We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate comfort and breathtaking views.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Turrialba
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Volcan Turrialba Lodge
San Jose, Co
1 review
“Ultimate comfort and breathtaking views.”
Reviewed 28 October 2010

My family and I will never forget our stay at Volcán Turrialba Lodge. Just getting to the lodge was an adventure, driving up into the mountains and finally arriving at the quaint lodge, where we were received warmly by the staff. The antique fire wood stoves in the rooms are beautiful and quite necessary as the night got colder. There are a number of different tours available on horse or by foot, but we decided to do our own exploring around the property, which is extensive and lusciously green. Breakfast was amazing, all the ingredients were fresh and local, and the coffee is the best I've ever had. There is a great opportunity for bird watchers here, there is a large variety that inhabit the surrounding areas, including the majestic quetzal. We were lucky enough to sight one from a window in the restaurant. The first morning was foggy and rainy but our second day there was beautiful and we were able to see the Volcano's smoke plume in all its glory. I highly recommend this lodge for those seeking a close up and personal Costa Rican experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElenaMGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    19
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
12
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Escazu, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2010

This hotel is quaint and beautiful. Breathtaking views of the volcano on a clear day. Rooms are well equipped, the wooden stove is a great little added benefit to complete the whole "finca" feeling (farm). Food is simple yet carefully prepared and served wtih the upmost attention to detail. The staff is nice and very knowledgeable. So basically I am saying this is a must visit experience if you are looking to see what CR is all about, check what our roots are like. Get to see an active volcano!! I mean come on how awesome is that. I highly recommend you try the lamb at the restaurant it is amazing. Visit the hotel, visit it soon!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodolfoGurdian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Providence, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Stayed for one night on way back to San Jose from Caribbean Coast. Wanted off the neaten path and boy did we get it. Arrived in the dark (bad idea) and they had no record of our reservation. That was the only bump - we were only guests that night. Fausto the factotum (cook, wrangler, server etc) took fine care of us - you do need to speak Spanish. Rooms are as described elsewhere - basic and clean. Great views when the clouds lift. Volcano still closed. Horseback ride is worth the bucks to get a feel for land.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TravelinRIers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Difficult to rate this hotel - it's more a lodge so don't expect hotel standards - but this is not a negative comment. How to describe a place that takes 45 minutes to reach up a winding track (4wd essential) through the clouds, past beautiful lush green pastures - it's really in the middle of nowhere but what a view - a rumbling smoking volcano in the garden!! Beautiful green meadows and grazing cows, sheep and horses (the grass is so green). This is not a luxurious destination - the rooms are basic and you need the stove, the bathroom is a bit cold in the morning. (Bring games for the kids) The food is simple but traditional and interesting (grown on the farm, tasty farm cheese as an appetiser) - have a hot chocolate after a hike - delicious. Be warned - you cannot drive down to town for an evening meal - best to have evening meals there. There is a small soda in the 'village' (Danza con Nubes) where they provide snacks (delicious tortilla con queso - enormous!). Very well looked after by the staff (there is a cook and a manager who seems to do everything). There was a terrible storm while we were there and I found it strange that the manager insisted on us having the plato del dio (and in fact the menus were the same as the previous night) until I realised that he'd sent everyone home and the cook had prepared sth for us in advance that he could warm up.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Origamikangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2010

I am from Austria and so the picture of a landscape with hills and mountains is not new for me, but in different to the mountains in Austria this mountain is still alive!
I can just recommend a trip to the Vulcan Turrialba, it is quite impressive. On such a tour you will be also fascinated from the different amazing nature and forest types you will see there (our longest hitching trip past by so fast because we just look all the time).
For sure I am still now impressed from the nature there, but I also have to recommend the kitchen of the Volcan Turrialba Lodge, all the time we where excited for the next meal because the food was always a surprise of taste with typical ingredients.

I just can recommend this hotel to everybody, yours Christoph (AUT)

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christoph27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Turrialba hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
Hotel Guayabo Lodge
#2 of 12 in Turrialba
266 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Casa Turire
Hotel Casa Turire
#3 of 12 in Turrialba
287 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Villa Florencia
Hotel Villa Florencia
#4 of 12 in Turrialba
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Green Mountain and Lodge
Green Mountain and Lodge
#5 of 12 in Turrialba
24 reviews
0.0 km away
Turrialba Bed and Breakfast
0.0 km away
Hotel Interamericano
Hotel Interamericano
#8 of 12 in Turrialba
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcan Turrialba Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcan Turrialba Lodge

Property: Volcan Turrialba Lodge
Address: Near Volcan Turrialba, Turrialba 30501, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Cartago > Turrialba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Turrialba
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcan Turrialba Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing