We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
33
48
26
14
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
48
26
14
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monkey bar private beach costa rica pools rent beaches
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2018

The condo's at the Flamingo Marina Resort are privately owned. The condition of each condo depends on the owner. We've stayed in 2 different condo's and were very pleased, but obviously other condo's are not so good. The grounds are well maintained and the private beach is an attraction.
Flamingo Marina Resort rents their own rooms. I'm of the opinion they aren't motivated to make a good impression. There is a guard and security gate. The pool is clean and the decking area well maintained. The Monkey Bar was not open, again because I think of lack of motivation.
The resort is close to a few local restaurants. Flamingo Beach, the large public beach, is reasonably close also.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WaterlooWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

Stay away!! Dilapidated and abandoned. Falling apart and completely misrepresented in photos and description. We left immediately, the only positive thing I can say is they refunded us, probably because they know they are scamming people.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Navigator759923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

My husband and I rented condo #522 at Punta Plata (formerly Flamingo Marina Resort) from Special Places of Costa Rica for two months - Jan/Feb 2018. We knew from the photos that this condo was dated but it appeared to be in an excellent location, the view looked spectacular and it was very spacious. We chose this particular condo because it has a washer and dryer and many of the others did not. When we arrived, a sheet had a hole in it, the bed had a spring sticking out, the hideabed in the living room was completely broken and falling apart, screens on sliding glass doors were broken, one of the sliding doors wouldn’t open, lights were broken, light bulbs were burned out, shelves were missing from the fridge, and lots more... We were totally amazed that a rental property could have so many deficiencies. However, after listing everything that was “wrong” with the condo and presenting our list to Phem and then discussing with Kenny (one of the owners), much to our surprise, the majority of issues were addressed during our first week at the condo. Prior to our arrival, we learned that the Monkey Bar was closed (even though the website indicated it was open), but we had been told we would have access to three pools, including the Monkey Bar pool. We went to Monkey Bar pool a few days after we arrived, and learned that the pool was no longer accessible to us without a $25/month fee. Phem had emailed me in October 2017 indicating that the Monkey Bar pool would be accessible to us during our stay. After our arrival, we learned that the Monkey Bar had been closed for a year. I emailed Phem to ask about this, but didn’t ever receive a response. During the 4th week of our stay, the freezer quit working and our food spoiled, and a couple days later the fridge wasn’t keeping things cold. The fridge light burnt out the next day and was never replaced. Other deficiencies - knives were so dull they wouldn’t cut anything, can opener didn’t work, no corkscrew, terrible selection of cookware. Even though the location of the condo is excellent, we would not recommend renting #522 at Punta Plata.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

My wife and i just recently returned from Coast Rica after being booked at this Motel/Shack from Interval International. We have traveled extensively for over 20 Years and never found ourselfs in the situation we were faced with.
WE WERE Robbed of $1,000.00 in CASH with no vandalism to the entry door going into the room. Upon arrival We asked the manager for a key to the LOCK Box in the room . The managers Response was that the Lock Box is broken and you can try the box "But if The Key Breaks in the Box it is a Problem.
So we decided not to use the lock box. When we checked in and Entered the apartment we found Mold on the walls,No Hot Water, No TV Reception, few towels.
The following day we went to the beach hoping that the Coasta Rica surroundings would detract us from the Dump of this place. After spending a full day at the beach and taking cold showers before going to dinner we noticed our CASH of $1,000.00 taken out of our suitcase, but they left us with our passports. We immediately notified the manager whom took no responsibility for this. We were forced to call the police to make a police report. After this episode, we were fortunate to leave the next day with our Passports and our lifes in Tack. We stayed a entire Week at another Resort THE FLAMINGO BEACH RESORT AND SPA. BEAUTIFUL, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
If you want to Enjoy Coast Rica DO NOT STAY at THE FLAMINGO MARINA RESORT
They are CRIMINALS. Our time share INTERVAL INTERNATIONAL has also been put on Notice. We hope that the Trip Advisor Viewers will take this as a Serious Situation AND REFRAIN FROM GOING TO THIS LOCATION.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mgg500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

We recently stayed at the Flamingo Marina Resort, condo 610 for our holiday vacation. The condo is older but in good condition, plenty of towels and well stocked kichten supplies. Great view of the ocean from our balcony for a morning cup of coffee or an evening cigar. 24 hour security was a very nice surprise! The "famous" Monkey bar is closed, which was quite disapointing. So there is no restaurant or bar at the resort now. The general area is fairly quiet, so it is well suited for a family vacation. If you are looking for crazy night life and wild beaches during the day, this is probably not your location. I would recommend Tamarondo area for that kind of experience. We rented a car (a must) and most things are very close but the roads are challenging
The condo and the service we received from Renee and Marco at Sea Side Rentals was 5 star, the resort, itself more like 3.5 stars ( mostly because of the Monkey bar being closed). We will return!

Room Tip: Call Renee at Sea Side Rentals
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JTM_Minnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews