We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
99
26
15
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
26
15
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool table rice beans costa rica small hotel courtyard area single bed howler monkeys breakfast was included short walk favorite places rented a car water pressure tacos nice pool water taxi loft beach
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

The owners/staff are incredible! Very understanding and accommodating. The rooms were nice and the grounds were lovely. Breakfast was ideal! We had some misunderstanding with location but the staff didn’t hesitate to help. This review is pretty much for them, thank you!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jordan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

I stood for 3 nights at room nr 8. I really enjoyed the peace and quiet of the hotel and its proximity to the beach (2min walking). I cant think of anything negative to say about this hotel, only that if you are looking for night life it might not be your place.

The restaurant serves excellent grilled food. Try the hamburger!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hendrik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018 via mobile

We had a comfortable two night stay here. It was an easy drive from Liberia where we rented a car and had enough parking at the hotel. The room had a queen and a single bed. Friendly staff. Bathroom was good and included shampoo and soap in the shower. If you wanted to watch tv their were several US channels in English with Spanish subtitles. Breakfast was included with two options 1) traditional Costa Rican with eggs, beans, rice and toast or 2) pancakes and fruit. Both were good to us. Their is a nice pool In the courtyard to cool off in or it is a short five minute walk to the beach. The hotel bar and restaurant are cozy and nice. We enjoyed the mixed grill one night with a nice environment. Incredibly friendly staff and would recommend anyone to visit or stay here while in Playa Grande or the area.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

We stayed in one of the villas on our first 3 nights in Costa Rica to recover from our overnight flight and it was a good choice. The villa is spacious, we had our own bedroom and our three teenagers slept in the loft. The location is great, just 50 meters from incredible and pristine Playa Grande which we all enjoyed immensely. The kids liked splashing around in the waves and I went for early morning runs on the hard sand watching surfers and flocks of pelicans, amazing!
Breakfast was included and was good but limited in choice. The owner Hannah and her staff are all very friendly and welcoming, and the kids fell instantly in love with her puppy Reina :-)
The only drawback was the security light shining straight into our bedroom so it was never dark which didn't help with our jetlag, we would wake up in the night not knowing whether it was day or night. Heavier curtains would be a good idea.
It is good to know that it is half an hour's drive into Tamarindo, further than I thought but not an issue for us. You can walk 2,5 km along the beach and have a water taxi take you across the estuary into Tamarindo but you are not allowed on the beach after 6pm as it is a protected area due to turtles nesting so this would not work for dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelanieP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

Quaint hotel with a friendly laid back staff, rooms are nice for the price and very clean. A very short walk or drive to the beach and a nice little bar for a cocktail. Will book again next time I visit.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank christophergannon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews