We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“When can I go back?!?!?!”

Review of Casa Muy Grande

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BuffaloDo...
New York City, New York
1 review
“When can I go back?!?!?!”
Reviewed 25 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011

I just finished my first stay at Casa Muy Grande and I am already counting the days until I can go back! The house is incredible from the rotunda driveway with HUGE Palms, to a full on tiki bar with fun ball court and foosball table. The grounds keeper and his wife were pleasant, attentive and engaging despite our language barrier. From cooking amazing seafood dinners for our party, to shinning bright spotlights in the dark to guide us to the local bar, they were phenomenal! The house itself is incredible with full AC, pool, and plenty of space for everyone (we were a group of 10 guys). What's more is that the beach is picture perfect and never crowded. We surfed during the day and played beach soccer at dusk as the sunset! Pura Vita!

If you are looking for a vacation rental, Casa Muy Grande is the spot to be hands down.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EricAuerb...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“This is the Scarface Mansion!”
Reviewed 16 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011

When we pulled up to the entrance rotunda, the only thing I could think about was the movie Scarface. This place was amazing and the inside didn't disappoint either. Great pool area to relax in, great recreational facilitates, right on the amazing beach that is not too crowded, really a perfect spot. The staff was great, they prepared us a fresh seafood dinner that could rival big time restaurants back in the states. They were very friendly and helpful and even came out to play beach soccer with us. It's a little bit of a trek to Tamarindo but I think you would be hard pressed to find a better vacation rental in the area.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawaiianh...
SF
1 review
“Perfect + Upgrades”
Reviewed 15 June 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Just stayed 10 days at Casa Muy Grande with a large group of friends. This was my second time at the house, and although our first stay was amazing it was even better this time around. The house and property are in beautiful condition, and there were none of the maintenance problems that existed before (the first time there were some issues with the water and AC, but everything was running perfectly this time around). The groundskeepers, Jose and his wife Catalina, were amazing! They took great care of us, took care of anything we needed, and made us feel very welcome and secure. A lot of work has gone into the property since I was last here 3 years ago, and it shows! The house and property are in tip-top shape!

One of my favorite places on the planet! Pura vida!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeJoeNYC
New York City, New York
1 review
“Awesome Stay - Beautiful House, Idyllic Setting”
Reviewed 15 June 2011 for a stay in June 2011

I recently got back from a wonderful stay at Casa Muy Grande. The house is amazing, and the setting is magnificent. Everything was in tip-top shape, and the staff was extremely friendly; I highly recommend staying in and having Jose prepare dinner. The fish tacos were to die for! Also, be sure to take an estuary tour (located near Hotel Bula Bula) to see incredible wildlife, including monkeys, crocodiles, and countless bird species…bring your camera!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy13...
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful location needs upgrading”
Reviewed 14 February 2011 for a stay in February 2011
1
person found this review helpful

This house and surrouding area are beautiful. The beach is fantastic. However, the house needs much TLC. We arrived to find workmen working on the airconditioning. In order to do so they had to turn the water off in the house. This went on for 2 days. One person was dumped to the cement from the hammock, another fell from a chair that was old and in need of repair. There is no shade at the pool as the canopy is missing. The hot tub worked occassionally but often we needed to find the fuse and jump start it. We had no car and found that food was most difficult to find. The restaurants at Hotel Bula Bula and Cantares were excellent as were Jose and Maria. I contacted the owner regarding our concerns and received no answer.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing