We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
nice boat & staff

went on a full day experience. The boat was great and so relaxing. The food was good. The... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
cnsp0ts2
,
Baltimore, Maryland
Such a Great Experience!

Mateo and crew took such good care of our group, I can’t speak highly enough of them. They made... read more

Reviewed 9 October 2018
Vanneyoung
,
Charlotte, North Carolina
Read all 194 reviews
  
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
167
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
167
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guacamole honeymoon beach octopus puffer fish sunset cruise fruit costa rica prepared a delicious lunch music selection great snorkeling beautiful sunset set sail played great music great lunch great hosts party boat sea creatures
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

went on a full day experience. The boat was great and so relaxing. The food was good. The drinks, ehhh not so much but I like my drinks strong

Thank cnsp0ts2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Mateo and crew took such good care of our group, I can’t speak highly enough of them. They made sure everyone was safe, comfortable, and having fun. We were lucky to encounter whales twice during our excursion because of the sharp eyes of the crew members. This made for a very memorable experience for our entire group. We will most definitely book a cruise with them during our next trip to the area.

Thank Vanneyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018 via mobile

A group of 8 booked a sunset catamaran. From the moment we boarded, our experience was wonderful. The crew was friendly, knowledgeable and very attentive. The music was great, we were served a hot, freshly made dinner. This excursion exceeded our expectations.

Thank BobbieFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

We looked around at a few sailing options for our trip and ultimately settled on Manta Ray as they seemed to have the best option (price/time/activities) for a private sail. The entire process from initial questions, reservations, to the actual day went smoothly. All our questions were answered in advance so we knew what to expect and Manta Ray was able to deliver.

We were a group of vegetarians and they accommodated our dietary needs. The food and fresh fruits they offered up were great, you would not know that it was all made on the boat.

We opted to do a bit of snorkling when we anchored down near a cove. Great option for us, all the gear is provided and the Captain took us out and helped us locate fish, octopus, and other sea creatures. Great time for everyone.

The boat isn't new, but is well maintained and has ample space for a large group. We also understand they are in the process of adding a new boat to the business help meet demand during busy season.

If you are looking for a fun time sailing along the coast, definitely consider Manta Ray.

Thank Devon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Such a wonderful experience for little kids. 6,4,& 3 year old had the best time. Matteo set up a shade for our little ones at the front of the boat so they didn't get sunburned. After we anchored, he put the 3 kids in a kayak & pushed them to shore so they could play while we (mom/dad) took turns snorkeling with his guide. His wonderful guide found a puffer fish for the kids to check out, caught it with his hands & brought it to the kids under water to show them before he gently released it. The lunch was the best on the entire island along with some fantastic adult beverages to boot. Don't miss this!

Thank kellysonsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Doing this sailing trip was the best decision that we made. Mateo showed us the coast and pointed out some landmarks. We stopped at a beautiful private beach were we snorkeled, paddle boarded, kayaked, and explored the beach. When we got back on the boat dinner was ready and it was amazing! Fresh food, chicken and fish tacos, chips and fresh pico. It was really amazing. The sunset ride back was perfect. You will not be disappointed by this.

Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018

The sunset cruise was simply amazing. Captain Mateo and his crew were so gracious and genuinely friendly. Our group (4 adults; 4 kids ages 5, 7, 13, 15) loved the kayaking, snorkeling, stand up paddle board and were fascinated to see a mom and baby humpback whale, sea turtles and flying fish. The meal they provided (vegetarian at our request) was exceptional and they were so accommodating to all of us, especially the kids. Ending with the sunset over the water just makes you incredibly happy to be alive and living on this beautiful planet. And also makes you want to quit your day job and work on the boat, but you can deal with that however you choose. We'll be back!

Thank preetisullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

My husband and I decided to do a private sailing charter while in Costa Rica. To be honest, our hotel made the reservation so we just got VERY lucky with Manta Ray! Matteo and Bismark were outstanding captain and crew and they quickly caught our spirit and wish for tranquility. They offered many options for our trip but we were really just wanting to relax and enjoy being on the water. We did do a little snorkeling because Matteo had the full face snorkel masks which we wanted to try - do it! Totally different experience and for us as scuba divers, it was a lot more fun than standard snorkeling! they prepared a delicious lunch on board and kept us hydrated and happy throughout the trip. I must also mention Matteo plays some GREAT music! He seems to target his audience very well and we appreciated the extra touch. If near Flamingo Beach DO NOT miss the chance to sail with Matteo and Manta Ray Charters!

1  Thank MelissaLoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

Mateo and his team are awesome! We had a great trip to snorkel and dive. They provided a great atmosphere and lunch. A good time was had by all. This was our second trip with Manta Ray and we look forward to a third trip with them next year.

Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantaRaySailing, Owner at Manta Ray Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Thank you Tony for sailing with us again. We look forward to seeing you onboard again for another great trip next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

Our family of six chartered the Manta Ray catamaran for a whole day of sailing, snorkeling and ending with a beautiful sunset. This day was the highlight of our entire trip to Costa Rica. From the moment that I started the live chat with Lucas, till the moment we stepped foot on the Manta Ray, the whole experience was top notch. We were over-joyed to experience dolphins that came to swim with the catamaran and to also see a sea turtle swim by. Matteo pointed out all types of different marine life and birds to us. We enjoyed snorkeling in calm water and we also stopped at a secluded beach where we were the only people there. Just like in the movies! The food that Matteo and Luca prepared for us was delicious! If you have the opportunity, do not miss this special excursion. You will not be disappointed. It is truly a beautiful experience.

Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantaRaySailing, Guest Relations Manager at Manta Ray Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

We are so happy that you had a great experience and the dolphins came to join the crew for an amazing day! It was our pleasure to help you explore Costa Rica and we hope we will sail with the group again in the future! Paradise awaits your next visit :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews