We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,629)
Filter reviews
3,629 results
Traveller rating
3,297
271
45
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,297
271
45
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine bar outdoor shower our honeymoon casita deluxe sushi restaurant costa rica arenal volcano amor loco altamira restaurant granola bars main restaurant private deck golf cart wine pairing dinner swim up bar zip lining rose petals
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 3,629 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2017

I found this hotel by chance. The rooms are magical. They are perfectly maintained. For being a 5 star hotel, the price is very affordable. The rooms are huge and the on site restaurant in delicious. The location is very convenient to all the attractions. The landscaping in impeccable. You can’t go wrong staying here,

Room Tip: Casitas are excellent
Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SimbaTheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JairoQuesadaNayara, Manager at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear MoonTrek,

Thank you so much for describing Nayara as one of the most beautiful hotels in the world and saying that the rooms seem magical and very well maintained. We're glad that you thought the rooms were huge, the food delicious and overall very affordable. We appreciate your kind words about the location and the landscaping. It was a pleasure to host your vacation and we hope that you visit us again very soon.

Pura Vida,
Jairo Quesada
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

We stayed six nights at Nayara Resort, and at every step along the way our needs appeared to be at the forefront of our hosts' attention. The front desk staff was knowledgeable and happy to help with any request we had. (I left some medication at home and they arranged a cab into town and identified a pharmacy that could help me.) The same friendly, attentive service extended through all departments: restaurant, housekeeping, pool, tour guides, etc.

We stayed in one of the Rainforest Villas, which were a little slice of heaven. Our room faced the volcano, as—I believe—all of these rooms do. We loved that each room was a separate building. There was never any reminder at all that other people might be nearby—we felt secluded. And those dual outdoor showers were pretty awesome.

The resort is located within a reasonable distance of everything we wanted to do—and many things we didn't get around to. We went to the hanging bridges, on volcano hikes, to the thermal hot springs, to a nature reserve, into town for lunch and shopping, and—our longest trip, just under two hours away—to the Caño Negro wildlife refuge. And we still had time to hang around the resort's pool and hike on the resort's two nature trails.

The standout attraction, though, was the staff. To a person they were cheery, helpful and attentive. They made us feel comfortable for our first trip to Costa Rica.

If there were one suggestion I would make, I would ask for more vegan choices on the menus.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank allantrautman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JairoQuesadaNayara, Manager at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Mr Trautman,

It was a true joy to read your review. We're so glad that you found the service to be excellent. At Nayara, we believe that the attention we offer to our guests should be one of the highlights of their trip and we don't usually meet a request we can't fulfill (especially when it has to do with the health of our guests). Thank you so much for your many compliments about the rooms and for telling us you found our location convenient for all the activities you wanted to participate in. We found your feedback about the vegan options very helpful. Gradually, we've been turning our attention to this very important aspect of our culinary options and we want to offer the very best. Thank you for your visit and please come back soon!

Pura Vida,
Jairo Quesada
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

There were very few drawbacks of this place. We had a balcony with a volcano view. Food was great and everyone genuinely friendly. 4 out of 5 as we were a bit confused how billing worked for food. While we were told our card was only for incidental charges, we found out quickly that all food and drinks were immediately charged back to that card. For us traveling to this type of place for the first time, it was a bit confusing. Otherwise, a magical place.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JairoQuesadaNayara, Manager at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Dear Bill,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We consider it an honor when our guests choose our hotel to help them celebrate such an amazing occasion as their honeymoon. We're so glad that you thought the food was great and the staff genuinely friendly. It's always a pleasure to hear back from our guests and that's the reason we appreciate feedback so much. It's one of our favorite ways to improve service.We would also like to let you know as well as future guests that we don't place holds on debit or credit cards upon arrival and that we take payments for food and services in whatever way is more comfortable to each particular person. We are reviewing the way in which this is explained at check in to make sure is as clear as possible. Thank you again for your visit! To hope to help you celebrate many more wonderful events in the future.

Pura Vida,
Jairo Quesada
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

This place is truly special and rivals some of the best hotels in the states. From the moment you step into the open air lobby, you are greeted by genuine and friendly staff. The bellmen are extremely helpful and help you get around easily. Jose was especially friendly, knowlegable, and genuine.

The rooms are amazing. We stayed in a Casita which is a one-of-a-kind accommodation. The huge bathroom was luxurious. The outdoor shower was private and fantastic. The patio overlooking the rainforest and volcano was unrivaled. The bed and sheets were super comfortable. Maid service was impeccably timed so that they never crossed our path in the mornings or evenings for turndown service.

The meals were also amazing. Each of the restaurants had fantastic food and even more fantastic wait staff. Mis Amore's was our favorite.

Overall, we will be returning. This place is special and they treat you like royalty.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views, but you can't beat volcano views.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JairoQuesadaNayara, Manager at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Keith,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of our hotel. We're glad that you thought the rooms were amazing, huge and comfortable, that the restaurants were fantastic and the waiting staff was wonderful. At Nayara, we believe that the service we offer to our guests should be one of the main aspects of your experience in the country. We especially loved your comment about being treated like royalty, because to us, all of our guests are our most important priority. We look forward to your next visit!

Pura Vida,
Jairo Quesada
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

There are too many great things about this resort, beautiful landscaping, fabulous casitas, inside and outside showers, view of Arenal volcano from deck, jacuzzi on deck, great and varied restaurants, and wonderful service. This is a special place. Left some clothes in room and they shipped them home! 5 Star resort!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank craig b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JairoQuesadaNayara, Manager at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Craig,

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave such a great review of our hotel. Thank you for letting us know that you thought the landscape was beautiful and the casitas fabulous. We're so glad that you enjoyed the view from your deck and the restaurants and that you thought the service was wonderful. It was a pleasure to host your vacation and we hope that you think of us when planning your next trip to Costa Rica.

Pura Vida,
Jairo Quesada
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews