We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This place was absolutely amazing!! Here for our honeymoon and stayed in room 4. Had a great view of the volcano from our private deck. Such a beautiful property and the staff couldn't have been more friendly. They just kept asking what they could do to make our stay better. The included breakfast was so good as well. They just wanted you to have the best possible experience all the way up to the end. So sad to leave but we hope to make it back here someday soon.

Room Tip: Every room seemed great. Some have volcano views. Some more secluded. Depends on personal preference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,952
    242
    44
    13
    3
See reviews for
492
2,350
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (922)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

OMG! This has got to be one of the most beautiful and serene boutique resorts ever!! It has everything you need for a romantic vacation with that special one. There is a swim up bar, Sushi restaurant, Secluded jacuzzis and great Happy Hour specials!! It is located right in the middle of the jungle with the BEST view of the Arenal Volcano. The rooms are modern, with AC, Flat screen television and cozy with beautiful decor. They even have an outdoor shower if you so choose to be one with nature. There is even a phone in the lobby that you may call back to the US for free if you need to. You can pamper yourself with a massage at their spa while listening to the sounds of nature and perhaps catching a glimpse of some exotic animal. It is located minutes from different hot springs and only a 5 minute cab ride to town. My stay was splendid, cannot wait to visit again!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This was our real destination in Costa Rica. After spending a few days on the west coast we were ready to see a volcano and the jungle. While Nayara is expensive it is well worth the price. This resort is really geared towards adults. There are plenty of other hotels for children in the area.

Pool with swim up bar.
Couple of parrots
Wine bar
Great Spa
Hot tubs both on casita balcony and with views of the grounds
Fantastic staff
And my favorite private outdoor showers in each casita

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank labergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantilly, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed for a week and it was good, but not great. Maybe our expectations were a bit high from the other reviews? I know this is a long review, and just our opinion, but I hope it's helpful...

First, the website says all Nayara Suites have a view of the volcano. This isn't the case. Our first room was nothing but rain forrest. Don't get me wrong, the rain forrest is beautiful, but we booked the bigger suite because we wanted to see Arenal. Our bellhop (Esteban) was actually the one who arranged for us to move to another room the next night after he realized we were staying so long. Thanks Esteban! The second room had a slightly obscured view of the volcano, but it was better than before. The first room was a bit larger and cleaner (newer?). The second room had something growing (mold?) up the wall behind the toilet, the walls had the normal dings/dents and the wood floors needed some retouching. It was showing it's age a bit. The indoor shower is fantastic! The bed was a bit hard - we both woke up with sore backs each night. The outdoor shower is nice in theory, but both shower heads seem to run off the same water source which made it impossible for both of us to find the perfect water temperature. The jacuzzi on the balcony was fantastic. We used is 3 times and it was very private and peaceful.

Speaking of water....we lost water one morning for about 30 minutes one morning. Not necessarily a big deal except we were trying to head out for one of our excursions. I had to forgo washing my face (ew!) and brushed my teeth with a bottle of water. On another morning, we lost significant water pressure. As bad things seem to happen at the most inopportune times, I happened to be mid shower.

Sushi Amor is great. Definitely do happy hour from 4-6 where drinks are 2 for 1. The two waitresses there are the best on the resort. Try the Arroz Verde, coffee mousse and espresso. The manager, Jorge, hosted a reception there one night and after finding out I didn't eat seafood he had the chef prepare some chicken for me free of charge. Very nice gesture! The outdoor seating is great.

Altamira needs some work. The breakfast buffet was ok. It probably would have been better if we weren't staying for so long, but it only rotated between pancakes and french toast. We tried the omelette bar twice; each time it was ok. It always offered typical CR food, but it wasn't to my liking - it was nice to try as far as experiencing a new culture, but after a week I just really wanted something sweet. They had "Grill Night" which was our best dinner (steak and baked potato), the other meals were just ok. Both restaurants and the bar bill to your room, so by the end of the week we were feeling more like a room number than a guest. I'd rather get a bill at the end of a meal to decide to pay outright or then bill it to my room.

The website also says the pool is heated. Technically, this is true, but it isn't warm. There are 3 pipes which pump in warm water, but it's just not enough to increase the overall temperature. I thought we wouldn't need a heated pool for CR in July, but the weather wasn't as hot as we had expected. We usually love spending time at/in the pool, but when we went we had to get out because we were cold. It's more of a relaxing pool rather than a swimming pool so being so still just left us cold. The jacuzzi's are also minimally heated. Again, we had to get out because we were too cold. The swim up bar is nice in theory, but our bartender didn't speak great english and we didn't speak great spanish so our ordering was done more by pointing. There is a dry area to the bar, but it is very small and got crowded with just a few people.

We picked a couples treatment at the spa - exfoliation and 1 hour massage. The girls were SO nice, but the exfoliation was downright painful. It was too hard in the same spot for too long. I couldn't wait for it to be over. The massage was nice, but lacked "technique" that I've had here in the states. It was nice because someone was rubbing on us, but I was disappointed that I didn't leave feeling more relaxed. Maybe the staff isn't trained like they are in the states, but I wish we hadn't spent that $300.

Our excursions were handled by the concierge (Jonathan) and all went off without a hitch. The staff also impressed us with how fluent they were in english. Our transportation was also arranged through the hotel (I think it's contracted to a single company) and both of our drivers were fantastic (Norman and Arnando?). It is a solid 3 hour drive from/to the airport, but the drivers were personable and pointed out great picture opportunities along the way. We had our best cup of coffee the entire trip at a roadside shop that I never would have stopped at on our own!

We went zip lining with Sky Trek, canyoning with Pure Trek and hiked the Tenorio Volcano and Rio Celeste with Jacamar (our guide Alberto was fabulous!). Definitely would do the first two again, but the hike ate up the entire day. We knew this going in and the sites were pretty, but in hindsight we would have probably picked something else. If you do go to Rio Celeste, take $5 to rent a pair of wellies and buy a pair of knee high socks. The trail is deep mud at times and you will ruin any hiking/tennis shoes you bring. It was the best money we spent the entire trip. We also spent a day at Tabacon which we would absolutely do again. The entrance fee was $60 per person for one day (no meals), but when we got there we were told it was for a 2 day access. It is absolutely beautiful and we were surprised at how few people there were. Make sure you make your way up the top at the adult only gardens. Super peaceful. The food there was also great (especially the bread that wasn't mushy from humidity).

Overall, a nice trip, but not our best. I think anyone would have a nice time, but it lacked just a few key things to make it perfect. Not a place for kids, even well behaved, older, quiet ones. It's obviously meant to be a sanctuary for couples. Very romantic!

Room Tip: Not all Nayara Suites have a view of the volcano like the website states. Make sure to inquire with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge G, Manager at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear valued guest,



Thank you for choosing Nayara in your last visit to Costa Rica and for sharing your recent experience with us.
We take our guests’ feedback very seriously as this is the best way to improve our services.
I was disheartened to learn that we did not meet your expectations in the different areas you mentioned; please rest assured that we are taking action in all these areas and they will be addressed accordingly.
Nayara’s philosophy is to deliver impeccable experiences to all of our guests. As such, we thank you for allowing us the privilege of serving you and are working tirelessly to enhance the Nayara experience as per your comments.
Again thank you and we hope you give us the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerly,

Jorge Gutierrez
Resident Manager
Arenal Nayara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. We visited two other hotels during our trip to Costa Rica, and this was by far our favorite. The grounds were absolutely beautiful and our room was private and very romantic. We thoroughly enjoyed the outdoor shower and jacuzzi tub on our secluded balcony.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizjared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.2 km away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
792 reviews
1.8 km away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,381 reviews
2.2 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,858 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,849 reviews
0.5 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Property: Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,896 - ₹ 46,759
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel Spa & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located on the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing