We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cantarana(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
US$ 90
US$ 88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel RipJack Inn(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$ 102
US$ 71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Bula Bula(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
US$ 85
US$ 82
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Playa Grande Park Hotel and Villas(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$ 101
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flor y Bambu Hotel Glamping(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$ 85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Manglar(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
US$ 56
US$ 53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar's Monkey(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Indra Inn(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa Grande Surf Camp(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
US$ 56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Marejada Hotel(Playa Grande)(Great Value!)
US$ 73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
170
78
49
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
78
49
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanoe tourcosta ricahot tubleatherback turtleslaid backhowler monkeystaco starboogie boardingbring your own shampoorental carprivate poolbeautiful beachnight lifehappy hourshort drivegreat surfinglouis
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 322 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

Good home cooking friendly service
What a sunset !!!
The place was located on the end of the road. Security was in the parking lots to look over our vehicles. They spoke English . The rooms were cozy with clean sheets
I have nothing bad to say about this hotel
The only problems I had were done on my own
I got lost trying to get out of there by taking the wrong turn out of town.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Brigitte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch. They have a very nice restaurant with a balcony where you can see the beach and ocean. My Blt was very good and chips ok. I really liked that they brought the ketchup in a large covered bowl. Hate the little packages. I always try the apple pie when I can. Their pie was a very good effort. Lots of apples but crust just right but still rank it high for Costa Rica apple pie.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bandbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

We had a wonderful magical stay at the Hotel Las Tortugas in January of 2017. The owner, Louis, made sure we were comfortable and safe. He was also witty, fun, and we enjoyed gathering with he, his dogs, and friends each evening to watch the fantastic sunsets. The employees at the front desk were polite, helpful and spoke very good English.Thank you Diego, Camille, and Joanne! The wait staff were superb as well as the food-Delicous! Breakfast lunch and diner-my compliments to the cooks.Even the gate keeper,grounds keeper and girls who cleaned our room and did my laundry did a fantastic job. I would recommend this hotel for anyone with or without children as a safe and fun place to enjoy the pool and the beach and the surrounding areas. A Huge shout out to Jonathon who was one of the best guides ever (and I travel a lot as a photographer!). He took me on a 6;00 am canoe ride through the estuary until 8;30 am. He was prompt, cordial, knowledgeable and FUN! We then proceeded to head to Liberia for a locals lunch and a hike up around the volcano to the water fall. It as fantastic fun. He also has the best howler monkey call that I've ever heard. HA! So, we saw many howler monkeys with their their babies.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiocabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed for three nights and thoroughly it. The hotel is on the beach with a small restaurant, pool and comfortable rooms. It is not a fancy or super modern inn - there are no TVs and the wifi works only around the bar and pool, but walking out to the beach for sunrise or sunset was quite pleasant. Beds were comfortable, bring The beach is first rate and a big hit with surfers. Bring plenty of sunscreen, a beach towel and a water shoes if you want to hike over the lava rocks at low tide. Also bring your own shampoo/conditioner as hotel does not provide.

The inn has a decent breakfast and typical lunch menu, all served with a smile. Overall food quality was good. Also a good spot for lunch if you are on the beach.

I think you have to book direct as the hotel is not on Expedia or other booking engines at the time of this review.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank lmb32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Right on the Playa Grande beach, and run by local people. The rooms are ok, but a little dilapidated. A/C is effective.Pool is good. Food is average for CR. Cash only, no cards. It is quiet i.e. no continuous background music. Happy hour 5-6pm. Good early morning canoe trips to watch wildlife in the mangroves at reasonable price. Turtles becoming much rarer. Good surfuing. Very hot in February 34C.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank serendipityagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews