is very happy with the lures you left him. We look forward to having you guys all back fishing with us really soon and thank you for writing us an awesome review!
Until then....
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours also viewed

Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing