We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Volcan Turrialba Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$ 135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Spanish by the River - Turrialba(Turrialba)(Great Value!)
US$ 34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Finca Soley(Turrialba)(Great Value!)
US$ 51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostel Casa de Lis(Turrialba)(Great Value!)
US$ 62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$ 79
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 268
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
11
19
12
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
19
12
6
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2010

This hotel is quaint and beautiful. Breathtaking views of the volcano on a clear day. Rooms are well equipped, the wooden stove is a great little added benefit to complete the whole "finca" feeling (farm). Food is simple yet carefully prepared and served wtih the upmost attention to detail. The staff is nice and very knowledgeable. So basically I am saying this is a must visit experience if you are looking to see what CR is all about, check what our roots are like. Get to see an active volcano!! I mean come on how awesome is that. I highly recommend you try the lamb at the restaurant it is amazing. Visit the hotel, visit it soon!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RodolfoGurdian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Stayed for one night on way back to San Jose from Caribbean Coast. Wanted off the neaten path and boy did we get it. Arrived in the dark (bad idea) and they had no record of our reservation. That was the only bump - we were only guests that night. Fausto the factotum (cook, wrangler, server etc) took fine care of us - you do need to speak Spanish. Rooms are as described elsewhere - basic and clean. Great views when the clouds lift. Volcano still closed. Horseback ride is worth the bucks to get a feel for land.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
Thank TravelinRIers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Difficult to rate this hotel - it's more a lodge so don't expect hotel standards - but this is not a negative comment. How to describe a place that takes 45 minutes to reach up a winding track (4wd essential) through the clouds, past beautiful lush green pastures - it's really in the middle of nowhere but what a view - a rumbling smoking volcano in the garden!! Beautiful green meadows and grazing cows, sheep and horses (the grass is so green). This is not a luxurious destination - the rooms are basic and you need the stove, the bathroom is a bit cold in the morning. (Bring games for the kids) The food is simple but traditional and interesting (grown on the farm, tasty farm cheese as an appetiser) - have a hot chocolate after a hike - delicious. Be warned - you cannot drive down to town for an evening meal - best to have evening meals there. There is a small soda in the 'village' (Danza con Nubes) where they provide snacks (delicious tortilla con queso - enormous!). Very well looked after by the staff (there is a cook and a manager who seems to do everything). There was a terrible storm while we were there and I found it strange that the manager insisted on us having the plato del dio (and in fact the menus were the same as the previous night) until I realised that he'd sent everyone home and the cook had prepared sth for us in advance that he could warm up.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Origamikangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

I am from Austria and so the picture of a landscape with hills and mountains is not new for me, but in different to the mountains in Austria this mountain is still alive!
I can just recommend a trip to the Vulcan Turrialba, it is quite impressive. On such a tour you will be also fascinated from the different amazing nature and forest types you will see there (our longest hitching trip past by so fast because we just look all the time).
For sure I am still now impressed from the nature there, but I also have to recommend the kitchen of the Volcan Turrialba Lodge, all the time we where excited for the next meal because the food was always a surprise of taste with typical ingredients.

I just can recommend this hotel to everybody, yours Christoph (AUT)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christoph27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

If you understand what your getting into, this is a perfect place.... our first day in Costa Rica we drove our rental up to the lodge. Yes, 4wd required. It's easy to get turned around a little on the way, but the drive alone was spectacular.... up & into the clouds through gorgeous small towns, mountains, and forest.

It was more like staying in someone's house on a mountaintop farm... the rooms were rustic & simple, but clean & cute. No spanish may be a problem for some-- we were taken care of buy manager, horseback guide, chef, waiter, etc Fausto-- NO ENGLISH-- not a big deal for us...with a little spanish we managed. He handled everything & well. The green is staggering, you can get lost on walks around the property. Food was excellent.... we did a horse tour the second day in & out of little valleys & clouds.... 3 hours. It was beautiful.

If you want crowds, etc-- go to irazu or arenal-- for off the beaten path, go for this place, its all thats up here -- you'll only encounter a few other tourists & the small local community & the beautiful surroundings. BE ADVISED-- you can't got to the rim @ this time because of the gases, but it really didn't affect our feeling we'd been at the volcano closely at all!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nasondenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews