We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
149
42
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
42
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssushi nighthomemade pastacosta ricagreat foodeight nightstuna tartaresurf lessonssmall hotelrooms were very cleanwelcoming hoststropical birdsfirst floorshort walkwonderful hotelroom hotelpura vidagorgeous beach
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2017

This is a lovely little place to stay in Playa Grande. The drinks and food were excellent. The owners were very helpful in recommending places to go and see. The only slightly negative thing I would say is that the bar/restaurant next door was a little noisy at night. I have a small child so we do go to bed a little earlier than other nights. Rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. We did get two rooms because there were 4 of us. Would stay here again! It is really a lovely place!

Room Tip: Maybe rooms toward the front of the building would be a little more quiet if you go to bed early.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Once again, we had a wonderful stay at La Marejada. This time we had our kids with us as it was our 2nd time visiting. This time we made sure we stayed longer. Gail & Marco showed us great hospitality and generosity. Gail is always willing to answer questions, give advice and go out of her way to make you feel at home. She was awesome with our daughter, giving her great advice as she tried surfing for the 1st time. Our kids are still talking about Marco's famous chocolate cake. The food at the restaurant makes it very difficult to eat anywhere else. From breakfast in the morning or mid day lunch the morning staff makes sure you get everything you need. The afternoon crew, lead by the talented, funny and awesome chef Marisa (hope I spelled it right) and waiter/barkeep Adriania keep you coming back for more. Marco's fresh pasta is a Costa Rican tradition now for us. You won't be disappointed if you stay here. The location can't get any better. Although there are a few places to chose from in Playa Grande, this would be the only place we'd recommend.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank WillTim72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Very nice small hotel for surfers, clean every day claning of the rooms, wifi, small pool, hamacks in small garden, air conditioned rooms, with small bar/restaurant. With surf lessons on site. Perfect retreat from busy life.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Spiderbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We travel a lot. And when we can find a place called "home", that's huge props!

La Marejada staff including owner Gail/Marco, makes you feel like part of the family and part of their daily chill routine.

The room was spacious, clean and bright. Despite being conservative with water for obvious reasons it was nice to take a hot shower to clean of the sand. Beach is literally a 2 min walk.

Gail helped us out with surf boards and shared her meds when I had a sun caused flu.

We are foodies and love to eat. After trying out all the restaurants in the area, I stand firm by saying La Marejada is the best place to eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Not only is the staff super cool, attentive and friendly... they are amazing people from morning to night making your dining experience the best it can be.

Now the food... from Marco's homemade pasta and family tomato sauce recipe... to his famous homemade chocolate cake (that I ate everyday!) and sushi night plus all the other delicious dishes... I was over the moon with happiness!

And the cocktails from Margaritas to Caipirinhas were all awesome!

I have much love for this place and it also attracts some of the most amazing people I ever met.

Now, I was in Playa Grande a few years ago and stayed at Rip Jack (also a good experience) but if you like cosy and family run... La Marejada is for you!

Going back in a heartbeat!

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Celina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Great location, clean rooms, nice little pool, lovely restaurant with delicious food, few metres from the beach and other restaurants and surf shops.

Down sides...wifi, this was terrible, not ideal when you are there on Christmas Day and want to communicate with family. Can also when busy full crowded.

But overall a great base. The picture uploaded is of the pool which is well worth taking a dip in.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Deb2010orah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews