We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pura vida”

CAFE DEL PUEBLO RESTAURANTE Y PIZZERIA
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 18
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Open Monday To Saturday, From 5 To 10 Pm If you crave pizza, pasta, and other Italian inspired creations while in Playa Grande, look no further than Cafe del Pueblo. From signature sauces, homemade pasta, and fresh ingredient pizza, Cafe del Pueblo will certainly satisfy you Italian cuisine hankering while in Costa Rica. Pair your pasta with the local seafood selection and you mouth will insist you ask for more. The restaurant atmosphere is small, but inviting, offering diners tables under the shade of a natural, tropical landscape.
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed out time at Cafe del Pueblo. Very tasty food, great place!!! Friendly staff. Strongly recommended :)

Thank EmiliaG424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cafe D, Propriétaire at CAFE DEL PUEBLO RESTAURANTE Y PIZZERIA, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

thhanks for you recommendation we always try to make happy our customers . cordialy Max

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Great food, friendly and prompt service. Recommend lobster ravioli. They make their own pasta. Close to playa grande.

Thank jhughesnsfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cafe D, Propriétaire at CAFE DEL PUEBLO RESTAURANTE Y PIZZERIA, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

thank you very much for your commentary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

We only had the pizza but it had a great unique taste and the dough had sort of a European flavor. Going to be a go to place for us when we're here in Playa Grande.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cafe D, Propriétaire at CAFE DEL PUEBLO RESTAURANTE Y PIZZERIA, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thank you so much , we try to make happy our customer with fresh products ,happy to see that you liked our pizza .
thanks for this commentary . cordialy El Cafe del Pueblo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

This is our go-to spot for, what I think, is the absolute best pizza in the area! I have tried pretty much every pizza place from Tamarindo to Potrero and the pizza here is our favorite. Great flavor (you don't need to dump tons of salt, oil, etc for flavor), always cooked perfectly (gas oven helps it to actually be cooked rather than burnt bottom and raw top like many wood ovens) and great topping selection! Always excellent service and I really like the calm home-like atmosphere. I would LOVE to try the pasta someday.... but the pizza is so good I can't help but always order it! Great prices too!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank surfingshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cafe D, Propriétaire at CAFE DEL PUEBLO RESTAURANTE Y PIZZERIA, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

thank you so much for your comentary , that's always a pleasure to see you . and yes one day maybe you should try the homemade pastas can be a new love story !!!!!
thanks a lot
cordialy Max

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

Excellent little spot in Playa Grande! The pizza was delicious!
Muy rico lugar, comida, y servicio!

We met some friends here who go every Tuesday for pizza and swear it’s the best in town.

Nuestros amigos nos dijeron este lugar tiene el mejor pizza. Ellos comen por acá cada Martes.

This place has a gas oven, which was awesome because the power went out just as we arrived. They welcomed us in anyway and we drank beer by candlelight while the kids played with LEGO’s and games.

Este lugar lo tiene un horno de gas. Muy muy bien porque cuando llegamos, electricidad apago! Pero aún, los tuvieron birras frías y comida. Y juguetes para los niños.

I love a place where the owner is waiting tables!

Me encanta un lugar donde el dueño está trabajando y hablando con los huéspedes! Súper bien servicio!

Great place for kids, they do accept Visa.

Buen lugar por familias. Se aceptan Visa.

We had pizza but have heard the pasta and fish are also on point

Solo teníamos pizza pero los otros nos dijeron toda la comida están ricisimo!

Thank Tranquila_Chiquita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cafe D, Propriétaire at CAFE DEL PUEBLO RESTAURANTE Y PIZZERIA, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

thank you so much for your comentary , you will be always welcome .
See you soon ! cordialy Max

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CAFE DEL PUEBLO RESTAURANTE Y PIZZERIA also viewed

Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to CAFE DEL PUEBLO RESTAURANTE Y PIZZERIA? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing