We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite Vacation Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Favorite Vacation Place”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This place is pretty awesome. We've been here twice. Honestly our first trip was MUCH more enjoyable. Sorry Westin but the resort is just not the same since you bought the resort. The grounds are not meticulous as they were previously.Service was good but not great. Dont really blame the help for that. All the locals are eager to please. Blame Westin for probably not having enough help. Ha! Seemed to be a shortage of bathroom linens. Actually locked towels in the safe so housekeeping would not swipe during the evening bed turndown. Other guests complained that they had no towels and the poor ladies from housekeeping were just trying to keep everyone happy. Kind of a standing joke amongst the guests the week we were there. Food was hit hit or miss. Last time,think it was in '06 the food was 5 star. This time Weston it was GOOD at best. No Mimosa bar at breakfast. Big disappointment. Couldn't even request one. . .or two. . .or three. Hey! It's vacation afterall. It was a great vacation but Playa Conchal is definately not what it used to be. Should we blame the economy worldwide for all the cut backs or blame Westin group? I blame Westin. Cost us not a dime less to go to the same resort for the second time. First time was 5+. This time didnt quite measure up. All in all was still great vacation. Its Costa Rica for heavens sake.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elbmcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,431
    1,002
    355
    92
    69
See reviews for
1,242
1,794
41
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,422)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This place is so wonderful!
First I recommend you upgrade to the Royal Beach Club, if you are traveling without children. It was definitely worth it! We had our own concierge, Nelson, who was attentive and helpful!
This was our honeymoon and on several nights we returned to our room to champagne and strawberries, or a bottle of wine!
The food is delicious and so fresh! It was difficult to get reservations in the restaurants so make your reservations for your entire stay on the first day. Also, book a Bali bed at the pool everyday on your first day. It is nice to be able to get out of the sun and take a nap in the shaded Bali beds!
Also, be sure to see Eric, Alex Rabbit, and their crew on the beach for excursions. We took two private tours and they were so great!
I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trixie040712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Definitely this is not a Starwood rate 7 property, nor for the food or the service. Over rated. After a long flight to Costa Rica and a couple of hours driving from the closest airport, at least you want to have a great dinner, but unfortunately if you didn´t reserve with enough time, there will be no place at any of the specialities restaurants. Yes, its an all inclusive, but the specialities restaurants get packed soon and the food portions are small. The staff of this former Spanish chain hotel, needs to get used to American standards, such as having more waiters at the pool area, avoid selling tour packages to their guest and improve food quality. And finally if you arrive with a big group, be patience, check-in can last an hour.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms closer to the pool and the sports bar (noisy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdl_traveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPCManagement, Manager at The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Mr. gdl_traveler1

Thank you very much for your review and for sharing your recent experience at our resort.

It is important to point out that the SPG Category 7 status of our property is related to its all-inclusive segmentation –the first such resort for Starwood Hotels & Resorts worldwide—and not to the “star” category itself; bear in mind that this level relates to the number of Starpoints to be redeemed for a room night and our room rates also include all food and all beverages. We are honored to share the Category 7 level with only 23 hotels out of 1,100 Starwood properties in the world, yet all the other hotels in this list are in the Luxury segmentation and we are very pleased to be an Upper-Upscale resort.

As an all-inclusive resort, it is customary to have a reservation process for our à la carte restaurants and due to demand and capacity, these generally need to be made earlier during your stay, preferably at check-in, as I have suggested in this same forum before.

Again, we thank your comments Mr. gdl_traveler1

Victor Gomez
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

This was the most pleasurable experience we have had with with all inclusive hotel. From the time we arrived in Costa rica we were treated with such royalty. Everyone was very helpful, and the whole atmosphere was one of complete comfort. Restaurants were excellent, drinks were delish......cannot wait to return.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed a couple of days with my dog.. Nice facility. Very spread out good for me and my dog.. Oh sorry shes a service dog.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Conchal
31.2 km away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
17.6 km away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
28.4 km away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 14 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
15.8 km away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,114 reviews
4.7 km away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal

Property: The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Address: Playa Conchal, Bahia Brasilito, Playa Conchal 232-5150, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Conchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Playa Conchal
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,409 - ₹ 45,738
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Playa Conchal is an All Inclusive eco-friendly retreat, located between the exotic forests and unspoiled beaches of the North Pacific Riviera of Costa Rica. Our secluded vacation spot is a perfect balance between unrivaled luxury and local culture, giving our guests an unforgettable vacation experience. Our All Inclusive experience includes all meals, drinks, use of our fitness center and kids club as well as entertainment options including non motorized water sports, daily activities and nightly events. The resort also offers an adult only all exclusive experience at the Royal Beach Club where guests have access to a private pool with concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal Hotel Playa Conchal
The Westin Resort And Spa, Playa Conchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing