We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,629)
Filter reviews
3,629 results
Traveller rating
3,297
271
45
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,297
271
45
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine bar outdoor shower our honeymoon casita deluxe sushi restaurant costa rica arenal volcano amor loco altamira restaurant granola bars main restaurant private deck golf cart wine pairing dinner swim up bar zip lining rose petals
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 3,629 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2018

We purchased two rooms for the duration of our stay. My hubby and I stayed in one room, my kids and mother stayed in another room. The money could have been put to better use at another property. Yes, the property is serene and you are immersed in nature through and through. The complimentary breakfast buffet offers a wonderful taste of local and traditional western cuisine. My issue is with the details.... Every time we went to the pool. NO POOL TOWELS! We would have to ask the pool bartender, if the bar was closed, we'd have to walk to the reception or call from our room. Also, the roof of the pool area roof is falling apart. Either it has sustained damage during the heavy rains of the rainy season or a tree fell on top. In addition, the hot tub area adjacent to the pool was not kept. It was a bit dirty with leaves and debris in the pool. Again, we came at high season and paying $499 per room, per night, we expected and deserved better.

Still, one of my all time favorite resorts is Hotel Mousai in Puerto Vallarta. The do luxury and elegance to perfection and have an all-inclusive package to be rivaled. We are visiting their brand new sister property that is opening up in November. We were thinking of visiting the beach side of Costa Rica next year, but if we do that, we will likely opt for a different option- perhaps renting out a house with someone coming in daily to cook. While the property was just OKAY, the excursions we did were AMAZING and we made memories. From the waterfalls to white water rafting to eco tours. Just a great time.

I also felt the hospitality was lacking. They could have done better. They should have been better.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ScorpioWande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jairo_quesada, Gerente at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear ScorpioWande,

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave such a thoughtful and honest review of our hotel. We would like to take the opportunity to sincerely apologize for the areas in which you feel we missed the mark. It is our goal that every single guest leaves the property with the desire to come back, after having had an unforgettable experience and we're terribly sorry this wasn't the case for you and your family. We will continue to make changes and improve the areas that you mentioned, hopefully we will have a chance to make it up to you in the near future. Best wishes from all the staff in Nayara.

Pura Vida!

Jairo Quesada
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

I hoped this resort would be the highlight of our vacation to CR. To start with the positive, the food and restaurant staff were very good. Breakfast was plentiful and dinner was good to great every night. The grounds are beautiful.
But, the room was dark with only florescent lighting options and other than the bed, which was super comfortable, only 2 straight back chairs. The most disappointing aspect was we had no view of the volcano.
Our terrace, #7 (I think) was close to the path with the constant buzz of the golf carts and people talking as the path crossed right in front of our terrace. We could see nothing while sitting in the lovely deck furniture other than the tall foliage completely surrounding the terrace. It felt more like a claustrophobic greenhouse than a beautiful jungle/volcano view.
We actually had a clear afternoon for viewing the volcano, but had to leave the resort to view and take pictures.
The privacy may be what some desire, but I wanted the gorgeous views I'd seen in other pictures.
The customer service was fine, but not on the level of Peace Lodge, or really any of the other accomodations we stayed in during our vacation.

Room Tip: Hopefully they will accommodate a request for a room with a view if desired
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovenice2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jairo_quesada, Gerente at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Lovenice2,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a good review of our hotel. We're really pleased to hear that there were aspects of your stay that you really enjoyed, like the food and the restaurant staff, we sincerely thank you for the compliments. At the same time, we would like to take the opportunity to also thank you for the feedback that you provided, it is certainly important to us to make sure we're listening to our guests in order to improve the experience we offer year after year. We would like to offer you an apology in the areas where we fell short and guarantee you that we will work very hard to improve upon them.

Pura Vida!

Jairo Quesada
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Our 7 night stay at Nayara Springs was the most amazing experience ever. The property was beautiful, a virtual paradise. Our villa was a dream; we felt like royalty. The gourmet food at the four restaurants was exceptional, and the wines and specialty drinks at the various bars, was excellent. But, the most amazing part of the entire week was the staff. From the minute we stepped on the property they were friendly and ready to meet our every need. They always called us by our names as if we were friends. They helped us plan each day's activities, and arranged for each trip with grace and efficiency. They were warm and caring people. I am so happy to recommend this exceptional property to you.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank suzanneculbertson57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jairo_quesada, Gerente at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Suzanne,

We couldn't thank you enough for such a lovely and kind review. We're so pleased to hear that you truly enjoyed your stay at Nayara, that you thought the property was beautiful, the villa a dream, the food exceptional and the drinks excellent. We believe that a hotel can easily be measured by the quality of service it offers and we feel so fortunate that you thought the staff were warm, caring, genuine and helpful. Thank you again for your wonderful remarks, we hope to see you again in the near future.

Pura Vida!

Jairo Quesada
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Outstanding in every way! Can’t wait to come back!! The room was beautiful and the service was fabulous. The food was wonderful in all restaurants. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The entire property is beautiful.

Room Tip: Room was wonderful!
Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 195melindam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jairo_quesada, Gerente at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Dear Melinda,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review. We're so glad that you thought the room was beautiful, the service fabulous, the food wonderful and the staff friendly and helpful. It was wonderful to host your vacation and we hope that you think of us when planning your next trip to the rainforest.

Pura Vida!

Jairo Quesada
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

We stayed at Nayara for 3 nights for our friend's wedding this past week. It was AMAZING! The room was clean and comfortable and made you feel right at home. The view was so nice, along with the back deck, comfortable hammock and jet tub.

The grounds are just as impressive. Tropical everywhere you look. Great view of the volcano, wonderful and CLEAN pools.

I also want to give a shout out to one of their staff members who went above and beyond for us, GEISON! He was so helpful with everything we needed. He even showed us where we can see some exotic animals, what the best food was, and tips on the town. He made us feel like we were right at home, we miss him already!

I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kiley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jairo_quesada, Gerente at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Dear Kiley,

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic recommendation! We're so pleased that you really enjoyed your experience at Nayara, that you thought the room was comfortable, the grounds tropical and impressive and the pools wonderful and clean. We especially appreciate your amazing comments about the staff, Geison will be very pleased to hear that he helped make your vacation even more remarkable and that you appreciated his help and expertise. Thank you again for your kind review, we hope to see you again in the near future.

Pura Vida!

Jairo Quesada
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews