We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (323)
Filter reviews
323 results
Traveller rating
170
78
50
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
78
50
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubcanoe tourcosta ricaleatherback turtleslaid backhowler monkeystaco starbring your own shampoobeautiful beachprivate poollouisjonathanhammockssurfersestuarywildlifetamarindo
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 323 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This place is awesome! You can find a small history of it on youtube! The beach is really popular for surfing and is also a nesting area for Leatherback turtles. The beach is literally 20-30 feet away from the hotel. The rooms range in size and in price, but are not fancy and always affordable. Our room was 870. for the week and slept 6 comfortably This place is laid back, clean, and thats what I like about it. A very mellow vibe. When you pack for this place, don't bother with anything fancy. It's the only hotel on the beach! There are a couple of places to eat up the road, but otherwise you will probably need a rental car if you intend to explore. Johanna at the desk is very helpful and Sandra seems to be the Mama of the place. She has worked their for 20 years or more, All three of my kids cried when they said good-bye to her. She also makes the most delicious mango milkshakes.

P.S. WE DROPPED OFF A BACK PACK OF SCHOOL SUPPLIES AT THE PLAYA GRANDE PUBLIC SCHOOL. THEY NEED SUPPLIES. FEEL FREE TO DO THE SAME IF YOU ARE VISITING. THEY ARE VERY WELCOMING TO ALL VISITORS AND YOU CAN GIVE THEM A CHANCE TO PRACTICE THEIR ENGLISH!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandbackgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This is the 3rd year in a row we've stayed at Las Tortugas and are ready to book next year. The hotel just has a very cool vibe, service is great and you can't beat the location ! Playa Grande is very laid back and happy place. If you're into party cruises and wild nights, you should stay in Tamarindo.

Room Tip: We like rooms 5,6,7 on the bottom where you sit and look/listen to the ocean but they are a little less private. Rooms 5 and 7 are suites that have two or three rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mschaffer001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

The ambiance at Las Tortugas is amazing. It's cozy, ecofriendly, and just what we were looking for. The air conditioning was a welcome necessity and we spent many hours on our patio, playing cards, eating snacks, and just enjoying the weather. The beach is literally 20 feet away, and the magpies are really cute. The restaurant is pretty good for a decent price and the balcony is lovely. We went on the estuary tour with Jonathan, who wasn't particularly accurate on his wildlife ID skills but was great to have on the tour to point things out. He also set us up on a turtle tour, which was an adventure that led us down a horrible dirt road for 30 minutes, but ended with an amazing experience watching a turtle lay her eggs, and a new friend named Carlos. It was so... Central American. WE LOVED IT. The only issue we had was with the extremely old bedding. The sheets are washed to the point of them being paper thin and the pillows are so old they are lumpy. All the bedding is just in desperate need of replacing. It wouldn't cost that much, and would really make a huge difference. But would be stay here again? Most definitely!

Room Tip: The rooms with patios can't be beat.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hanae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed here on a specific detour to see Leatherback's laying. The main hotel has a great location and the restaurant balcony is a treat for bird watching. The food was excellent and the waiting staff very friendly and helpful. One night we did retire early as it was invaded by a very loud surfing crowd watching American Football.

The room in the lighthouse appartments was fine - nothing to write home about but quiet and comfortable five minutes walk away giving us a chance to see big iguanas, land crabs and much more on our commutes!

They booked our turtle tour for us in advance and we saw one! Fantastic but if you have the choice, plan to visit when high tide is before midnight...they come up in the two hours before and ours was at 2am!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HWinLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I stayed in the lighthouse apartments overlooking the forest a couple of blocks back from the main hotel. It was a perfect retreat, secluded and spacious, great for writing and creativity. I had use of all the hotel facilities. The restaurant meals were excellent and reasonably priced, and the service very friendly. In fact the hotel management and all the staff who i believe are locals made the stay extraordinarily welcoming and very easy for single travelers.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews