We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique feeling, great owners, feels like home!”
Review of La Marejada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Marejada Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Really, you feel like you are coming home to La Marejada. Gail is incredibly friendly, welcoming and helpful (if you need to book a turtle tour, for example)...not to mention being my hero for her devotion and skill as a surfer. She asked us about our stay, time, needs, etc, as she waxed her board in the courtyard. Really, I want to live here! The rooms are tidy, not fancy, but well appointed with AC, great showers, and a nice view of the pool area and hammocks, which guests use almost all day - a great place for a conversation, a read or a beer. We met the nicest people staying here. And, after a drive over to Tamarindo (an hour over there is enough), I can't imagine how you could stay anywhere but Playa Grande. Marejada is the place here too - you can't believe the quality of the food that comes out of the tiny kitchen (homemade pasta by Gail's man!). Lovely all around.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms but if you want absolute privacy, this is not the place for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SanGJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2017

This is a lovely little place to stay in Playa Grande. The drinks and food were excellent. The owners were very helpful in recommending places to go and see. The only slightly negative thing I would say is that the bar/restaurant next door was a little noisy at night. I have a small child so we do go to bed a little earlier than other nights. Rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. We did get two rooms because there were 4 of us. Would stay here again! It is really a lovely place!

Room Tip: Maybe rooms toward the front of the building would be a little more quiet if you go to bed early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Once again, we had a wonderful stay at La Marejada. This time we had our kids with us as it was our 2nd time visiting. This time we made sure we stayed longer. Gail & Marco showed us great hospitality and generosity. Gail is always willing to answer questions, give advice and go out of her way to make you feel at home. She was awesome with our daughter, giving her great advice as she tried surfing for the 1st time. Our kids are still talking about Marco's famous chocolate cake. The food at the restaurant makes it very difficult to eat anywhere else. From breakfast in the morning or mid day lunch the morning staff makes sure you get everything you need. The afternoon crew, lead by the talented, funny and awesome chef Marisa (hope I spelled it right) and waiter/barkeep Adriania keep you coming back for more. Marco's fresh pasta is a Costa Rican tradition now for us. You won't be disappointed if you stay here. The location can't get any better. Although there are a few places to chose from in Playa Grande, this would be the only place we'd recommend.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank WillTim72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Very nice small hotel for surfers, clean every day claning of the rooms, wifi, small pool, hamacks in small garden, air conditioned rooms, with small bar/restaurant. With surf lessons on site. Perfect retreat from busy life.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Spiderbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

We travel a lot. And when we can find a place called "home", that's huge props!

La Marejada staff including owner Gail/Marco, makes you feel like part of the family and part of their daily chill routine.

The room was spacious, clean and bright. Despite being conservative with water for obvious reasons it was nice to take a hot shower to clean of the sand. Beach is literally a 2 min walk.

Gail helped us out with surf boards and shared her meds when I had a sun caused flu.

We are foodies and love to eat. After trying out all the restaurants in the area, I stand firm by saying La Marejada is the best place to eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Not only is the staff super cool, attentive and friendly... they are amazing people from morning to night making your dining experience the best it can be.

Now the food... from Marco's homemade pasta and family tomato sauce recipe... to his famous homemade chocolate cake (that I ate everyday!) and sushi night plus all the other delicious dishes... I was over the moon with happiness!

And the cocktails from Margaritas to Caipirinhas were all awesome!

I have much love for this place and it also attracts some of the most amazing people I ever met.

Now, I was in Playa Grande a few years ago and stayed at Rip Jack (also a good experience) but if you like cosy and family run... La Marejada is for you!

Going back in a heartbeat!

Stayed: December 2016
Thank Celina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
0.0 km away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#2 of 6 in Playa Grande
380 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#1 of 6 in Playa Grande
278 reviews
0.3 km away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 6 in Playa Grande
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hotel Bula Bula
Hotel Bula Bula
#4 of 6 in Playa Grande
373 reviews
4.3 km away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
9.5 km away
Conchal Hotel
Conchal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Brasilito
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Marejada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marejada Hotel

Address: 200m Sur de Minae, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range: ₹ 4,354 - ₹ 7,343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Marejada Hotel, located in the quiet town Playa Grande is a hotel for surfers and beach goers alike. The hotel is located a quick walking distance to the white sand beach of Playa Grande. Our on site restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner focusing on fresh, homemade food made with the best local ingredients available. The property itself is shaded with mature palms, has an inviting pool to cool off in, as well as hammocks for relaxing outside in the tropical ambiance. The rooms are simple, clean, and stylish, with A/C, hot water, and comfortable beds and linens. The surrounding national park ensures an experience for nature lovers and gives a tropical sleepy charm to the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Marejada Playa Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing