We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Passing through” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Posada del Tope Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Posada del Tope Hotel
Ranked #11 of 16 Liberia B&B and Inns
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Passing through”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

The place is ok, the staff is friendly, but be sure to ask to see the rooms before you agree to stay. Rooms are not all equal. During the rainy season mosquitos will bother all night if your net has holes or doesn't fit the bed. The mosquitos seemed to like my girlfriend much more than me, though. Most likely you are not staying here long term anyway, and the place is ok to crash for a night. It also a bit of a (hot) walk to the bus stops and terminals, but there are plenty of good, cheap places to eat around the hotel around the central park.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    18
    14
    22
    12
See reviews for
2
39
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

After reading the other reviews I was wondering if I got the name of the hotel wrong.

We are really digging this place. Why?
The rooms are decorated with funky, eclectic, antiques turned into useful items such as lamps.
There are interesting pieces located throughout the hotel as well.
There is a nice little courtyard to enjoy.
The bathroom is fine. It has funky things in it as well.

The front desk guy is very helpful and friendly.

Granted, we haven't actually spent the night here yet and will only spend one night as we are catching a flight tomorrow but in regards to noise, it's Central America people.
It's loud! If you want it to be silent, stay at the Best Western or an upscale hotel.

I now just assume that I will hear iguanas, noisy birds, roosters, and reggaeton. Lots and lots of reggaeton.

The room is cheap and well located.

We like it, I would recommend it.
Again, remember where you are and how standards are most likely much different from your home country and just go with it if you are traveling on the cheap.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sloane k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
246 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I stayed at la Posada del Tope with a friend for 2 nights. If you just need a place to crash it's barely ok... It is located 2 blocks away from the main square. There are no windows in the rooms, which are very dusty and with lots of insects (ants of various sizes, roaches and other flying things). The bathrooms are not clean and the night staff had the TV on very loud, all night. The small fan was very noisy and half broken, not to mention the dodgy electric wiring. For the same price you are better off staying in Hotel Liberia just one block away. There is a fridge and a microwave for use, but no kitchen. Wifi is available. I don't rate as 'terrible' since it is relatively cheap, and the guy at the front desk is friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makapon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liberia hotels

albq, nm
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Coming in late and schlepping a bag, I took what I found. The very high pieces of tin that served as a roof were being scratched and thumped on by what turned out to be an iguana I was told. I moved to another room only to return from hiking to no hot water for a few hours. That wasn't too bad. The noisy double bang that Silke from across the street (same hotel) heard and thought were bomb blasts weren't too bad. Nor was the fact the lights went out for about four hours. Supposedly a tree fell on the wiring.

However, hearing a television that the desk clerk played all night and the depth of dust bunnies under my bed simply pushed it over the top. I won't give it a bottom rating because I was told the rooms across the street were better.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nat4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

Stayed here in November 2010.

Place is pretty well located, the room we stayed in was dark, windowless and dingy, but it was basically fine.

Bit mosquito net, comfy enough bed, TV in the room.

Bathroom was horrible, a pipe for a shower and we shared it with a big lizard!

Guy who runs it was nice and helpful.

Go to Rincon De La Vieja and check out the volcanita and the bubbling mud pots! Mental!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilTeaspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liberia hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#15 of 16 in Liberia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.6 km away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN El Sitio Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
11.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
0.7 km away
Hotel El Bramadero
Hotel El Bramadero
#4 of 16 in Liberia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada del Tope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Tope Hotel

Property: La Posada del Tope Hotel
Address: Calle Real, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Liberia
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,638 - ₹ 1,834
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Posada del Tope Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your La Posada del Tope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Tope Hotel Liberia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing