We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
149
42
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
42
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sushi night homemade pasta costa rica great food eight nights tuna tartare surf lessons small hotel rooms were very clean welcoming hosts tropical birds first floor short walk wonderful hotel room hotel pura vida gorgeous beach
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2015

Stayed two nights in January. Gail was a great hostess and made us feel at home. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The vibe was very laid back and informal. It's about a two minute walk to the beach. The restaurant was fine. We were there for the Sunday night sushi menu. Amazing.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed fine
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BillCLakeAriel_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was awesome! The rooms are very clean and well decorated. There's a pool to cool off in, and lounges under a row of Palm trees. It's a 2 minute walk to a perfect surfing beach, and there's a great bar/ restaurant. They do fantastic food and there's a really friendly chilled out vibe. If you don't surf, there may not be much for you to do in Playa Grande but it certainly is the ideal beach-lovers location and we will definitely be coming back here!

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Jesswyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2015

Spent a couple of nights there on the 4 and 5 of January. Clean rooms, friendly helpful staff and owners. I would recommend to anyone. Did not have to formally check-in because we arrived before 2 but they gave us the keys and told us not to worry about the check-in, we could figure it out later. They even brought us dinner to the table outside our room one night.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2015

I can't say enough good things about La Marejada. I traveled there for (American) Thanksgiving week in November with my husband and two teenage girls. We were looking for a clean, safe, friendly hotel located as close as possible to Playa Grande's beautiful surfing beach and famous turtle nesting sites. We were not disappointed. La Marejada is a small hotel run by a family whose members take good care of you. Their bar/restaurant will keep you happy three meals a day, if you need it. The fish tacos, homemade pasta, and mojitos were all wonderful. The owner, Gail, steered us toward and arranged a long list of fun activities, including: nighttime viewing of turtle nesting with the park service, surfing lessons, estuary canoe trip, day trip into Tamarindo, yoga, massages, and an excursion to Hacienda Guachipelin (that's a separate review). La Marejada hosts yoga and surf retreats and I want to go back, maybe by myself this time.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2015 via mobile

Playa Grande in itself is one of the best place in Costa Rica. Our stay at this hotel highly contributed to the fantastic experience we had.
The owners are welcoming and very helpful. We immediately felt like home.
The rooms are top notch and tastefully decorated.
They have a nice and relaxing swimming pool area very well maintained.
Next to the hotel is a restaurant that offers the best bloody mary in Costa Rica and excellent food (I highly recommend the tuna tartar that is out of this world).
The hotel is a short walking distance from the beach and you can be easily picked up to do the turtle watching tour.

The hotel has only 8 rooms. If this hotel is fully booked, you should try Jack Inn next door that has a great staff.

Stayed: December 2014
1  Thank Captain_Krabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews