We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate and Memorable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Intimate and Memorable”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I am very excited to leave a review for Nayara Hotel and Spa. This hotel was part one of our two part trip to Costa Rica. We spent four days at Nayara Hotel, Spa and Garden and another four days at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo. Pairing these two places in our trip was the best idea because we got to experience the local culture, volcano, and outdoor activities by staying near the Arenal Volcano, and we also got a chance to relax at the beach by staying at the Four Seasons. I highly recommend the Four Seasons Costa Rica, but that is another review. Here is why Nayara Hotel is awesome:

Service: I cannot emphasize enough how important is good service. I do not care how beautiful a room or resort is if the service is lacking. A vacation becomes an annoyance at that point. However, that is not the case with Nayara. From the time we entered the adorable lobby with the towering volcano behind the building, to the time we had to sadly leave the hotel, the staff was always there to assists us. Jorge the manager, Lindsay the concierge, Victor and everyone else at the hotel was so nice; I cannot remember the last time I got to know everyone’s name at a hotel. At the same time, they got to know us. The answered all our questions about activities we were interested in doing, and they also booked all the activities for us. There was never a problem and the tour company they used was very professional as well.

On our first night here, there was a coffee hour with the staff in the lobby. The guests can ask questions about almost anything and the staff was happy to answer. This is just one example of the intimate experiences we cherished during our stay.

Rooms: Beautiful. We had a great view of Arenal Volcano. We had the “smaller” room that Nayara offers, and we never felt like we needed the bigger room. It was definitely bigger than typical standard rooms at a hotel. Oh, and having a rain shower is always a delight.

Restaurant: This is a small boutique style hotel so there is only one real restaurant on site. We ate there every day except when we were out for our tours. Most items for dinner are less than $30 and less than $20 for lunch. Breakfast is included, which consisted of fresh fruits, Costa Rican style eggs, plantains, rice and beans, and an omelet station to name just some of the items. I especially enjoyed the assortment of different pastries that went well with the hot coffee we were served in our own french press. Another example of good service is that the staff offered us to pack a to-go bag for when we had to take our day long tours, and we gladly picked out sandwiches and pastries from the breakfast buffet that we took with us during our 5 mile hike to Rio Celeste.

There is a small area next to the pool with a bar that offers small plate and sushi. It has a great patio and like every places in the hotel, it has a great view. This bar also offers a half off happy hour from 4-6pm. I really appreciate that they didn’t charge us full price for my virgin drinks, because most places typically do.

Spa: The spa facility is small but that is not a surprise for a small hotel. its clean and beautiful regardless. I got the deep tissue massage. It was invigorating and relaxing.

Overall logistics when visiting Costa Rica: We flew into San Jose airport, booked a driver to take us to Nayara, booked another driver to take us from Nayara to the Four Seasons, we flew out from Liberia airport.

No matter the hotel, you will run into random insects, so pack bug repellant, especially if you’re leaving the resort for a tour our hike. It rains randomly, but we were lucky that this happened mainly late at night for us.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,973
    246
    44
    13
    3
See reviews for
503
2,361
37
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (929)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We just got back from a 8 day trip in Costa Rica that included Nayara Hotel and the Four Seasons.

We absolutely loved everything about the Nayara Hotel. The food, service, and staff were all anyone could ask for. We also arranged our transport from the and to the hotel through Nayara and it was very smooth and flawless. We also booked tours to the volcano, hot springs, and Rio Celeste through Nayara.

As others have written, the hotel is very peaceful. We also always looked forward to lunch and dinner. There is a fixed dinner menu and then a themed dinner - which was really nice.

The manager, Jorge, met us at the hotel and asked us many times if we needed anything and asked how our stay was going. Lindsay and Victor were also a treat to deal with.

Definitely stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haroon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey Bay, California
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Our family of 4 loved the Nayara. Originally, I had us booked in Deluxe Rooms, but with an extended Green Season Special we opted for 2 Suites and it was worth the extra money. I never took a shower indoors as the outdoor was beautiful and also a good place to rinse off muddy shoes from the days adventures. The most gorgeous rooms on our trip!
We had big plans to eat at several restaurants in La Fortuna during our 4 night stay, but the variety of restaurants and food quality at Nayara left us with no desire to get in the car and drive again in the evening.
Service was exceptional from every employee we encountered. From the moment we checked-in until the moment we checked out, we were treated so nicely. Little touches like cold bottled water and facial wipes at check-out gave it an A+ as a class operation.
The property is gorgeous and lots of areas to check out if you're a honeymooner or not traveling with your teens. Decks are spacious, elegant furniture and very private. We were in #34 and it had a spectacular view of Arenal. We could see the peak everyday we were there.
Breakfast is wonderful with tons of options, french press coffee, omelette station, Gallo Pinto, fresh fruit, etc. They also have sandwiches to go, homemade granola bars and a few things like that which you can throw in your bag if you are hiking all day or won't be near a restaurant. This was a great for when we hiked Rio Celeste.
I'd highly suggest renting a car for Costa Rica. The freedom to move about without relying on a driver or taxi was wonderful. We could explore at our own pace and Proyecto Asis was one of my favorite things we did in the Arenal area.
Now, I need to figure out how to get a wine bar like Nayara's in my house!!

Room Tip: Volcano view was wonderful, but if you can't get a room with a view, everything about Nayara wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CocoMaKai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed at 4 different hotels during our 8 days in Costa Rico and Nayara was my personal favorite. The privacy, comfort, atmosphere, food, service and the view of the volcano all combined to make it a very hard place to leave. While my husband and grandson slept, I found myself waking up early and slipping out on the veranda just to lie there listening to the birds and looking at that spectacular volcano. Mornings are the best time - everything is fresh, not too hot, and the clouds have not yet moved in. Afternoons seem like the most likely time for rain. However, we were lucky - lots of time for great hikes : the hanging bridges and up as high on the volcano until you hit the signs saying stop! Then back for the pool or the hot springs and/or some food and wine. Something for each one of us.

Thank you to the staff. It was a memorable two days - much too short.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mid214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn Sands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We spent the last 3 nights of our honeymoon here. A great place to end it (the honeymoon not the marriage). Has stunning views of the volcano from each casita. The whole vibe is very relaxed and peaceful. When we stayed the hotel was full but it really did not feel like it. Apparently they say its always full so you may want to book early! The food was first class - the ceviche especially. We ate in the main restaurant and the sushi bar and both were equally good. The separate wine bar is a cunning thing. They have a clever system where you can have tasters, half or full glasses from a pouring machine controlled by a card. Very easy to spend money but a lot of fun!

The pool is small but has a great vibe, perhaps helped by the hardworking bar staff and the amazing parrot and two exotic, colourful macaws who are very friendly but do bite sometimes, so be careful!

Most of the staff cannot do enough to help, particularly waiting staff who were a delight. Our only grumble was the lady who checked us in was coolly efficient but unfriendly. Then the guy that checked us out was really quite rude, he just took our payment without any word of thanks or asking how our stay was our wishing us a good onward journey. We were really surprised at this but on balance isn't enough to give Nayara a bad review. We'd certainly return.

Room Tip: Our room was a bit spartan we wish we had upgraded to their honeymoon suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randj06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at Nayara. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We were disheartened to hear about your check-out experience and are sorry for this. We have shared this with our team to make sure this does not happen again.

It was truly a pleasure to have you at our jungle gem, and we hope to have the opportunity again to serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gutierrez
Resident Manager
Arenal Nayara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.2 km away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
808 reviews
1.8 km away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,406 reviews
2.2 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,436 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
0.5 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens

Property: Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Address: 6 KM West la Fortuna Town, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Arenal Nayara Hotel & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#1 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price range (per night): ₹ 22,211 - ₹ 46,412
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Nayara Hotel Spa & Gardens is a five star luxury boutique hotel that is widely recognized for providing premium luxury amenities and ultra-personalized service at surprisingly affordable rates. Located on the outskirts of the amazing Arenal Volcano, Arenal Nayara is an oasis of tranquility, where guests can experience a profound and organic immersion with nature, while living in luxury at the same time. Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest, each one of our 50 spacious casitas (bungalows) provide an exclusive, ultra-luxurious retreat. Each expansive casita (ranging from 855 to 1905 square feet) includes a secluded garden with an outdoor shower and a beautiful terrace overlooking the volcano with a private, intimate Jacuzzi for two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Nayara Hotel And Gardens
Arenal Nayara Hotel Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing