We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome vibe and clean rooms”
Review of La Marejada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Marejada Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2015

Spent a couple of nights there on the 4 and 5 of January. Clean rooms, friendly helpful staff and owners. I would recommend to anyone. Did not have to formally check-in because we arrived before 2 but they gave us the keys and told us not to worry about the check-in, we could figure it out later. They even brought us dinner to the table outside our room one night.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 58 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2015

I can't say enough good things about La Marejada. I traveled there for (American) Thanksgiving week in November with my husband and two teenage girls. We were looking for a clean, safe, friendly hotel located as close as possible to Playa Grande's beautiful surfing beach and famous turtle nesting sites. We were not disappointed. La Marejada is a small hotel run by a family whose members take good care of you. Their bar/restaurant will keep you happy three meals a day, if you need it. The fish tacos, homemade pasta, and mojitos were all wonderful. The owner, Gail, steered us toward and arranged a long list of fun activities, including: nighttime viewing of turtle nesting with the park service, surfing lessons, estuary canoe trip, day trip into Tamarindo, yoga, massages, and an excursion to Hacienda Guachipelin (that's a separate review). La Marejada hosts yoga and surf retreats and I want to go back, maybe by myself this time.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2015 via mobile

Playa Grande in itself is one of the best place in Costa Rica. Our stay at this hotel highly contributed to the fantastic experience we had.
The owners are welcoming and very helpful. We immediately felt like home.
The rooms are top notch and tastefully decorated.
They have a nice and relaxing swimming pool area very well maintained.
Next to the hotel is a restaurant that offers the best bloody mary in Costa Rica and excellent food (I highly recommend the tuna tartar that is out of this world).
The hotel is a short walking distance from the beach and you can be easily picked up to do the turtle watching tour.

The hotel has only 8 rooms. If this hotel is fully booked, you should try Jack Inn next door that has a great staff.

Stayed: December 2014
1  Thank Captain_Krabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2014

I've been going to Playa Grande now for over 11 years and never miss going to MarBar! The very best in Eggs Benedict AND Fish Tacos and cold beer! Great service and atmosphere....experience Playa Grande at it's best! I highly recommend this awesome place to all ages. There are also great rooms, a pool and hammocks to de-stress from our hectic lives. Very safe and serene....you'll feel right at home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BrendaSue0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here on a whim while travelling and what a pleasant surprise!
The service was outstanding - the rooms were simple, clean, open and cool and the atmosphere was amazing - so relaxed and friendly.
We had the fish tacos and sangria at any given opportunity and have been trying to emulate them ever since. (going on 2 years - we've almost nailed it)

The Pizza place next door is also great for grabbing a drink and some late night munchies.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yukonnaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
0.0 km away
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
#2 of 6 in Playa Grande
379 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#1 of 6 in Playa Grande
277 reviews
0.3 km away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 6 in Playa Grande
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hotel Bula Bula
Hotel Bula Bula
#4 of 6 in Playa Grande
373 reviews
4.3 km away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
15.0 km away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Marejada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marejada Hotel

Address: 200m Sur de Minae, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range: ₹ 4,317 - ₹ 7,391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Marejada Hotel, located in the quiet town Playa Grande is a hotel for surfers and beach goers alike. The hotel is located a quick walking distance to the white sand beach of Playa Grande. Our on site restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner focusing on fresh, homemade food made with the best local ingredients available. The property itself is shaded with mature palms, has an inviting pool to cool off in, as well as hammocks for relaxing outside in the tropical ambiance. The rooms are simple, clean, and stylish, with A/C, hot water, and comfortable beds and linens. The surrounding national park ensures an experience for nature lovers and gives a tropical sleepy charm to the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Marejada Playa Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing