We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
170
78
50
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
78
50
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub canoe tour costa rica leatherback turtles laid back howler monkeys taco star bring your own shampoo beautiful beach private pool louis jonathan hammocks surfers estuary wildlife tamarindo
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2017

Hotel Las Tortugas is a great place if you are looking for a simple stay. Nice and cozy rooms, good enough after a day spent surfing at Playa Grande. Place is just by the beach, very calm, has a very nice restaurant with a nice view and good food, breakfast was particularly good.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

On a road trip through Costa Rica, we stumbled on this gem! The owner was extremely hospitable and offered us a room when we arrived very late one night. The room was slightly dated, but very clean and met all of our needs. The price point and value are incredible. The outdoor common space is lovely with a deep cool pool and hot tub, which are surrounded by wildlife. I was able to spot various birds, iguanas, monkeys and unique insects each day. We originally planned to stay for just 1 night, but ended up staying for 5 nights. We then left to go see crowded Tamarindo (big mistake!) and ended up returning to the tranquil beach of Playa Grande and staying at Las Tortugas with friends. We are planning on returning to Las Tortugas again due to the quaint and mellow vibe, as well as the supreme hospitality of the staff.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank herebyaccident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

Great location!
Had a wonderful stay. Nice rooms and pleasant friendly staff. Food at hotel was great. Beach was beautiful. Pool area was very nice!!
Would stay again! And recommend.
You can surf at the beach in front of hotel.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

The experience here was friendly, courteous and first class.
The food/dining was traditional and some of the best food we experienced on our trip. The staff was attentive and helpful when we arrived under stressfull circumstances.
The proximity to playa grande is a plus (its one of the most beautiful beaches on the pacfic side of costa rica) and taco star is right next door, a great place to get a beer and taco after surfing. Next time we are travelling in this area we will try to make this place home base.

Room Tip: Book it. You will not be disappointed.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Good home cooking friendly service
What a sunset !!!
The place was located on the end of the road. Security was in the parking lots to look over our vehicles. They spoke English . The rooms were cozy with clean sheets
I have nothing bad to say about this hotel
The only problems I had were done on my own
I got lost trying to get out of there by taking the wrong turn out of town.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Brigitte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews